View Options:

Show Everything
Hide Everything

January 25, 2021 at 7:00 PM - Regular Board Meeting

1. Call to Order
2. Roll Call
3. Pledge of Allegiance
4. Reorganization of the Board
Presenter:  Chair Andy Lindow
4.a. Reorganization of Board
Presenter:  Chair Andy Lindow
4.a.1) Election of Officers - Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Clerk, Treasurer
Attachments: (2)
4.a.2) Establish Official Time, Date, Place of Regular School Board Meetings
Description:  The fourth Monday of each month January-November and second Monday in December.
4.a.3) Designation of District Depositories
Description:  Citizens National Bank of Park Rapids, Northwoods Bank, MN Liquid Asset Fund
4.a.4) Selection of Official Newspaper
Description:  Northwoods Press
4.a.5) Establish Board Members' Compensation
Attachments: (1)
4.a.6) Selection of District's Legal Counsel
Description:  Rupp, Anderson, Squires & Waldspurger P.A.
4.a.7) Approve Electronic Fund Transfers
Description:  Authorize the finance bookkeeper and payroll/employee benefits coordinator to make electronic fund transfers as required according to Board policy
4.a.8) Committee Assignments
Attachments: (1)
4.a.8)a) Audit Teams
Description:  3 teams of two Board members

Audit Teams for 2021:
   Ed Becker / Karrin Lindow
   Andy Lindow / Justin Isaacson
   Gary Stennes / Maggie Stacey
4.a.8)b) AIPAC Committee
Presenter:  Dr. Parks
Description:  1 Member

AIPAC Committee Member (2020):
   Larry Smith
4.a.8)c) Building Committee 
Description:  2 Members, 1 Alternate

Building Committee (2020):
   Justin Isaacson
   Larry Smith
   Ed Becker (alternate)
4.a.8)d) CAIT Committee
Description:  1 Member

CAIT Committee (2020):
   Gary Stennes
4.a.8)e) CEU Committee 
Description:  1 Member

CEU Committee (2020):
   Andy Lindow
4.a.8)f) Community Education/ECFE Advisory Council 
Description:  1 Member

Community Education/ECFE Advisory Council (2020):
   Maggie Stacey
4.a.8)g) Finance/Negotiations Committee 
Description:  3 Members

Finance/Negotiations Committee (2020):
   Ed Becker
   Andy Lindow
   Larry Smith
4.a.8)h) Insurance Committee 
Description:  2 Members

Insurance Committee (2020):
   Larry Smith
   Gary Stennes
4.a.8)i) MSHSL Representative
Description:  1 Member

MSHSL Representative (2020):
   Andy Lindow
4.a.8)j) NCVCC Representative
Description:  1 Member

NCVCC Representative (2020):
   Justin Isaacson
4.a.8)k) PAWN Representative    
Description:  1 Member

PAWN Representative (2020):
   Maggie Stacey
4.a.8)l) Policy Committee
Description:  2 Members

Policy Committee (2020)
   Justin Isaacson
   Maggie Stacey
   Larry Smith (alternate)
4.a.8)m) Safety Committee
Presenter:  Superintendent Parks
Description:  1 Member

Safety Committee (2020):
   Justin Isaacson
4.a.8)n) Technology Committee
Description:  1 Member, 1 Alternate

Technology Committee (2020):
   Ed Becker
4.a.8)o) Wellness Committee
Description:  1 Member

Wellness Committee (2020)
   Maggie Stacey
5. Approval of Agenda
6. Recognition of Guests
7. Approval of Minutes
7.a. Regular School Board Meeting & Truth-in-Taxation Hearing - December 21,2020
Attachments: (1)
8. Financial Reports
8.a. Monthly Cash Balance Report
Presenter:  Superintendent Parks
8.a.1) Cash Balance
Attachments: (1)
8.a.2) Balance Sheet
Attachments: (1)
8.a.3) EFT
8.b. Revenue/Expenditure Report
Presenter:  Superintendent Parks
Attachments: (1)
8.c. Payment Register Report (bills) - Ed Becker and Karrin Lindow to audit bills at 6:15 p.m.
9. Consent Agenda
9.a. Donations
10. Action Items
10.a. Approve Resolution - Extend Deadline for Leaves Granted by the Families First Coronavirus Recovery Act
Description:  The requirement for covered employers to provide up to 80 hours of paid emergency sick leave and up to 12 weeks of partially paid expanded family and medical leave through the Families First Coronavirus response Act (FFCRA) ended on December 31, 2020. However, as part of the stimulus package, covered employers may now voluntarily choose to continue offering FFCRA leave through March 31, 2021.
What does this mean for school districts who opt to extend FFCRA leave through the first quarter of 2021?
  • The qualifying reasons for FFCRA leave do not change.
  • The caps on the amount of FFCRA leave do not change; employees do not receive a new allotment of FFCRA leave days as of January 1. Rather, whatever FFCRA leave days an employee had not used in 2020 would be available for the employee to use during the first quarter of 2021.
  • The documentation requirements for the FFCRA leave do not change.
  • The employer’s eligibility for the payroll tax credit does not change. As with the original FFCRA leave, any FFCRA leave provided January 1, 2021, to March 31, 2021, by school districts is not eligible for the payroll tax credit; however, any wages paid to employees due to FFCRA leave are not subject to FICA or Medicare taxes.
  • School districts should communicate to employees whether they will continue to provide FFCRA leave during the first quarter of 2021.
11. Discussion Items
12. Reports
12.a. Student Representative
12.b. Board Members
12.c. Principal Michaelson
12.d. Certified Staff Representative
12.e. Classified/Confidential Staff Representative
12.f. Other (Activities Director/Dean of Students, Counselor, Community Education, ECFE, Technology Coordinator, Transportation)
12.g. Superintendent Parks
13. Next Meeting (February 22, 2021- 7:00 p.m. )
14. Adjourn
<< Back to the Public Page for Nevis Public Schools - ISD 308