skip to main content

View Options:

Show Everything
Hide Everything

September 23, 2021 at 10:00 AM - Regular Board Meeting

I. Call to Order
II. Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag and Invocation
III. Approval of minutes of August 19, 2021 Board meeting and minutes of September 2, 2021 Special-Called Board Meeting
IV. Approval of Agenda
V. Recognition Ceremony
V.1. Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) State-Level Finalists

Dr. Trisha Gilbreath, Grade 10-12 Mathematics teacher
Northwest Rankin High School, Rankin County School District

Jaqueline Lewis-Grade 9 Mathematics teacher and Grade 11-12 Computer Science teacher
Enterprise High School, Enterprise School District

Treasure Lynch, Grade 10 Mathematics teacher
Gulfport High School, Gulfport School District

Kenneth Peagler, High School Science teacher
Brandon High School, Rankin County School District

Christina (Tina) Walters, Grade 10-12 Science Teacher
South Jones High School, Jones County School District

Ashley Elizabeth Webb, Grade 10-12 Science teacher
DeSoto Central High School, DeSoto County School District
VI. Report of State Superintendent of Education
VII. Report of Chair
VIII. Report of Student Representatives
IX. Discussion and/or Approval of Board Items (All action items require vote)
IX.1. Information:  Report on Career- and College-Readiness Course [Goals 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Nathan Oakley)
IX.2. Information:  Report on the State Literacy Plan [Goals 1, 2, 3, and 4 – MBE Stragetic Plan] (Nathan Oakley)
IX.3. Information:  Spring 2021 ACT results [Goals 1 and 2 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Paula Vanderford)
IX.4. Information:  Spring 2021 Mississippi Academic Assessment Program (MAAP) results; Mississippi Statewide Assessment System participation rates for districts and schools for School Year 2020 ? 2021 [Goals 1 and 2 –  MBE Strategic Plan] (Paula Vanderford)

IX.5. Action:  Approval of MDE Contracts [Goals 4 and 5 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Felicia Gavin)
IX.5.A. Action:  Contract with Hupp Information Technologies, Inc. to provide an upgrade to the turnkey system previously purchased, consisting of software, installation and conversion services, technical support, and training for the implementation of the web-based commercial off-the-shelf teacher licensure system and modify contract to provide additional enhancements to the Educator Licensure Management System (ELMS) for supporting a document management system for the Office of Teaching and Leading [Goal 4 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Paula Vanderford)                    
IX.5.B. Action:  Contract with Colyar Technology Solutions, Inc. to retain a five (5) year contract for the maintenance and support of the Child Nutrition Management System [Goal 5 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Felicia Gavin)
IX.6. Action:  Approval of MDE grant awards [Goals 1, 2, and 4 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Felicia Gavin)
IX.6.A. Action:  Modify competitive grants for the Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Centers Program [Goals 1 and 2 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Nathan Oakley)

IX.6.B. Action:  Modify a grant for the Mississippi Community Oriented Policing Services in Schools Grant (MCOPS) FY22 (2021-2022) [Goal 2 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Paula Vanderford)
IX.6.C. Action:  Award grants for special projects appropriated by the Mississippi Legislature to the Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) with a World Class Teacher Program (WCTP) site in House Bill 1387, 2021 Legislative Session [Goal 4 – MBE Strategic Plan] (Paula Vanderford)    
IX.7. Consent Agenda (All consent items are action items which require vote, unless otherwise noted.) 
IX.7.A. Approval of monthly expenditures for the Mississippi School of the Arts (Nathan Oakley)
IX.7.B. Approval of monthly expenditures for the Mississippi Schools for the Deaf and the Blind (Nathan Oakley)
IX.7.C. Approval of Interlocal Agreement between the Mississippi Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, Jackson Public School District, and the MDE (Nathan Oakley)

IX.7.D. Approval to begin the Administrative Procedures Act process:  To revise Miss. Admin. Code 7-3:  28.7, State Board Policy Chapter 28, Rule 28.7 – Districts of Innovation and Schools of Innovation (Nathan Oakley)
IX.7.E. Approval of methodology to award American Rescue Plan Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief – Homeless Children and Youth (ARP-HCY) program funds to support local school districts in providing supplemental services for homeless children and youth via the ARP Homeless I allocation (Nathan Oakley) 
IX.7.F. Approval to revise methodology to award grants to school districts for costs associated with the COVID-19 pandemic impact on Pre-K classrooms (Nathan Oakley)
IX.7.G. Approval of Accredited Status for Lighthouse Academy for Dyslexia (Paula Vanderford) 
IX.7.H. Approval of a new school site for the DeSoto County School District (Paula Vandeford)    

IX.7.I. Approval of the supplemental curriculum to the Mississippi Driver Education Course as developed by the Department of Public Safety in accordance with Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-25-5 and 37-25-29 effective with school year 2022 – 2023 (Paula Vanderford)
IX.7.J. Approval of the appointment of a Chairman for the Commission on Teacher and Administrator Education, Certification and Licensure and Development (Paula Vanderford)
IX.7.K. Approval of methodology to award grants to Institutions of Higher Education (IHEs) to establish and or expand a teacher residency program in critical shortage areas in Mississippi (Paula Vanderford)
IX.7.L. Approval of methodology to award Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Grant funds to support the Mississippi Migrant  Education Service Center in addressing the impact of COVID-19 on migratory children (Nathan Oakley)
IX.7.M. Approval of 2021-2022 educator contracts for the Mississippi Schools for the Deaf and the Blind (Nathan Oakley)

IX.7.N. Approval of methodology to award Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Grant funds to support State Agency Neglected for Delinquent Facilities in addressing the impact of COVID-19 neglected, delinquent, or at-risk children (Nathan Oakley)

IX.7.O. Approval of methodology to provide assistance to eligible Non-Public Elementary and Secondary Schools under Senate Bill 2948, Section 29 (xxx) (Nathan Oakley)
X. Consideration of Executive Session
XI. State Board of Education
XI.1. Report on meetings attended
XI.2. Approval of attendance at meetings
XII. Other Business
XIII. Adjournment

<< Back to the Public Page for Mississippi Department of Education