CAP Minutes – October 17, 2023

I. The Charter Authorizing Panel (CAP) met on October 17, 2023. Panel Chair, Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, called the meeting to order at 9:00 am. Members present were Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, Dr. Sonja Wright-McMurray (remote), Mr. Phil Baldwin, and Ms. Toyce Newton (remote).

The transcript and recorded video of this meeting is available on the Arkansas Department of Education, Division of Elementary and Secondary Education website located at https://dese.ade.arkansas.gov/about/archived-minutesvideo/2023

CAP Chair swore in all those who planned to speak.

II. Consent Agenda

a. Dr. Sutherlin made a motion to pass the consent agenda. Mr. Baldwin seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

III. Action Agenda

- a. Procedural Review Kalee Haywood from ADE Legal reviewed the procedures for each part presenting during the action agenda.
- b. Consideration of Cross County Elementary Technology Academy seeking a class size waiver for an additional four (4) students for their two 4th grade classrooms. Principal Jessica Stacey presented. Mr. Baldwin asked about a 61st student who the principal indicated was a home school student present with them for the last 40 minutes of each day for science. Mr. Baldwin made a motion to approve the motion. Dr. McMurray seconded. Stephen Reynolds gave his legal review. Motion passed.
- c. Presentation of Garfield Scholars Academy (GSA) application for the 2024-25 SY. GSA streamlined budget in conjunction with the Arkansas Public School Resource Center. Mr. Baldwin moved to approve the charter application. Dr. McMurry seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

IV. Adjournment

a. Dr. McMurry moved to adjourn. Mr. Baldwin seconded. Motion carried unanimously.

Minutes prepared by: Dustin Scott Wood, J.D. State Director of School Choice Arkansas Department of Education

Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, Ph.D.
Charter Authorization Chairman