Minutes State Special Board Meeting July 7, 2023

Present: Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair; Lisa Hunter; Jeff Wood, Jacob Olivia, ADE Secretary

Attended via ZOOM: Kathy Rollins, Vice-Chair; Randy Henderson; Steve Sutton; Adrienne Woods

The Arkansas State Board of Education (State Board) met Friday, July 7, 2023. Dr. Sarah Moore called the meeting to order at 1:04 PM, followed by a moment of silence.

Action Agenda

III.1. Consideration of Action Regarding the Marvell-Elaine School District

Item III.1. was presented by Ms. Stacy Smith, ADE Deputy Commissioner.

On November 28, 2022, the State Board classified the Marvell-Elaine school district as in need of Level 5 - Intensive support pursuant to the Arkansas Educational Support and Accountability Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-2901 *et seq.* Upon classification, the State Board may take one or more of the actions set forth in Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-2916.

A motion to hear public comments was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Ms. Adrienne Woods. The motion unanimously passed.

Public comments were heard from:

- Mary Glenn, Marvell-Elaine School District
- Dr. Katina Ray, Marvell-Elaine School District

A motion that the public school district board of directors from Marvell-Elaine School District that is currently acting in an advisory capacity, be permanently removed. The motion was made by Mr. Jeff Wood, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.

A motion was made to permanently remove the Marvell-Elaine superintendent, Dr. Kitna Ray, was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Mr. Steve Sutton. The motion unanimously passed.

A motion to authorize the Secretary to appoint an individual in place of the superintendent to administratively operate the district under the supervision of the Secretary was made by Ms. Lisa Hunter, seconded by Mr. Jeff Wood. The motion unanimously passed.

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the State Board meeting was made by Ms. Lisa Hunter, seconded by Mr. Jeff Wood. The motion unanimously passed. Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair, adjourned the State Board meeting at 1:39 PM.

Minutes recorded by Angela Scaife.

Jacob Oliva, Secretary Arkansas Department of Education Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair State Board of Education