DRAFT

Minutes of the December 11, 2023 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on December 11, 2023, at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Leigh Walker; Manish Sethi; Ranna Raval and Jobby Mathew

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on December 8, 2023, at 3:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Chris Trotter; Dr. Angie Brooks; Kristen Eichel; Angela Brown; Diana Sircar; Amanda Simpson; Annelise Ford; Josh Howard; Naveen Boppana; and Taylor Bristow.

Auditor, Robert Lake with Rutherford, Taylor & Company, P.C. was present.

DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

- CISD Football Team Playoff Run
- Thanksgiving Meals at Campuses
- 11th Annual Mockingbird Rakesgiving
- CISD Holiday Open House on December 7
- Wilson's Cara Marquez Surprised as KLTY-FM's Teacher of the Monday
- I Heart CISD

AWARDS

- Fall 2023 GEMs (Great Employees Matter)
- 2023 CISD Holiday Card Winner Nirvana Joshi, 4th grader from Mockingbird Elementary

At 6:32 p.m., President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 6:56 p.m.

Dr. Brad Hunt took a point of privilege to introduce the new Executive Director of Technology, Dwight Goodwin.

Manish Sethi gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

No community members came forward to speak in Open Forum.

DRAFT

<u>DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – SUPERINTENDENT</u>

- Strategic Plan Update Angela Brown (Chief Communications Officer)
- Student and Staff Services Update Annelise Ford (Director of Student and Staff Services)
- CTE Curriculum Update Josh Howard (Director of Career and Technical Education)

CONSENT

Leigh Walker made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items as presented:

- I. Approve minutes of the regular meeting held on November 13, 2023
- II. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for December 2023
- III. Approve Financial Report for November 2023
- IV. Approve Quarterly Investment report for Period Ending November 30, 2023
- V. Approve the resolution adopting the 2023 Property Tax Roll as required by Texas Property Tax Code
- VI. Approve submission of class size waiver to TEA
- VII. Approve District of Innovation (DOI) revision

Nichole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

Nichole Bentley motioned to approve the annual financial audit for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, as presented. Anthony Hill seconded the motion passed and it passed 7-0.

A motion to approve the proposal from Hellas Construction, Inc. for the replacement of the artificial turf and resurfacing of the running track at Buddy Echols Field for a total cost not to exceed \$1,662,680 was made by Anthony Hill. The motion was seconded by Jobby Mathew and passed 7-0.

Jobby Mathew motioned to approve the proposal from Sturdisteel, a division of Schultz Industries, Inc. for the replacement of the stadium seats and seat backs at Buddy Echols Field for a total cost not to exceed \$190,000. Nichole Bentley seconded the motion and the motion passed 7-0.

A motion to approve the proposal from Apple, Inc. for the purchase of 16,000 iPads for a total cost not to exceed \$5,300,000 was made by Anthony Hill and seconded by Ranna Raval. The motion passed 7-0.

Nichole Bentley motioned to approve the proposal from Educational Service Solutions for the Apple iPad Service Kit Bundle and 5-year service agreement for 16,000 iPads for a total cost not to exceed \$3,200,000. The motion received a second by Anthony Hill and passed 7-0.

DRAFT

Jobby Mathew motioned to approve the proposal from DFW Security for the installation of camera surveillance and door access Coppell High School for a total cost not to exceed \$350,000. The motion was seconded by Ranna Raval and passed 7-0.

A motion to approve the proposal from VGI Technology, Inc. for the replacement of camera surveillance and door access at CMS East, CMS West, CMS North, New Tech High, Victory place, Brock, and the Vonita White Administration Building for a total cost not to exceed \$2,600,000 was made by Anthony Hill and seconded by Nichole Bentley The motion passed 7-0.

Jobby Mathew made a motion to add, revise or delete (LOCAL) policies as offered by TASB Policy Service for consideration and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 122 as recommended:

- I. CQB (LOCAL) Technology Resources Cybersecurity Replace Policy
- II. CSA (LOCAL) Facility Standards Safety and Security Add Policy
- III. EHB (LOCAL) Curriculum Design Special Programs Replace Policy
- IV. EHBC (LOCAL) Special Programs Compensatory Services and Intensive Programs – Delete Policy
- V. EHBCA (LOCAL) Compensatory Services and Intensive Programs Accelerated Instruction Add Policy
- VI. FEA (LOCAL) Attendance Compulsory Attendance Replace Policy
- VII. FFAC (LOCAL) Wellness and Health Services Medical Treatment Replace Policy
- VIII. FFB (LOCAL) Student Welfare Crisis Intervention Replace Policy
- IX. FL (LOCAL) Student Records Replace Policy

The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill. The motion passed 7-0.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES

- 2024-2025 and 2025-2026 Budget Planning David Caviness
- Legislative Update and North Texas Area Association of School Boards (NTAASB)
 Nichole Bentley
- TASB Risk Management Fund School-Based Enforcement Summit, TASB Risk Management Fund Board Quarterly Meeting, Coppell Chamber of Commerce Education Committee and District Educational Improvement Committee Meeting (DEIC) – Anthony Hill
- District Safety and Security Design Committee Meeting and Board Gives Back Event – Leigh Walker

Manish Sethi made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Nichole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0. The meeting adjourned at 9:02 p.m.

David Caviness, Board President
Nichole Bentley, Secretary