RESOLUTION TO APPROVE EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION FOR AN EMERGENCY CLOSURE AT TRAUTMANN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL ON MARCH 27, 2025, DUE TO AN AEP POWER OUTAGE

WHEREAS, the United Independent School District ("District") is a public school district located in Laredo, Webb County, Texas; and

WHEREAS, on Thursday, March 27, 2025, the District's Trautmann Elementary School ("TES") experienced a power outage; and

WHEREAS, the District had to cancel school at TES on Thursday, March 27, 2025, due to the time required for American Electric Power ("AEP") to repair the power outage, which was expected to take most of the academic day; and

WHEREAS, the District's Board of Trustees ("Board") has a substantial interest in protecting the health and safety of the District's students, staff, and community, and finds that an emergency existed necessitating the closure of TES due to the AEP power outage; and

WHEREAS, the Board is authorized by Texas Education Code section 45.105 to expend funds of the District for purposes necessary in the conduct of the public schools as determined by the Board; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Board Policy DEA (Local), "During an emergency closure, all employees shall continue to be paid for their regular duty schedule unless otherwise provided by Board action. Following an emergency closure, the Board shall adopt a resolution or take other Board action establishing the purpose and parameters for such payments"; and

WHEREAS, the District has always been and will remain committed to providing the best possible educational opportunities for its students while at the same time keeping all District staff safe and being good stewards of its resources.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that all the above recitals are adopted as findings of fact and are incorporated into and made a part of this Resolution for all purposes, and that the Board hereby determines that the public purposes served by this Resolution and any expenditure made pursuant to this Resolution include: keeping the District's students and staff safe due to the AEP power outage at Trautmann Elementary School on March 27, 2025, while maintaining instructional continuity to the greatest extent possible during the events which led to the temporary emergency closure.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the public purposes described above are fulfilled by efficiently and effectively making certain delegations, as described more fully herein, to the Superintendent to address the lack of electricity at the affected campus in the best interests of its students and staff.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that in furtherance of these public purposes and this Resolution, the Board makes the following delegations to the Superintendent:

- 1. The authority to enact an emergency closure at TES on March 27, 2025, due to an AEP power outage;
- 2. The authority to continue providing pay to all affected District employees due to the abovementioned event, in accordance with Board Policy DEA (Local);
- 3. The authority to direct certain essential District employees to report to work during the emergency closure, including but not limited to those District employees who are essential to continuing certain District operations such as facilities, transportation, and food services, in the sole discretion of the Superintendent; and

4. The authority to submit any necessary waivers to the Texas Education Agency to further the implementation and purposes of this Resolution.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Superintendent is authorized by the Board to take such further actions necessary and appropriate to implement the intent of this Resolution without further Board action.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the authority granted to the Superintendent by the Board via this Resolution shall remain until rescinded by Board Action at a duly-called Board meeting, but in no event shall the authority granted to the Superintendent by this Resolution remain in effect past April 30, 2025.

APPROVED, PASSED, AND ADOPTED on April 16, 2025, by the United Independent School District Board of Trustees.

APPROVED:

Javier Montemayor Board President

ATTEST:

Michelle Molina Board Secretary