Board Recognition Feb. 28, 2023

Ten students selected for TMEA All-State Band, Choir, Orchestra

Ten Denton ISD musicians earned All-State honors for the 2022-2023 school year by the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA). TMEA is an organization of more than 12,000 school music educators dedicated to promoting excellence in music education.

These students were chosen for this prestigious honor through a competitive process held across the state at the district, region and area levels. This process begins throughout the state in auditions hosted by 33 TMEA regions. Individual musicians perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument or voice part. From this ranking, a select group of musicians advance from their region to compete against musicians from areas in eight TMEA Area competitions. The highest-ranking musicians judged at the area competition qualify to perform in a TMEA All-State music group.

All-State is the highest honor a Texas music student can achieve. Only 1,875 students are selected through a process beginning with over 70,000 students – meaning only the top 2.6% of musicians who initially audition become All-State musicians.

The Denton ISD students named to the highest musical honor in Texas include the following:

Braswell High School - Band

Arianna Shepherd, All-State Jazz Ensemble, 3rd Chair Trumpet

Mr. Aaron Snipes III, Director

Mr. Taylor Sitzman, Assistant Director

Mr. DeCorian Hailey, Principal

Denton High School - Band

Caleb Harold, All-State Sinfonietta Orchestra, 6th Chair French Horn Leo Illari, All-State Sinfonietta Orchestra, 2nd Chair Trombone Mr. Brian Wilson, Director Mr. Jesse Woolery, Assistant Director Mr. Joel Hays, Principal

Guyer High School - Orchestra

Celine Cho, All-State Philharmonic Orchestra, Violin 1 Audrey Lee, All-State Philharmonic Orchestra, Violin 1 Ms. Michelle Hanlon, Director Ms. Sarah Wright, Assistant Director Dr. Shaun Perry, Principal

Guyer High School - Band

Cale Golden, All-State 6A Concert Band, 5th Chair Bb Clarinet

Mr. Rob Myers, Director

Ms. Mikaela Pyle, Assistant Director

Dr. Shaun Perry, Principal

Guyer High School - Choir

Aiden Daniel, All-State Tenor Bass Choir, Bass 1 Maxwell Douglas, All-State Mixed Choir, Bass 2 Ms. Katherin Engle, Director Mr. Tyler Fox, Assistant Director Dr. Shaun Perry, Principal

Ryan High School - Choir

Favour Ayeni, All-State Treble Choir, Alto 2 Jack Bowman, All-State Tenor Bass Choir, Tenor 2 Mr. David Rives, Director Ms. Sam Kats, Assistant Director Mr. Vernon Reeves, Principal

District Theatre Program Receives State Recognition

Denton ISD has earned the Texas Thespians Premiere Communities for Theatre Education Award – a distinction that recognizes and honors school districts that provide theatre departments with the resources to achieve above standard. Only nine districts in Texas were awarded this prestigious honor out of the 1,026 eligible districts in the state.

To qualify for the Texas Thespians Premiere Communities for Theatre Education Award, Denton ISD answered detailed questions about curriculum, scheduling standards, class sizes, facilities, theatre safety, technical equipment, production elements, overall support for the theatre program and Thespian troupe involvement. Responses were verified and reviewed by Texas Theatre Education specialists.

Texas Thespians, an affiliate chapter of the Educational Theatre Association (EdTA), is the largest chapter in the nation. The Texas Thespians chapter provides local, state, and regional support for adult members, Thespians, and Junior Thespians. With over 600 troupes, Texas Thespians represent over 16,000 middle school and high school students.

Accepting the honor of behalf of the district: Dr. Jackie deMontmollin, Director of Fine Arts (retired); Eddy Russell, Director of Fine Arts; Michelle Greene, Braswell High School Theatre

Director; Michael Cleveland, Denton High School Theatre Director; Eleshia Crotwell, Guyer High School Theater Director; Jeannene Abney, Ryan High School Theater Director

Community Spotlight

Each year the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) honors businesses and organizations for their support and exceptional advocacy of local schools. This state-wide honor, as part of "Stand Up for Texas Public Schools," recognizes local businesses and community organizations that partner with districts, making a difference in the lives of local public school students.

Through a partnership with Texas Woman's University, professors provide support to Denton ISD through in-service to teachers of record in dual language classrooms at 12 schools. They also support faculty members, administrators, and support staff at Denton High and Braswell High schools to effectively educate English language learners (ELLs).

Since 2014, TWU has provided a pathway for Denton ISD Education & Training graduates to complete their educational preparation and return to the district to teach through TEACH Denton. The Consortium of State Organizations for Texas Teacher Education (CSOTTE) awarded TWU & Denton ISD the Exemplary Partnership Award.

Because of the reciprocity and shared values of our organizations, Denton ISD hires more graduates of TWU than any other school district in the state of Texas.

Representatives from TWU include Dr. Lisa Huffman, Dean of the College of Professional Education; Dr. Gina Anderson, Associate Dean for Educator Preparation and Partnerships; Dr. Sarah McMahan, Professor of Curriculum & Instruction, Co-Director of New Teacher Academy