DRAFT

Minutes of the May 14, 2018 - Special School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a special session on May 14, 2018, at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Tracy Fisher.

Members present: Tracy Fisher, President; Judy Barbo, Vice President; Leigh Walker, Secretary; Susie Kemp; Anthony Hill; Thom Hulme; and David Caviness. A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 4, 2018 at 10:35 a.m.

At 6:00 p.m., President Fisher declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

President Fisher declared the Board in Open Session at 6:33 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Administrative Assistant; Sid Grant; Kelly Penny; Dr. Angie Applegate; Kristen Streeter; Diana Sircar; Stephen McGilvray; Deana Dynis; Amanda Simpson; and Kathy Creek

Susie Kemp made a motion to accept new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. Judy Barbo seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

A motion was made by Anthony Hill and seconded by David Caviness to approve the Superintendent's recommendation of Jennifer Martin as Principal of Town Center Elementary. The motion carried 7-0,

Judy Barbo made a motion to change the date by which the Superintendent is to obtain a doctoral degree from July 31, 2019 to May 31, 2020 (Section 2.2 (a) of the Superintendent's contract). Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

President Fisher read the results of the May 5, 2018 Trustee General Election (attached).

<u>Place</u>	<u>Candidate</u>	<u>Votes</u>
6 6	Nichole Bentley Lynne Ryan	2,887 1,114
6	Dan Koller	758
TOTAL		4,759

7	Ron Hansen	1,840
7	Tracy Fisher	3,101
TOTAL		4,941

After canvassing the election results, President Fisher certified the election and declared Nichole Bentley winner in Place 6, and Tracy Fisher winner in Place 7.

David Caviness made a motion to approve the Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The results of the May 5, 2018 Trustee Special Election (attached) were read by President Fisher.

<u>Place</u>	<u>Candidate</u>	<u>Votes</u>
2 2	Balki Chamkura Manish Sethi	1,477 3,103
TOTAL		4.580

After canvassing the election results, President Fisher certified the election and declared Manish Sethi the winner in Place 2 for an unexpired term.

A motion was made by Thom Hulme and seconded by Leigh Walker to approve the Order Declaring Results of the Trustee Special Election. The motion carried 7-0.

A Certificate of Election was issued to the newly elected trustees.

Sid Grant provided information on a boundary realignment timeline.

An update on the 2018-2019 budget was presented by Kelly Penny (Chief Financial Officer) and Diana Sircar (Executive Director of Finance).

Judy Barbo made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0. The meeting was adjourned at 8:47 p.m.

Tracy Fisher, Board President

Leigh Walker, Secretary	