Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Continues of Propagation

Certificates of Recognition

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

DHS, Ryan place seven in Top 10 at UIL state academic meet

Denton and Ryan high schools represented Denton ISD at the annual University Interscholastic League state academic meet at the University of Texas at Austin.

The two schools combined to earn seven top spots at the academic meet. Both schools also finished with more than 20 points.

The state honorees include:

Denton High

- William Root finished third in computer science;
- The team of William Root, Surya Raghavendran, Alvin Gao and Sam Holdeman earned third in computer science;
- The team of Emily Fu, Rebecca Fu, Francesca Farris and Omar Akram placed fifth in spelling and vocabulary;
- R. J. Ponder competed in feature writing and headline writing;
- Amara Bradetich competed in news writing.

The Denton High UIL academic sponsors include Barry Wagner, Computer Science; Sandra Dieckman, Spelling and Vocabulary, and Greg Bogomol, Journalism.

Ryan High

- Kathryn Hokamp earned second place in literary criticism;
- Cody Vann finished third in prose interpretation;
- Rachael Rosenberg placed fifth in ready writing.
- Bailey Atkinson finished eighth in poetry interpretation.

The Ryan High UIL academic sponsors for the state-placing students are Shawn Zeigler and Jeannene Abney.

High school tech clubs have 23 students recognized at state contest

The Denton Independent School District's technology clubs at Denton, Guyer and Ryan high schools recently combined to have 23 students recognized at the annual Texas Technology Student Association state competition at the Waco Convention Center.

More than 1,000 of the state's top students entered the TSA state competition in various technological events, with top projects earning "Best in State" designation. Denton ISD had 23 students place in the top three in various events with 35 separate "Best in State" award winners.

The district's students receiving "Best in State" - the top state award - included:

Rvan High

Janet Amador, Pencil House Plan over 2,000 sq. ft.;

Stephanie Avila, House Plan over 2,000 sq. ft. on CADD; Architectural Team Pencil Presentation; Michael Crowe, Development Drawing CADD; Gear Drawing CADD;

Chloe Ferris, Pencil Working Drawing 6 or more parts;

Kathryn Hokamp, Working Drawing of Single Part CADD, Fashion Photo, Animal Photo; Michael McNatt, Working Drawing on CADD;

Kevin Ordaz, House Plan under 2,000 sq. ft. on CADD, Architectural Team Pencil Presentation;

Alain Ortiz, Structural Model, Pencil Multi-story House Plan over 2,000 Sq. Ft., Architectural Pencil Presentation, Segmented Bowl and Segmented Star, Architectural Pencil Presentation Sketch, Wooden Pencil;

Corrie Reeder, Pictorial of 6 or more parts CADD, Aerial Photo;

Cesar Renteria, Multi-story House Plans over 2,000 sq. ft. CADD;

Morgan Sain, Study Model, Architectural Sketch, Special Effects Photo, Single Pencil Working Drawing, Color Still life Photo, Black/White Still Life Photo, Color Product Photo, Black/White Product Photo;

Maribel Sifuentes, Multi-story House Plan under 2,000 sq. ft. CADD;

Travis Wiley, Multi-story House Plan over 2,000 sq. ft.

Denton High

Emily Thygesen, Architectural Model;

Rachel Kim. Architectural Plans:

Jeremiah Suwuh, Architectural Model

ATC student from Little Elm High

Melissa Miranda, Architectural Plans

The district's students placing among the top other three spots at the TSA competition included:

Guyer High

Chris Pope, first place, Architectural Plan, Architectural Rendering;

Johnny Wences, first place, Architectural Plan, Architectural Rendering

Denton High

Daniel Carrillo, first place, Architectural Plan; Christian Diaz, first place, Architectural Plan; Gabriel Castro, first place, Architectural Plan; Marilyn Penelope Yates, third place, animatronics

The sponsors include Roger McSween, Ryan High; Laurence McClendon, Denton High, and Charles Brazile, ATC.

Newton Rayzor, Wilson receive national recognition by TEA

Newton Rayzor Elementary and Wilson Elementary have been recognized as National Title I Distinguished Schools by the Texas Education Agency.

The two campuses were the only schools to receive the distinction and two of only seven schools in Denton County recognized.

To achieve this honor, Newton Rayzor and Wilson had to maintain or improve its TEA accountability rating for the past three years. Both schools also met or exceeded national Adequate Yearly Progress measures of English/Language Arts, Math and Attendance the past two years.

Newton Rayzor and Wilson were rated as Exemplary – the top rating given by the TEA – in August – which was an improvement from their Recognized ratings in 2009.

The principal at Wilson Elementary is Audrey Staniszewski and the assistant principal is Lorena Salas.

The head of school at Newton Rayzor Elementary, an IB Primary Years School, is Carlos Ramirez and the assistant head of school is Laura Ortez.

Harpool student named to state honor choir

Billy Burford, a seventh-grade student at Harpool Middle School, has been selected to the Texas Choral Directors Association 2011 Middle School/Junior High State Honor Choir. He will perform with singers from across the state in July at the TCDA's annual convention in San Antonio.

Billy Burford is section leader on the Harpool choir and has also been named to the Metroplex Children's Choir and Texas Music Educators Association All-Region Choir. He is only the third Harpool student to earn this honor.

Ryan 4x200 relay team wins state title; team takes runner-up spot

The Ryan High School boys 4x200-meter relay team are state champions – again.

The Raiders defended their Class 4A state championship in the event, rallying from behind to post a time of 1:25.77 on the University of Texas track and bring home the gold once more.

The event put Ryan with a shot at its first state team track title, but the Raiders just missed that opportunity by a few hundredths of a second. Ryan's 4x400-meter relay team was cut of at the finish line by Lancaster, which edged the Raiders by .29 seconds, to clinch the state title.

Ryan finished the meet with 42 points, earning state runner-up team honors.

- Senior Aaron Scott, who will join the Longhorns track team in the fall, led Ryan with three state medals. Aaron Scott earned a bronze in the 200 meters, a silver as a member of the 4x400 relay team and a gold as the anchor of the 4x200 relay team.
- Members of the state runner-up 4x400-meter relay team included: Aaron Scott, Korey Chappell, Sterling Fugett and Daniel Martin.
- Members of the state championship 4x200-meter relay team included: Korey Chappell, Sterling Fugett, Aaron Scott and Spero Dagnon.
- Alternate members of both relay teams included: Jerrick Harvey, Craig Moore and Xavier Rose.

The Ryan track and field head coach is Janson Head. He is assisted by Keiston Alexander, Eugene Rogers, Robert Butler, Matthew Hudson, and Billy Miller.

Evers Park teacher honored for writing book on field trip safety

Second-grade teacher Dawn Fielder has published "Don't Monkey Around with Safety on Field Trips" to help students be safer during field trips.

The book, which features a group of "monkey" students going on a field trip, was a joint effort with the Texas Department of Transportation. The book is a free resource that can be requested by any teacher statewide.

Earlier this year, Mrs. Fielder was named the 2010 Teacher of the Year by the Texas Council on Social Studies.