Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Sunray ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Sunray ISD was held Monday, April 11, 2016, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Board Room at 400 E. 7th Street (Rear Entrance).

1. Roll Call at Boardroom at 7:00 pm.

Pledge and Prayer

Members present: Scott Peeples, Merrill Harp, Richard Crowley, Stacy Nelson, Shelby Taylor, and Brian Thompson Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

Other individuals present: Ron Morris, Kim Lee, Pat Armstrong, Chad Ely, Stacie Jones, and Sid Whiteley.

2. Consent Agenda

Information on these items has been sent to the Board of Trustees for review prior to the meeting. Any Board member may pull any item from the consent agenda (without a second) for deliberation prior to consideration. Any item pulled will be considered with the business items on the agenda.

- A. Approval of minutes of previous meetings on March 8, 2016
- B. Approval of expenditures
- C. Approval of the SCAD 2017 Budget
- D. Transfer Students

Richard Crowley made the motion to accept and approve the consent agenda as presented. Shelby Taylor seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

6. Business

A. Personnel

The meeting was called into closed session: as authorized by the Texas Open Meeting Act, Texas Government Code, §551.074 at 8:16 PM for the purpose of discussing personnel. At 9:54 PM, the meeting was called back into regular session.

- 1. Contracts/Renewals/Proposed Non-renewals
 - a. NWTSSA Diagnosticians & Speech Therapist

Shelby Taylor made the motion to give the following a one-year probationary

contract to Kim Hodge and Misti Bryant; a one-year term contract to Maegan Huelett. Merrill Harp seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

b. Teachers/Coaches/Other Professional Staff

 Consideration and possible action Regarding Renewal/Proposed Nonrenewal of Term Contracts of Teachers/Coaches/Other Professional Staff Under Texas Education Code Chapter 21

Richard Crowley made the motion to provide the following people a one-year term contract for the 2016-17 school year. Merrill Harp seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried.

Lucy Burkett	Debbie Thompson	Ronna Mayfield
Dee Ann Woodward	Barbara Miller	Sharly Seiler
Amy Nelson	Ramonda Raymond	Belinda Craig
Sharon Trahern	Marlin Ham	Connie Walker
Starla Smith	JJ Haberthur	Angaleta Crenshaw
Jen Ford	Esmeralda McDowell	Ivana Sonen
Lidia Rodriguez	Steven Livingston	Luke Roberson
Janet Pipkin	Cody McDowell	Sandra Blankenship
Stephen Cripps	Delma Stokes	Leanne Holloway
Kim Lee	Joe Holloway	Donna Milner
Sharon Moore	Mary Taylor	Sandy Walker
Marsha Wathen	Beverly Brewer	

2. Consideration and possible Action Regarding Renewal of Probationary Contracts/Termination of Probationary Contracts at the end of the Contract Term for Teachers/Coaches/Other Professional Staff Under Texas Education Code Chapter 21

Merrill Harp made the motion to give the following a one-year probationary contract for the 2016-17. Shelby Taylor seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

Alesha Tomlinson	Kyndall Jones	Brittney Livingston
Brandy Hollaway	Casey Lantelme	Dana Boswell
Callie Sims	Nicole Spurlock	Caitlyn Rice

c. Elementary/Middle School Counselor

Merrill Harp made the motion to hire Mary Beth Jones as the Elementary /Middle School Counselor on a one-year probationary contract. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

2. New Hires

Stacy Nelson made the motion to hire Robbie Mason on a one-year probationary contract subject to assignment. Merrill Harp seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

B. Interquest Detection Canines

Approve Contract for K-9 Services Agreement for 2016-2017 School Year.

Merrill Harp made the motion to approve the contract for the K-9 Services for the 2016-17 school year. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

C. Resolution to nominate a Moore County Appraisal District Board Member

Scott Peeples made the motion to nominate Brian Thompson for the Moore County Appraisal District Board Member vacancy. Merrill Harp seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

D. Consideration and possible approval of the Collection Contract for Moore County Tax Assessor

Shelby Taylor made the motion to approve the Collection contract for Moore County Tax Assessor as present. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee.

E. Second Reading and possible approval of Update 104

Stacy Nelson made the motion to approve Update 104 as present. Richard Crowley seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee.

F. Consideration and possible approval to contract with Region 16 to provide technology services twice a week for the 2016-17 school year.

Merrill Harp made the motion to authorize the superintendent to contract with Region 16 to provide technology services twice a week for the 2016-17 school year. Shelby Taylor seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee.

G. Discussion and possible action on changing the date of the regular May Board Meeting in order to canvass votes

Richard Crowley made the motion to move the May 9th regular board meeting to May

12th in order to canvass votes. Stacy Nelson seconded the motion. (5-0) motion carried. Absent: Jennifer Goolsby and Brian Lee

7. Superintendent Remarks

- A. Appreciation Banquet on April 25, 2016
- B. Cheerleader Tryouts April 15th
- C. At-Will employees will be given a letter of reasonable assurance in May
- D. MS NJHS Cancer and MS Walk May 5, 2016
- E. TASB Spring Board Workshop at WTAMU on May 18, 2016
- F. Possibly move June Board Meeting please check your calendars
- G. TASB 2015 Summer Leadership Institutes
 - 1. San Antonio on June 16-18, 2016
 - 2. Fort Worth on June 30-July 2, 2016
- H. Update on Renovations
- I. History Positions
- J. District Technology Issues
- K. Other
- 8. Adjournment

Tł	ne meeting was adjourned at 10:20 PM by B	oard President Scott Peeples.
Attested	l:	
	Scott Peeples, Board President	Richard Crowley, Board Secretary