Rural Caucus

Hosted by the North Slope Borough School District
In Conjunction with
Association of Alaska School Board Annual Conference
November 11, 2023
5:30PM - 6:30PM
Aspen/Spruce Room
Hilton Hotel
Anchorage, AK

Welcome

Robyn Burke, NSBSD Board President David Vadiveloo, NSBSD Superintendent

Moment of Silence

Lobbyist Update

Reggie Joule Christine Hess

Roundtable Discussions

Discussion of 2024 AASB Where We Stand Identify Legislative Priorities & Supporting Resolutions Discuss New and Amended Resolutions

Amendments of Resolutions to the Delegate Assembly

Priority Organization

Selection of Rural District Legislative priorities

Closing Remarks

Robyn Burke, NSBSD Board President

Adjournment



Joint Session

North Slope Borough School District
And
Northwest Arctic Borough School District
Boards of Education
November 11, 2023
6:30PM - 7:30PM
Birch/Willow Room
Hilton Hotel

Anchorage, AK



Welcome & Moment of Silence

Robyn Burke, NSBSD Board President Margaret Hanson, NWABSD Board President

Joint Legislative Priorities

Robyn Burke, NSBSD Board President

Board Comments

Northwest Arctic Borough School District Board North Slope Borough School District Board

Superintendent Reflection

David Vadiveloo, NSBSD Superintendent Terri Walker, NWABSD Superintendent

Adjournment

NSBSD Board of Education

Robyn Burke, President Frieda Nageak, Clerk Nora Jane Burns, Member Nancy Rock, Member Charles Brower, Member Frieda Kaleak, Member Vacant, Member

Administration

David Vadiveloo, Superintendent

NWABSD Board of Education

Margaret Hansen, President
Carol Schaeffer, Vice-President
Marie Greene, Treasurer
Tillie M. Ticket, Secretary
Millie Hawley, Parliamentarian
Shannon Melton, Member
Alice Adams, Member
Lawrence Jones, Sr., Member
Ellen Coffin, Member
Joanne Harris, Member
Alice Melton-Barr, Member

Administration

Terri Walker, Superintendent