AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., December 19, 2006, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Ray Beaty DC

Doyle Woodall

Renda Berryhill Butch Foreman Carol Gregg Randy Rives

Dr. Donna Smith

School Officials:

Wendell Sollis, David Finley, Gary Gaines, Dr. Joe Gallegos, Irene Granado, Alma Guerrero, Robert Hand, Wendy Hines, Gay Jenkins, Hector Mendez, Bruce Revell, Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others:

Ron Leach, Bruce Davis, Karla Wright, Stacy Jones, Roy Garcia, Denise Shetter, Sylvia Sanchez, Martha Mitchell, Lisa Wills, Sha Burdsal, Deniece Hazard, Tisa Hawkins, Marcos Lopez, Pam Walker, Carolyn Gonzales, Andrea Martin, Yolanda Hernandez, Cindy Harbour, Luis Salcido, ,LaVern Shan, Alicia Syverson, Sally Navarro, Marilee Holmes, Jan Brown, Wayne Squiers, David Lee, Margaret Lehr, Dustee Sollis, Chief Brian Moersch, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Crystale Galindo, Michael Adkins, Ann Suiter, Nelda Loya

<u>19638</u> <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Randy Rives, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order.

<u>Pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags</u>: The pledges of Allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags were led by Dowling Elementary School students Marco Molina and Franchesca Parras.

19640 Invocation: Renda Berryhill, Board Vice-President, gave the invocation.

<u>19641</u> <u>Special Presentations</u>:

Gold Performance Awards

Assistant Superintendents Alma Guerrero and Irene Granado, presented the following Gold Performance Awards:

CAMPUS	#	ATT	COM READ	COM MATH	COM WRITE	COM SCIE	COM	CI READ	CI MATH	R
OHS	1									Х
PHS	1									Х
Bowie	1				Х					
Nimitz	3				Х		Х	Х		
Ector	1						Х			
Alamo	5		X	Χ	Χ			X	Χ	
Austin	1			Χ						
Burleson	1			Χ						
Burnet	4		Χ		Χ			X	X	
Cameron	2		X	Χ						
Gonzales	4		Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ				
Hays	1							X		
Sam Houston	4		Χ	Χ				X	Χ	
Ireland	4		Х	Х	Х	Х				
Pease	2			Χ	Χ					
Reagan	6	Х	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ		X		
Ross	5		X	Χ	Χ	Х		X		
San Jacinto	6		X	Χ	Χ	Х		X	Χ	
Travis	4		Х	Х		Х		Х		
Zavala	2		Χ	Χ						
Noel	3		Χ	Χ		Χ				
Blackshear	3				Χ			X	Χ	
LBJ	5		Χ	Χ	Χ	X			Χ	
Jordan	4		X	Χ				X	X	·
Cavazos	2			Χ	Х					·
Total	75	1	14	17	13	8	2	11	7	2

United Way Recognitions

Bruce Revell, Deputy Superintendent for District Operations, presented the following United Way Awards:

Recognized Department – Maintenance Recognized Secondary School – Bonham Jr. High Recognized Elementary School – Jordan Elementary Ice Cream Party Recipients – Jordan Elementary Students

Mr. Revell gave a special thank you to Chuck Hornung, ECISD Chairperson and UW Loaned Executive, and Mary Franco and Elaine Sparks, Administrative Assistants, for their hard work on the 2006 UW Campaign.

<u>Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:</u> Randy Rives, Board President, verified that the provisions of Texas Government Code Section 551.001 had been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

- <u>Approval of Consent Agenda</u>: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Berryhill that the following Consent Agenda be approved:
 - 1. Superintendent's Agenda
 - 2. Minutes of Meeting

 November 14, 2006 Regular

 November 28, 2006 Special

 December 7, 2006 Training
 - 3. Bills for Payment
 - 4. School Construction Report

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Approval of Interlocal Participation Agreement with TASB</u>
<u>"BuyBoard"</u>: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Foreman to approve the Interlocal Participation Agreement with TASB "Buy Board" as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Approval of Bond Refunding Program through a Parameter Sale:
Moved by Gregg, seconded by Foreman to approve the Bond Refunding
Program through a Parameter Sale. Dan Culver, Bond Counsel and
William Gumbert, Financial Advisor, were present to answer questions.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Approval of Budget Amendment # 3</u>: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Smith to approve Budget Amendment #3 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Approval to Reject All Bids for Ratliff Stadium ADA Renovation:</u>
Moved by Gregg, seconded by Beaty to reject all bids for Ratliff Stadium ADA renovation.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Approval of PHS Orchestra Out-of-State Travel</u>: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Foreman to approve the PHS Orchestra Out-of-State Travel request as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Approval of Board Policy DPB(Local) Personnel Positions:

Substitute, Temporary, and Part-Time Positions: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Smith to approve Board Policy DPB(Local) Personnel Positions: Substitute, Temporary, and Part-Time Positions, as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

19650 Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Recommendation to Hire Executive <u>Director of Special Education and Routine Personnel Report)</u> [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: No Closed Meeting was held. Approval of Recommendation to Hire Executive Director of <u>19651</u> Special Education: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Beaty to approve the recommendation to hire Margaret Lehr as Executive Director of Special Education. Motion unanimously approved. Approval Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Gregg, seconded by 19652 Berryhill to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

Adjournment: Randy Rives, Board President, adjourned the Board 19653 meeting at 6:52 p.m.

> **Board President Board Secretary**

Randy Rives

Doyle Woodall