# ORDER OF BUSINESS FOR THE REGULAR BOARD MEETING SCHEDULED FOR THE MINEOLA INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT TO BE HELD IN THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING AT 6:00 P.M., MAY 16, 2016---MINUTES

#### A. Call to Order

Executed by Board President, Regan Brandon, at 6:00 p.m.

#### Roll Call

Establishment of a quorum:

Regan Brandon, President	Carlist Brinkley (arrived at 6:40)
Dr. John Abbott, Vice President	Jill Quiambao
Dr. Kyle Gully, Secretary	Holly Mischnick
Kellam Newell	

#### B. Oath of Office

Mary Ann Roseberry administered the oath of office to Holly Mischnick, Carlist Brinkley, and Kellam Newell who were certified as candidates and thereby elected in accordance with Section 2.053(a) of the Texas Election Code.

Board members and their term expiration year are as follows:

Dr. John Abbott	2017
Regan Brandon	2018
Carlist Brinkley	2019
Dr. Kyle Gully	2017
Holly Mischnick	2019
Jill Quiambao	2018
Kellam Newell	2019

#### C. Reorganization of Board of Trustees

A motion was made by Kellam Newell to nominate Regan Brandon as President of the Board of Trustees. The motion was seconded by Dr. Kyle Gully. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. **Motion Carried 6-0 to elect Regan Brandon as President** (**Regan Brandon abstained**)

A motion was made by Holly Mischnick to nominate Dr. John Abbott as Vice-President of the Board of Trustees. The motion was seconded by Jill Quiambao. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. **Motion Carried 6-0 to elect Dr. John Abbott as Vice-President** (**Dr. John Abbott abstained**)

A motion was made by Jill Quiambao to nominate Dr. Kyle Gully as Secretary of the Board of Trustees. The motion was seconded by Kellam Newell. There were no other nominations. Nominations were closed. **Motion Carried 6-0 to elect Dr. Kyle Gully as Secretary** (**Dr. Kyle Gully abstained**)

# D. Executive Session – Section 551.074, Texas Government Code Personnel (Appointment, Employment, Evaluation, Reassignment of Duties, Discipline, Dismissal, and Complaint)

The board presiding officer, Regan Brandon, made the following announcement in open session prior to the closed session: "At this time the board has business pertinent to Texas Government Code Section 551.074, which should be conducted in closed session. Let the Official Minutes indicate that closed session is now declared at 6:01 p.m., on Monday, May 16, 2016, for the Mineola Independent School District Board of School Trustees."

The board presiding officer made the following announcement at the end of closed session: "Let the Official Minutes indicate that the Board entered open

session at 6:55 p.m., on Monday, May 16, 2016. The floor is now open for business."

# E. Reconvene from Executive Session

#### F. Invocation, Pledges and Introductions – 7:00 p.m.

Invocation was led by Dr. Kyle Gully

**Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag and the Texas Flag** was led by members of Mineola Rope Trick Team

#### G. Consider Information and Action on Items Discussed in Executive Session

#### 1. Contracts for Professional Educators for 2016-2017

A motion was made by Dr. John Abbott and seconded by Holly Mischnick to extend a one year dual probationary contract pursuant to Mineola I.S.D. Board Policy and Administrative Regulation, subject to assignment and reassignment, and commensurate with current board policy and established salary schedule for school professional staff to **Charles Feller, Brent Hutto, David Smith, and Codi Smith** 

and

to extend a one year probationary contract pursuant to Mineola I.S.D. Board Policy and Administrative Regulation, subject to assignment and reassignment, and commensurate with current board policy and established salary schedule for school professional staff to **Taylor Paroline**, and Abraham Burciaga Motion Carried 7-0

# H. Recognitions and Celebrations

Students were recognized for qualifying for State competition in:

Band Solo & Ensemble 1<sup>st</sup> Chair All State Band UIL Vocal Solo High School UIL Academics High School Robotics UIL Track & Field FFA Dairy Cattle Judging and Mineola Rope Trick members were recognized for advancing to the USA National Jump Rope Championship

#### Items D, E, F, G and H were taken before item B

#### I. Information Reports and discussion Items (No Action Required)

1. Financial Report for April

Mr. Bjork presented the financial report for April

2. Tax Collection Report for April

# Mr. Bjork presented the tax report for April

### 3. Enrollment/Attendance Report

Each month during the school year the board is given an enrollment/attendance report that gives enrollment numbers and attendance percentages by grade, campus, and district.

#### J. Public Forum (Public Comments)

There were no public comments.

#### K. Action Items

### 1. Consent Agenda

### a. Minutes of Meeting Held by the Mineola I.S.D. Board of Trustees \*April 18, 2016 Regular Meeting \*May 10, 2016 Special Called Meeting

b. Local Vendor List

A motion was made by Jill Quiambao and seconded by Holly Mischnick to Approve the (a) Minutes of meetings held by the Mineola I.S.D. Board of Trustees - April 18, 2016 Regular Meeting and May 10, 2016 Special Called Meeting and (b) the vendor list for 2016-2017 **Motion Carried 7-0** 

# 2. New and Unfinished Action Items

a. Consider Adopting Replacement of Policy FFA(LOCAL) – Wellness Policy

A motion was made by Dr. John Abbott and seconded by Jill Quiambao to adopt the replacement of Policy FFA(LOCAL) – Wellness Policy as presented. **Motion Carried 7-0** 

# b. Amendments to 2015-2016 Budget

A motion was made by Holly Mischnick and seconded by Carlist Brinkley to approve amendments to the 2015-2016 budget as presented. **Motion Carried 7-0** 

# L. Superintendent Reports

- 1. Student Survey
- 2. Secondary Staffing Audit Report
- 3. Kacey Musgraves Fine Arts Funding

# 4. Meredith Memorial Stadium Update

Mrs. Tunnell reviewed all reports and updates.

# M. Upcoming District Events and Announcements

Mrs. Tunnell made announcements and reviewed upcoming district events.

# N. Adjournment

Board President, Regan Brandon, adjourned the meeting.

# APPROVED THIS 20th DAY OF JUNE, 2016.

**Board President** 

**Board Secretary**