## MINUTES OF A SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT 152, COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS, HELD ON MONDAY, MAY 4, 2015 AT THE ADMIINSTRATIVE CENTER – 16001 Lincoln HARVEY, ILLINOIS, AT 6:10 P.M.

The Special Board Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by the President, Janet Rogers, at 6:21 P.M. on Monday, May 4, 2015.

**CALL TO ORDER** 

**ROLL CALL** 

The following were present:

PRESENT: Ms. G. Johnson, B. Johnson,

Ms. Hawkins, Mr. Rogers Dr. McCaskill, Ms. Rogers

ABSENT: Mr. Robinson

Other School Officials in attendance were:

PRESENT: Dr. Denean Adams

Superintendent Dr. Kevin J. Nohelty

**Assistant Superintendent of Business Operations** 

and Human Relations

Dr. Sophia Jones-Redmond Director of Special Services

Ms. Johnnetta Miller

**Director of Teaching and Learning** 

**Everyone stood for the Pledge of Allegiance.** 

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

A motion was made by Ms. B. Johnson and seconded by Dr. McCaskill to approve the Agenda. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins,

Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers,

Dr. McCaskill, Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

**ABSENT: Mr. Robinson** 

6 ayes, 1 absent – Motion carried.

Dr. Adams presented Certificates of Perfect Attendance Ms. Rogers, Ms. B. Johnson,

Ms. G. Johnson and Mr. Tyrone Rogers.

**AGENDA APPROVED** 

Dr. Nohelty, Assistant Superintendent read the official votes cast for each candidate on Tuesday, April 7, 2015 from David Orr, Cook County Clerk.

	<u>Votes</u>	<u>Percentage</u>
Janet Rogers	1,142	21.45%
Tyrone Rogers	1,007	18.92%
Felicia Johnson	925	17.38%
Erita Brown	677	12.72%
Dontrail Evans	646	12.14%
George W. Robinson	560	10.52%
Charles L. Abron	366	6.88%
Total	5,323	

This election having been certified for "3 to be elected results in Janet Rogers, Tyrone Rogers and Felicia Johnson being elected.

A motion was made by Ms. Hawkins and seconded by Dr. McCaskill to approve the Adjournment of the Old Board of Education.

@ 6: 01p.m.Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins,

Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers,

Dr. McCaskill, Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

**ABSENT: Mr. Robinson** 

6 ayes, 1 absent - Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT OF THE OLD BOARD OF EDUCATION APPROVED

## REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Oath of Office was given by Honorable Judge Carl B. Boyd to: Janet Rogers, Tyrone Rogers and Felicia Johnson

Members present according to roll call:

PRESENT: Ms. G. Johnson,

Ms. B. Johnson, Ms. L. Hawkins, Dr.. Kisha McCaskill

Ms. Rogers Ms. F. Johnson Mr. Rogers A motion was made by Dr. McCaskill and seconded by Ms. Hawkins to appoint Ms. B. Johnson as temporary chair.

Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Ms. F. Johnson, Dr. McCaskill,

Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

7 ayes - Motion carried.

**TEMPORARY CHAIR** 

NOMINATION FOR PRESIDENT

**Nomination for President:** 

Ms. Rogers was nominated by Mr. Rogers and seconded by

Ms. Hawkins

Ms. G. Johnson was nominated by

Dr. McCaskill and seconded by

Ms. F. Johnson

NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT

**VOTES FOR MS. ROGERS** 

Ms. L. Hawkins - Yes

Mr. Rogers - Yes

Ms. B. Johnson - Nay

Ms. G. Johnson - Nay

Ms. McCaskill - Nay

Ms. F. Johnson - Nay

Ms. Rogers - Yes

3 Yes, 4 Nays

Votes: for Janet Rogers:

**Votes for Ms. G. Johnson:** 

Ms. L. Hawkins - Nav

Mr. Rogers - Nav

Ms. B. Johnson - Yes

Ms. G. Johnson - Yes

Ms. McCaskill - Yes

Ms. F. Johnson - Yes

Ms. Rogers – Nay

4 Yes, 3 Nays

**VOTES FOR MS. G. JOHNSON** 

**Nomination for Vice President** 

NOMINATION FOR VICE PRESIDENT

Dr. McCaskill was nominated by Ms B. Johnson and seconded by Ms. F. Johnson

Ms. Rogers was nominated by Mr. Rogers – but declined.

Mr. Rogers nominated himself

Votes for Dr. McCaskill

Ms. L. Hawkins - Nay

Ms. B. Johnson - Yes

Ms. G. Johnson - Yes

Dr., McCaskill - Yes

Ms. F. Johnson - Yes

Ms. Rogers - Nay

Mr. Rogers- Nay

4 Yes, 3 Nays

Votes for Mr. Rogers VOTES FOR MR. ROGERS

Ms. L. Hawkins - Yes

Mr. Rogers - Yes

Ms. B. Johnson - Nay

Ms. G. Johnson - Nay

Dr..McCaskill - Nay

Ms. F. Johnson - Nav

Ms. Rogers - Yes

3 Yes, 4 Nays

Nominations for Secretary NOMINATIONS FOR SECRETARY

Ms. B. Johnson was nominated by

Dr. McCaskill and seconded by

Ms. F. Johnson

Votes for Ms. B. Johnson

Ms. L. Hawkins - Nav

Mr. Rogers - Nay

Ms. B. Johnson - Yes

Ms. G. Johnson - Yes

Dr. McCaskill - Yes

Ms. F. Johnson - Yes

Ms. Rogers - Nay

4 Yes, 3 Nays

**VOTES FOR MS. B. JOHNSON** 

**VOTES FOR DR. MCCASKILL** 

President Johnson stated that the Committee Appointments will be given at a later date.

## **COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS**

A motion was made by Ms. B. Johnson and seconded by Dr. McCaskill to approve the Resolution to establish Date, Time and Place. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. McCaskill,

Ms. Rogers

NAY: NONE

7 ayes - Motion carried.

RESOLUTION TO ESTABLISH DATE, TIME AND PLACE OF REGULAR BOARD MEETINGS

President Johnson stated that the Regular Board of Education Meetings for 2015 – 2016 will be held the 3<sup>rd</sup> Monday of the Month at Central Office except for July.

President Johnson stated that the next Regular Board Meeting will be held on Monday, May 18, 2015.

**NEXT BOARD MEETING** 

Dontrail Evans of Harvey congratulated the Board of Education.

**AUDIENCE COMMENTS/QUESTIONS** 

A motion was made by Dr. McCaskill and seconded by Ms. Hawkins to adjourn at 6:45 p.m. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins, Ms. B. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Dr. McCaskill, Ms. F. Johnson,

Ms. Rogers

NAY: None

7 ayes - Motion carried.

**ADJOURNMENT** 

Respectfully submitted,	
Secretary	
•	

**Approved** 

## **President**