## **DRAFT**

# Minutes of the April 21, 2008 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on April 21, 2008 at 6:33 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Kathie Gautille.

Members present: Kathie Gautille, President; Bennett Ratliff, Vice President; Cindy Warner, Secretary; Susie Kemp; Scott Orr; David Apple and Anthony Hill. A quorum was present.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Sherrye Dotson; Mechelle Bryson; Jean Boyd; Curriculum Staff; Judy Denman; Kelly Penny; Sid Grant; Chad Branum; Tabitha Branum; Tamerah Ringo; Whitney Neal and Melody Paschall

Notice of this meeting was posted on Friday, April 18, 2008 at 9:40 a.m.

At 6:33 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (personnel matters).

At 7:32 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Open Session.

The invocation was given by Kathie Gautille.

The Board of Trustees recognized the contribution of Richard Lee to the district, and a plaque with a picture of Lee Elementary was presented to him. Cindy Warner made a motion to set aside the name "Richard J. Lee" for future use in naming a facility in Coppell ISD. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0. (ACTION ITEM B on the agenda)

#### **AWARDS**

The following students were recognized for placing at the State DECA competition in Corpus Christi, and have qualified to compete at the International DECA competition in Atlanta:

**Christine Song –** 1<sup>st</sup> Place - Hotel and Lodging Management

**Duy Nguyen –** 1<sup>st</sup> Place – Technical Sales Event

**Blake Duncan** – 1<sup>st</sup> Alternate – Technical Sales Event

**Alicia Rood and Piyanka Patel –** 1<sup>st</sup> Place – Financial Services Management Decision Making Event

**Cody Wenzel and Jeffrey Wade Johnson –** 1<sup>st</sup> Alternate – Financial Services Management Decision Making Event

Rachael Larson and Alyssa Ingrum – 1st Place – Business and Financial Services Research Event

**Andrew Whitthorne and Josh Blankenship –** 1<sup>st</sup> Place – Sports and Entertainment Marketing Team Decision Making Event

**Charles Harvey, Macey Herring, Blake Sjerven, Brandon Van Hoven –** 1<sup>st</sup> Alternates - Sports and Entertainment Marketing Team Decision Making Event

In addition, **Alicia Rood** received a \$1,000 yearly renewable scholarship from Marketing Educators of Texas and a \$500 scholarship from Texas DECA, and was the runner up for the Outstanding Special Achievement Student Best of Texas Award, which is the highest honor a Career and Technology Education student can receive. She was honored at the State Capitol.

The following students received a Gold Seal at the State Visual Arts Scholastic Event and were recognized: Jenny Hyun, Yeelim Park, and Robert Lee

Two students were honored for their accomplishments at the State Business Professionals of America competition - **Peter Chang** and **Krishna Kartik Kalapatapu. Peter** won First Place in the Java Programming category and the Management, Marketing and Human Resource Concepts category. **Kartik** won First Place in the Visual Basic.NET category. These two outstanding students, along with several of their classmates, qualified to compete at the National BPA Competition in Reno, Nevada next month.

Two students from Coppell Middle School West were recognized for their accomplishments at the Exxon Mobil Texas Science and Engineering Fair in San Antonio. **Goutham Kandru** won a Grand Prize in Life Science for his project entitled, "Solar Thermal Energy." **Anand Dharia** won First Place in Environmental Management for his project entitled, "Propeller Efficiency." In addition, both students were nominated for the "Discovery Young Scientist Challenge," meaning that their projects were in the top 10% of the projects displayed at the state fair for their merit.

#### **OPEN FORUM**

Derik Hayenga of the United Educators Association spoke about teacher turnover and salary comparisons.

Tracy Fisher, along with members of the Coppell Gifted Association, presented an award to Todd Kettler for his dedication to the education of gifted students. In the future, the association will select an individual to receive the "Kettler Award" on an annual basis.

#### **BOARD REPORTS**

President Gautille stated that the Coppell Chamber of Commerce presented a plaque to the CISD Board of Trustees in appreciation of their dedication to the children of the Coppell community.

Anthony Hill gave reports on the National School Board Association Conference, the District-wide Educational Improvement Council meeting held in April 2008, and the World Community Grid.

## **SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT**

Tamerah Ringo provided an update on the recommendations identified in the Communication Audit that was conducted in spring of 2007.

## **CONSENT**

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the March 31, 2008 and April 3, 2008 meetings
- 2. Approve 2007-2008 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for March 2008

Cindy Warner seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

## **ACTION**

Item C regarding the Guaranteed Maximum Price proposed by Joe Funk Engineers for Phase Two Bond projects was removed from the agenda and will be addressed at a special Board meeting to be held on Monday, April 28, 2008.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve the renewal of CISD professional contracts as recommended by the Superintendent. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Susie Kemp made a motion to employ professional personnel, subject to assignment, as recommended by the Superintendent. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 8:36 p.m.	
	Kathie Gautille, Board President
	Cindy Warner, Secretary