

RECOGNITION OF STUDENTS, STAFF AND COMMUNITY

POLICY ISSUE/SITUATION

Tonight, the District recognizes the following individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions to the Beaverton School District and the community. The following recognitions is an example of all four Pillars of Learning, WE Collaborate, WE Embrace Equity, WE Expect Excellence and WE Innovate.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

School Board Recognition Month – Anne Bryan, Linda Degman, Susan Greenberg, Jeff Hicks, LeeAnn Larsen, Donna Tyner, Mary VanderWeele

The Beaverton School District is joining the other 196 school districts throughout Oregon in celebrating "School Board Recognition Month" during January. In the Beaverton School District, we are very fortunate to have seven school board members who are committed to helping *every* student reach their full potential; Chair, Mary VanderWeele, Vice Chair, Jeff Hicks, and members Anne Bryan, Linda Degman, Susan Greenberg, LeeAnn Larsen and Donna Tyner do an excellent job of serving the District's students, parents, staff members, and the overall community.

The decisions they face are complex, challenging, and also rewarding. These men and women volunteer countless hours of unpaid time providing the best possible education for more than 39,000 students. Yet school board members are just ordinary citizens with extraordinary dedication to our community's public schools. This month we recognize the vital contributions of these men and women and the crucial role these elected public officials play in the education of our children

In the words of John F. Kennedy, "Let us think of education as the means of developing our greatest abilities, because in each of us there is a private hope and dream which, fulfilled, can be translated into benefit for everyone and greater strength for our nation."

School board members continually put student achievement at the center of what they do and can engage educators as well as community members as they do it, please join me in recognizing the dedication and hard work of <u>all</u> local school board members in preparing today's students for tomorrow's world. Together **WE** are better.

RECOMMENDATION:

We that the School Board recognize Anne Bryan, Linda Degman, Susan Greenberg, Jeff Hicks, LeeAnn Larsen, Donna Tyner, Mary VanderWeele for their dedication and support.