North Slope Borough School District

Chief School Administrator David Vadiveloo



## **RESOLUTION 23-04**

## A RESOLUTION CERTIFYING THE RESULTS OF THE SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL ELECTIONS HELD ON OCTOBER 4, 2022

**WHEREAS**, the School Advisory Council elections of the North Slope Borough School District were held on October 4, 2022, to coincide with Municipal elections; and,

**WHEREAS**, the North Slope Borough School District Board of Education met as the Canvass Board on October 12, 2022.

**NOW, THERFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the School Advisory Council Elections held on October 4, 2022, regarding the election of the following seats were validly held during the municipal elections:

Anaktuvuk Pass	Seat One Seat Two Seat Three	three-year term three-year term one-year term (unexpired)
Atqasuk	Seat One Seat Three Seat Five	three-year term three-year term two-year term
Utqiaġvik	Seat Four Seat Five Seat Seven	three-year term three-year term three-year term
Kaktovik	Seat One Seat Two Seat Four Seat Five	three-year term two-year term (unexpired) three-year term one-year term (unexpired)
Nuiqsut	Seat One	three-year term
Point Hope	Seat One Seat Two	three-year term three-year term
Point Lay	Seat One Seat Four	three-year term three-year term
Wainwright	Seat Two Seat Five	three-year term two-year term

Resolution 23-04 Certification of the School Advisory Council Election Results Page **2** of **7** 

1. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Anaktuvuk Pass School Advisory Council member, Seat One:

ANAKTU	<u>VUK PASS</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Lillian Sto	ne	6 votes (Accepted)
WRITE-IN	<u>N VOTES</u>	29 votes
Declaring <u>Lil</u>	llian Stone	elected to SEAT ONE for a three-year term.

2. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Anaktuvuk Pass School Advisory Council member, Seat Two:

ANA	<u>KTUVUK PASS</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Matt	Regan	5 votes (Accepted)
WRI	<u>FE-IN VOTES</u>	30
Declaring	Matt Regan	elected to SEAT TWO for a three-year term.

3. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Anaktuvuk Pass School Advisory Council member, Seat Three:

ANA	<u>KTUVUK PASS</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Emil	iie Mekiana y Hugo cca Mekiana	5 votes (Declined) 4 votes (Declined) 3 votes (Accepted)
WRI	<u>TE-IN VOTES</u>	22
Declaring	Rebecca Mekiana	elected to SEAT THREE for a one-year term.

4. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Meade River School Advisory Council member, Seat One:

ATQASUK	TOTAL VOTES
monour	TOTAL VOILS

Rodney Lloyd

WRITE-IN VOTES

Declaring <u>Rodney Lloyd</u> elected to SEAT ONE for a three-year term.

5. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Meade River School Advisory Council member, Seat Three:

ATQASUK	TOTAL VOTES
<u>WRITE-IN VOTES</u> Amanda Brower Write-Ins	3 18
Declaring <u>Amanda Brower</u>	elected to SEAT THREE for a three-year term.

6. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Anaktuvuk Pass School Advisory Council member, Seat Five:

ANAKTUVUK PASS	TOTAL VOTES
Molly Ahkivgak	30
WRITE-IN VOTES	1

Declaring <u>Molly Ahkivgak</u> elected to SEAT FIVE for a two-year term.

7. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one of Utqiaġvik's Schools Advisory Council member, Seat Four:

<u>UTQIAĠVIK</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Stacy Bowen	483
WRITE-IN VOTES	20

Declaring <u>Stacy Bowen</u> elected to SEAT FOUR for a three-year term.

8. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one of Utqiaġvik's Schools Advisory Council member, Seat Five:

<u>UTQIAĠVIK</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Sarah Tua'i	465
WRITE-IN VOTES:	30

Declaring <u>Sarah Tua'i</u> elected to SEAT FIVE for a three-year term.

Resolution 23-04 Certification of the School Advisory Council Election Results Page **4** of **7** 

9. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one of Utqiaġvik's Schools Advisory Council member, Seat Seven:

<u>UTQ</u> I	AĠVIK	TOTAL VOTES	
Justin	a Wilhelm	482	
WRIT	TE-IN VOTES:	26	
Declaring	Justina Wilhelm	elected to SEAT SEVEN for a three-year	term.

10. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Kaktovik School Advisory Council member, Seat one:

<u>KAKTOVIK</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Noreen Kaleak	70
WRITE-IN VOTES	1
Declaring <u>Noreen Kaleak</u>	elected to SEAT ONE for a three-year term.

11. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Kaktovik School Advisory Council member, Seat Two:

<u>KAKTOVIK</u>	TOTAL VOTES
<u>WRITE-IN VOTES</u> Tori Sims Annie Tikluk Alicia Solomon Don Kayotuk Frances Mongoyak	4 (accepted) 4 3 3
r randoo mongojak	-

Declaring <u>Tori Sims</u> elected to SEAT TWO for a two-year term.

12. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Kaktovik School Advisory Council member, Seat Four:

<u>KAKTOVIK</u>	TOTAL VOTES
WRITE-IN VOTES	
Melanie Tikluk	3 (accepted)
Alicia Solomon	2 (currently on seat 3)

Declaring <u>Melanie Tikluk</u> elected to SEAT FOUR for a three-year term.

13. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Kaktovik School Advisory Council member, Seat Five:

<u>KAKTOVIK</u>	TOTAL VOTES	
WRITE-IN VOTES Carolyn Kulukon Dorthy Sittichinli Annie Tikluk	3 (declined) 3 (accepted) 2	
Nathan Gordon Jr. Larry Tikluk	2 2	

Declaring <u>Dorthy Sittichinli</u> elected to SEAT FIVE for a one-year term.

14. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Nuiqsut School Advisory Council member, Seat One:

<u>NUIQSUT</u>	TOTAL VOTES
Nellie Kaigelak Maryanna Napageak Roseann Sielak	14 (declined) 5 (accepted) 2
WRITE-IN VOTES	8

Declaring <u>Maryanne Napageak</u> elected to SEAT ONE for a three-year term.

**15.** That the following are the results upon the question of electing one **Point Hope School Advisory Council member, Seat One:** 

POINT HOPE	TOTAL VOTES
Rex Rock Sr.	57
WRITE-IN VOTES	14

Declaring <u>Rex Rock Sr.</u> elected to SEAT ONE for a three-year term.

**16.** That the following are the results upon the question of electing one **Point Hope School Advisory Council member, Seat Three:** 

POINT HOPE	TOTAL VOTES
Rochelle Frankson Alexander Harvey	52 21
WRITE-IN VOTES	2

Resolution 23-04 Certification of the School Advisory Council Election Results Page 6 of 7

Declaring <u>Rochelle Frankson</u> elected to SEAT THREE for a three-year term.\

17. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Point Lay School Advisory Council member, Seat One:

POINT LAY	TOTAL VOTES
Perry Pikok	17
WRITE-IN VOTES	4

Declaring <u>Perry Pikok</u> elected to SEAT ONE for a three-year term.

**18.** That the following are the results upon the question of electing one **Point Lay School Advisory Council member, Seat Four:** 

POINT LAY	TOTAL VOTES
Hubert Long	24

## WRITE-IN VOTES

Declaring <u>Hurbert Long</u> elected to SEAT FOUR for a three-year term.

**19.** That the following are the results upon the question of electing one **Wainwright School Advisory Council member, Seat Two:** 

WAINWRIGHT	TOTAL VOTES
Stella A. Anasogak Joseph I. Ahmaogak	50 22
WRITE-IN VOTES	2

Declaring <u>Stella A. Anasogak</u> elected to SEAT TWO for a three-year term.

20. That the following are the results upon the question of electing one Wainwright School Advisory Council member, Seat Five:

WAINWRIGHT	TOTAL VOTES
Janet Carson	68
WRITE-IN VOTES	4

Declaring <u>Janet Carson</u> elected to SEAT FIVE for a two-year term.

Resolution 23-04 Certification of the School Advisory Council Election Results Page 7 of 7

The North Slope Borough School District is directed to notify the candidates declared elected above and to request each City Clerk in the North Slope villages to administer the appropriate oath of office.

INTRODUCED: \_\_\_\_\_

ADOPTED: \_\_\_\_\_

Board of Education

President, North Slope Borough School District Clerk, North Slope Borough School District Board of Education