# SOUTHEAST ISLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING February 23, 2022

# **MINUTES**

# CALL TO ORDER

Board Clerk Sandy Curtis called the meeting to order at 5:38 PM

### **ROLL CALL**

Sandy Curtis, Molly Kimzey, Tia Nardini, Rebecca Saffold and Student Representative Chloe Vasquez attended via audio/video conference. Shannon Silverthorn was absent.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: Approve the agenda By: Kimzey Second: yes Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0 Board Vote: Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 Resolved: motion carried

# WELCOME TO VISITORS

Board Clerk Sandy Curtis welcomed visitors: Andy Cook, Cassandra Christopherson, Laura Anania, Branzon Anania, Sharlet Collins, Lisa Cates, Julia Trischman, Patrick Trischman, Jay Kohn, Terri Kohn, Matt Gore, Shane Williams, Deidre Jenson, Amy McDonald, Kayley Moen, John Huestis, Elisa Rosier, Andy West, Joanna Schneider, David Schneider, Dawson Schneider, Carlisle Schneider, Matias Canadas, and Eric John.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

None

### APPROVAL OF CONSENT AGENDA

**Motion:** Accept the consent agenda as written [approve 1/5/22 meeting minutes; February 2022 financial report; FY22 classified employment for Amanda Kiely (Greenhouse/Agriculture Program Manager), Kayley Moen (Enrichment Activities Coordinator), Joshua Musser (Maintenance Technician), Damon Holtman (Greenhouse Assistant), Kate Holtman (Greenhouse Assistant), Shane Williams (Greenhouse Assistant); FY23 administrative contracts for Deidre Jenson (Thorne Bay Principal/Student Services Director), William Nixon (Area Principal/Activities Director); FY23 certified contracts for Laura Anania, Lisa Cates, Cassandra Christopherson, Sharlet Collins, Michael Congdon, Anthony Cook, Sonya Cook, Karen Freese, Joel Jenson, Amy McDonald, Donna Nixon, Astrid Richard-Cook, Julie Vasquez, Samuel White; and FY22 extra-duty contracts for Alyssa Howell (COVID Testing Program Coordinator), Julia Trischman (AAATTSA Magnet Program Coordinator)] By: Kimzey Second: yes Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0 Board Vote: Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 Resolved: motion carried

# ADMINISTRATIVE/BOARD REPORTS

Sherry Becker gave the Superintendent's report. Topics included: presentation from Naukati School, School Board Recognition month, current legislation, an exemplary stakeholder recognition ceremony, the Vista volunteer position, the greenhouse/agriculture program manager and enrichment activities coordinator positions, Alaska Microgrant for Food Security awards, staffing, the Report Card to the Public, and the SISD American Rescue Plan Act Mitigation and Prevention Plan.

Department reports in the packet included: Area Principal/State & Federal Programs, Thorne Bay Principal, Student Services, THRIVE Grant/Counseling, Maintenance, Technology, and Child Nutrition Program. Superintendent Becker invited each department to provide additional comments. Deidre Jenson commented on COVID-19, student return to school, student connections, and upcoming District-wide activities. Joanna Schneider commented regarding semester awards ceremony, staff and students of the month, honor roll, sports, Technology Student of the Year, student and parent efforts. Carol Randolph commented regarding testing and assessments. Amy McDonald commented on the THRIVE grant, a possible extension, PHLIGHT Club opportunities, post-secondary trip(s), and cultural responsive training. Branzon Anania commented regarding the Alaska Energy Authority grant award. Matt Gore commented regarding the Alaska Society for Technology in Education (ASTE) conference, Owen Jennings, the high school Student of the Year for Technology, the iDida contest (Meadow Cooke won award her age category). Shane Williams commented regarding the Child Nutrition Program audit and improvements to the meal count system.

Lucienne Smith gave the Business Manager's report. Topics included: second quarter grant reimbursements, standard operating procedures (SOP's) #26 – Volunteers, and #27 – Accounts Receivable and Invoicing, updates to the Fundraising SOP, the FY 2023 budget timeline, and E-rate.

Student Representative Chloe Vasquez thanked Board Member Molly Kimzey for her assistance with Ms. Vasquez's acceptance into the Alaska Youth Civics and Education Summit.

### **BUSINESS ITEMS**

Motion: Accept the SISD American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) Mitigation and Prevention Plan Strategies. By: Kimzey Second: yes Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0 Board Vote: Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Approve the \$2,000 donation to the gentleman [Damon Holtman] for keeping our [Coffman Cove] greenhouse alive. By: Saffold Second: yes Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0 Board Vote: Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Approve the memorandum of agreement with the City of Thorne Bay for the transfer of improvements and personal property items. By: Kimzey Second: yes Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0 Board Vote: Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 Resolved: motion carried

Motion: Approve the request to pursue the acquisition of staff housing units in Thorne Bay By: Kimzey Second: yes Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0 Board Vote: Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 Resolved: motion carried

# ADVANCE PLANNING

The next regular Board meeting will be on March 23, 2022, starting at 5:30 PM. A work session will precede the meeting, starting at 4:30 PM.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

Branzon Anania and Sharlet Collins commented regarding the update to the SISD ARPA Mitigation and Prevention Plan. Deidre Jenson thanked the Board members for their time. Andy West commented regarding issues with the 3-sided building in Kasaan. Mr. Anania responded on the District's intent to look into the matter.

Patrick Trischman thanked the Board members. Lisa Cates thanked Branzon Anania for maintenance efforts.

### **BOARD COMMENT**

None

# ADJOURNMENT Motion: Adjourn the meeting By: Saffold Second: yes Student Representative Vote: Yea: 1; Nay: 0 Board Vote: Yea: 4, Nay: 0, Absent: 1 Resolved: motion carried Time: 6:59 PM Shannon Silverthorn, Board President Date Sandy Curtis, Board Clerk