Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Transforming Arkansas to lead the nation in student-focused education

Jacob Oliva Secretary

Stacy SmithDeputy
Commissioner

State Board of Education

Dr. Sarah MooreStuttgart **Chair**

Kathy Rollins
Springdale
Vice-Chair

Adrienne Woods *Rogers*

Randy Henderson
Blytheville

Lisa Hunter White Hall

Jeff Wood

Ken Bragg Sheridan

Leigh Keener
Little Rock

August 20, 2024

Lance Campbell, Superintendent Prairie Grove School District 102 East Buchanan Street Prairie Grove, AR 72753 via email

RE: Notice of State Board of Education Hearing

Dear Superintendent Campbell,

At the June 13, 2024, State Board of Education meeting, your district's boundary change petition under Arkansas Code § 6-13-1414 was presented. At that time, the State Board tabled resolution of the petition, pending collaboration between the districts on the issue of transportation. The State Board said that it would revisit the petition at its next meeting. At its July 11, 2024, meeting, the State Board heard a progress report from the Department on the status of the districts' resolution and moved to again table the issue pending the districts' collaboration. This matter will be heard at the next State Board meeting. The meeting will be on September 12, 2024, beginning at 9:00 a.m. Please have representatives from your district available to answer any questions the State Board might have.

All items submitted to our office as part of your district's petition have been added to the State Board's agenda. If you have any presentations, materials, or items to present, please email them to our legal office at legal@ade.arkansas.gov before Friday, August 30, 2024. When the agenda item comes up, we will present an extremely brief summary of the request and will introduce whoever is attending from both districts to the State Board. If you have any questions, you are more than welcome to call our office at 501-682-4227.

Sincerely,

/s/ Stephen Reynolds

Stephen M. Reynolds Associate Legal Counsel

Arkansas Department of Education