# Board Recognition May 13, 2025

# Braswell High's Jordan Doty Named 2025 UIL Press Conference Photo Editor of the Year

Braswell High School's Jordan Doty was named the 2025 UIL Press Conference (UIL ILPC) Photo Editor of the Year, earning the top honor among high school photojournalists across the state of Texas.

The UIL ILPC, housed at The University of Texas at Austin, recognizes top-performing student journalists in various editorial and leadership roles each year. The Photo Editor of the Year award highlights individuals who demonstrate technical skill behind the lens and showcase editorial vision and mentorship in their newsrooms.

Jordan, who serves as the lead photographer and photo editor for *The Ambush*, Braswell's yearbook publication, was selected for his exceptional eye for storytelling through photography, consistent leadership, and commitment to journalistic excellence. He also contributes sports photography for *Dave Campbell's Texas Football* and has built a reputation for capturing dynamic, emotionally compelling images on and off the field.

The Braswell High School journalism teacher is Daniel Carr. The principal of Braswell High School is DeCorian Hailey.

#### Ryan High's Kailyn Head Wins Class 5A Title in 100, 300-Meter Hurdles

Ryan High School's Kailyn Head defended her Class 5A state championship in the 300-meter hurdles at the UIL State Track and Field championships on May 3. Kailyn won gold as a junior in 2024, and she claimed the title again this year as a senior, finishing the race in 42.53 seconds.

In addition, Kailyn also won the 5A championship in the 100-meter hurdles. Kailyn clocked a time of 13.60 seconds to win the title, winning the race by one one-hundredth of a second.

Ryan High School track coach Janson Head will be in attendance with Kailyn to receive this recognition. The principal of Ryan High School is Vernon Reeves.

### **Denton ISD Students Receive All-State Honors at VASE Competition**

Twenty-three Denton ISD students received all-state honors in the Visual Arts Scholastic Event (VASE) – an annual competition with nearly 35,000 entries. Academically eligible high school students in grades 9-12 can participate in VASE.

Students create artwork, write about their creative processes and understanding of visual art, and articulate information about their artwork during an interview with a VASE juror, who evaluates their work using a standards-based rubric. To qualify for state, students must attend a regional event and have their original artwork with them at the event.

Jurors then interview students and evaluate the artwork using the aforementioned rubric. Artwork receiving an Exemplary Rating (IV) receives a medallion at the state VASE competition. The state jury panel will then select Gold Seal winners from artwork receiving an Exemplary Writing, and Gold Seal artworks receive a State Gold Seal medallion.

All 23 Denton ISD students earned an Exemplary rating of 4 at state VASE, earning them all-state recognition. In addition, there were only 164 Gold Seal awards statewide, with Denton ISD receiving two.

Denton ISD's 23 all-state VASE students and two Gold Seal award-winners include the following:

# **Guyer High School**

Favour Kalu – All-State, Gold Seal Medallion *Mr. Christian Reid, Teacher* 

Jillian Love – All-State Mr. Christian Reid, Teacher

Harper Robbins – All-State *Mr. Christian Reid, Teacher* 

Christin Park – All-State Ms. Shaye Watson, Teacher

Kayla Ricciardella – All-State Ms. Shaye Watson, Teacher Katelann Anderson – All-State *Mr. Jeremy Sale, Teacher* 

Katherine Soto – All-State *Mr. Jeremy Sale, Teacher* 

Kayla Smith – All-State Ms. Tiffany Fitzsimmons, Teacher

Trinity Mata-speer – All-State *Mr. John Mooney, Teacher* 

Isabella Carreon – All-State Ms. Piper Santillan, Teacher

# **Braswell High School**

Marleigh Jett – All-State Ms. Dashia Richey, Teacher

Alazeih Gomez – All-State Ms. Kiba Jacobson, Teacher

Harmony Hudson – All-State Angie Ford, Teacher

Hallie Hudson – All-State Angie Ford, Teacher

Remi Murphy – All-State Angie Ford, Teacher

Cricket Rickman – All-State Angie Ford, Teacher

Alazjah Tate – All-State Angie Ford, Teacher

# **Ryan High School**

Paola Farinas – All-State Ms. Aimee Foutch, Teacher

Jesus Juarez – All-State Ms. Aimee Foutch, Teacher

Onica Harris – All-State Mr. Jayden Johnson, Teacher

# **Denton High School**

Ella Magee – All-State, Gold Seal Medallion *Mr. James Rosin, Teacher* 

Madline Faulk – All-State Mr. James Rosin, Teacher

Lakelynn Kidd – All-State Ms. Sarah Simmons, Teacher

#### Six Denton ISD Educators Honored for National Board Certification

National Board Certification is the most respected professional certification available in education and provides numerous benefits to teachers, students and schools. It was designed to develop, retain and recognize accomplished teachers and to generate ongoing improvement in schools nationwide.

Established in 1987, the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit organization working to advance accomplished teaching for all students. The founding mission of the National Board is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by:

- Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do:
- Providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards;
- Advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers.

To become a Board-certified teacher, eligible candidates must demonstrate advanced knowledge, skills, and practice in their individual certificate area by completing four components: three portfolio entries and a computer-based assessment.

Throughout the certification process, teachers will be able to apply the National Board Standards to their classroom practice and connect with other teachers pursuing certification.

Currently, Denton ISD has six National Board Certified Teachers, including: Shelley Maxwell, principal of Cross Oaks Elementary; Ashley Horn, fourth-grade teacher at Sandbrock Ranch Elementary; Sarah Overstreet, English as a Second Language (ESL) Specialist st Adkins and E.P. Rayzor Elementary; Kathryn Jones, inclusion teacher at Blanton Elementary; Yvette Walker, journalism teacher at Rodriguez Middle School and Philiana Williams, ESL teacher at Nelson Elementary.

The principal of Sandbrock Ranch Elementary is Claire Springer. The principal of Adkins Elementary is Dedra Adams. The principal of E.P. Rayzor Elementary is Jill Mitchell. The principal of Blanton Elementary is Dr. Landon Turrubiarte. The principal of Rodriguez Middle School is Carly Rogers. The principal of Nelson Elementary is Erika Timmons.

# **Board Spotlight**

#### **Robert Foster Recognized for Work with Students**

Each day, Robert Foster is intentional about getting to know everyone who gets on his bus – fostering meaningful connections with every student he drives to the LaGrone Academy.

Mr. Foster has left such an impression that one of these LaGrone students, Wantan Montgomery, selected Mr. Montgomery as his Educator of Influence. Mr. Foster was recognized for his work several weeks ago at the annual Educator of Influence ceremony, where dozens of Denton ISD educators are celebrated for the work they do positively impacting the lives of students.

The principal of the LaGrone Academy is Marcus Bourland. Denton ISD's Director of Transportation is Dr. Sheryl Alden.