# Minutes State Board Special Meeting February 21, 2024

Present: Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair; Kathy Rollins, Vice-Chair; Ken Bragg; Randy Henderson; Lisa Hunter; Jeff Wood; Capri Salaam, 2023 Arkansas Teacher of the Year; Jacob Olivia, ADE Secretary

Present via ZOOM: Leigh Keener; Adrienne Woods

The Arkansas State Board of Education (State Board) met Wednesday, February 21, 2024. Dr. Sarah Moore called the meeting to order at 2:31 PM.

#### **Action Agenda**

### III.1. Consideration of Request to Approve Emergency Rules Governing the Adult Diploma Program

Item III.1. was presented by Mr. Ross White, Director of Career and Technical Education. Also present was Mr. Andres Rhodes, Chief Legal Counsel.

The Arkansas Department of Education (ADE) requested the State Board to approve the Emergency Rules Governing the Adult Diploma Program.

A motion to approve the Emergency Rules Governing the Adult Diploma Program was made by Mr. Ken Bragg, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed.

### III.2. Consideration of Request to Release for Public Comment: DESE Rules Governing the Adult Diploma Program

Item III.2. was presented by Mr. Andres Rhodes, Chief Legal Counsel.

The Arkansas Department of Education requested the State Board approve the release of the Division of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) Rules Governing Adult Diplomas for public comment.

A motion to release for public comment the DESE Rules Governing the Adult Diploma Program was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.

#### III.3. District Waiver Requests for Alternate School Calendar

Items III.3.a. through Item III.3.dn. were presented by Ms. Stacy Smith, Deputy Commissioner.

- A motion was made to include El Dorado's Alternate School Calendar waiver request (inclement weather waiver) as a school district that has local school board approval to request the waiver. The motion was made by Ms. Lisa Hunter, seconded by Ms. Adrienne Woods. The motion unanimously passed.
- A motion was made to waive Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-10-106(g)(3), for the districts that have local school board approval, as it pertains to the July 1 deadline to notify the ADE of plans to implement an alternate school calendar. The motion was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed.
- A motion was made to waive Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-10-106(g), for districts with local school board approval, as it pertains to the August 1 deadline to post the alternate school calendar on the school district website and any deadlines to input into eSchool, eFinance, or Arkansas Public School Network (APSCN) all relevant data in that time period of July and August. The motion was made by Ms. Kathy Rollins, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.
- A motion was made to waive Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-10-106(g) for districts that have submitted a waiver request, pending local board approval, as it pertains to the July 1 deadline to notify the ADE of plans to implement an alternate school calendar; the August 1 deadline to post the alternate school calendar on the school district website; and the requirements to input into eSchool, eFinance, or APSCN all relevant data in July and August and instead allow the school districts to meet those requirements outside the July and August deadlines. The motion was made by Ms. Lisa Hunter, seconded by Mr. Randy Henderson. The motion unanimously passed.

### III.4. District Waiver Requests for 2024-2025 School Start Date (Approved for one year, pending local board approval)

Items III.4.a. through Item III.4.en. were presented by Ms. Courney Salas-Ford, Chief of Staff.

There were 144 school districts that requested a waiver of Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-10-106 (a)(1)(A), which requires school districts to begin school on or after the Monday of the week in which August 19 falls and no earlier than August 14 or later than August 26.

- A motion to waive for one year Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-10-106 (a)(1)(A), pertaining to the school start date, for districts that have submitted a waiver request was made by Mr. Jeff Wood, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.
- A motion to waive Arkansas Code Annotated § 6-10-106 (a)(1)(A), pertaining to the school start date, for one year for districts that have submitted a waiver request, pending local board approval, was made by Mr. Jeff Wood, seconded by Ms. Lisa Hunter. The motion unanimously passed.

#### **Public Comments**

None

### Adjournment

Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair, adjourned the State Board meeting at 3:33 PM.

Minutes recorded by Angela Scaife.

Jacob Oliva, Secretary Arkansas Department of Education Dr. Sarah Moore, Chair State Board of Education

## District Waiver Requests for Alternate School Calendar (Inclement Weather Waiver Requests)

Alma	Dumas	Lafayette County	Prescott
Arkadelphia	El Dorado	Lavaca	Pulaski County Special
Ashdown	Elkins	Lead Hill	Riverside
Atkins	Emerson-Taylor- Bradley	Little Rock	Riverview
Augusta	Eureka Springs	Magazine	Rogers
Benton	Farmington	Magnet Cove	Rose Bud
Bergman	Fayetteville	Magnolia	Scranton
Berryville	Fordyce	Manila	Searcy
Booneville	Foreman	Mansfield	Searcy County
Brookland	Fort Smith	Marion	Sheridan
Buffalo Island Central	Fouke	Marked Tree	Siloam Springs
Camden-Fairview	Genoa Central	Marmaduke	Sloan Hendrix
Cave City	Gentry	Maynard	Smackover-Norphlet
Charleston	Glen Rose	McCrory	Springdale
Clarendon	Gosnell	McGehee	Stuttgart
Clarksville	Gravette	Melbourne	Valley Springs
Cleveland County	Greene County Tech	Midland	Valley View
Clinton	Greenwood	Monticello	Van Buren
Concord	Gurdon	Mt. Vernon-Enola	Waldron
Conway	Hampton	Nemo Vista	Warren
Corning	Harrisburg	North Little Rock	West Fork
Cotter	Harrison	Pangburn	Westside Consolidated
Cross County	Hazen	Paragould	White County Central
Danville	Hermitage	Paris	White Hall
Dardanelle	Hope	Parkers Chapel	Wonderview
Dermott	Huntsville	Piggott	Woodlawn
Des Arc	Jacksonville-North Pulaski	Pine Bluff	Yellville-Summitt
DeWitt	Jasper	Pocahontas	
Dover	Jonesboro	Pottsville	
Drew Central	KIPP Delta	Prairie Grove	

### **District School Start Date Waiver Requests**

Δ.	D 0 1 1	KIDD D. II	
Alma	Drew Central	KIPP Delta	Poyen
Alpena	Dumas	Kirby	Prescott
Arkadelphia	East End	Lake Hamilton	Rector
Augusta	East Poinsett County	Lakeside (Chicot County)	Riverside
Bald Knob	El Dorado	Lakeside (Garland County)	Riverview
Bay	Elkins	Lamar	Rogers
Bearden	Emerson-Taylor- Bradley	Lawrence County	Rose Bud
Beebe	England	Lead Hill	Scranton
Bentonville	Eureka Springs	Lincoln	Searcy
Bergman	Farmington	Lonoke	Searcy County
Berryville	Fordyce	Magazine	Sheridan
Bismarck	Fountain Lake	Magnet Cove	Siloam Springs
Blevins	Gentry	Malvern	Sloan-Hendrix
Booneville	Glen Rose	Mansfield	Smackover Norphlet
Bradford	Gravette	Marmaduke	South Conway County
Buffalo Island Central	Green Forrest	Maynard	South Pike County
Caddo Hills	Greene County Tech	McCrory	Springdale
Camden Fairview	Greenbrier	McGehee	Star City
Carlisle	Greenland	Mena	Strong Huttig
Cedarville	Greenwood	Monticello	Stuttgart
Centerpoint	Gurdon	Mountainburg	Trumann
Charleston	Hackett	Mt. Vernon-Enola	Valley Springs
Clarksville	Hampton	Mulberry/Pleasant View	Valley View
Cleveland County	Harmony Grove	Nevada	Waldron
Clinton	Harrisburg	Newport	Warren
Corning	Harrison	Ouachita	West Fork
County Line	Haskell-Harmony Grove	Ozark	Westside (Johnson County)
Crossett	Hazen	Ozark Mountain	Westside Consolidated
Cutter Morning Star	Hector	Palestine-Wheatley	White County Central
Danville	Hermitage	Pangburn	White Hall
Decatur	Horatio	Paragould	Woodlawn
De Queen	Hoxie	Paris	Wynne
Dermott	Huntsville	Parkers Chapel	Yellville-Summit
Des Arc	Jackson County	Pea Ridge	
Dewitt	Jasper	Piggot	
Dierks	Jessieville	Pocahontas	
Dover	Junction City	Pottsville	