## MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

## April 18, 2013

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session April 18, 2013 in the Bluebonnet Room of the Matthews Student Center. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

## Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President
Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary
Maria Elena Lara
Victor Lopez
Tony T. Moreno, and
Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., President of the College.

The minutes of the March 21, 2013 meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board.

Board President Rodolfo R. Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Dr. Hector Gonzales, Joe Barker, Dr. Blaine Bennett, Willie Edwards, Barbara Blair, Anne Tarski, Oscar S. Garcia, Reagan King, Margot Mata, Xaviera Haynes, Dr. Mark Underwood, Ismael Martinez, Derek Sandoval, Terri Tucker, Dick Whipple, Dr. Cheryl Sanchez and Karen Baen. Also in attendance were Thomas Ferrell from Ferrell/Brown-Architects, Dr. Paul Sorrels from SR-RGC, Polly Lopez, PTK students Yvonne M. Allen, Anisah Hindocha, George Melchor, Jr., Sunjin P. Contreras and from the Uvalde Leader News staff Jessica Magnus.

## Audience to Patrons - None

A Del Rio Project Update report was given by Thomas Ferrell from Ferrell/Brown-Architects.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the financial statement as of March 31, 2013 as presented by Anne Tarski, Associate Vice-President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the Catalog changes. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

The item on the TASB 28 update was tabled.

The item on general liability insurance was tabled.

After convening in open session, Board President Rodolfo R. Flores called the board into executive session at 7:25 p.m. to consider personnel matters.

Upon returning to open session at 7:50 p.m.:

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford in the re-employment of faculty recommended by the Administration. Motion carried unanimously. The recommendation is attached.

A motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to appoint Dr. Cheryl Sanchez as the Dean of College of Liberal Arts as recommended by the Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy of the recommendation is attached.

President's Report given by President-Elect Dr. Hector Gonzales.

There were no Del Rio Change Orders to report.

A report on PTK was given by Barbara Blair and PTK members.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously at 8:02 p.m.

	Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board
Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the B	Board

Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., Witness