## Recognition Board of Trustee Meeting December 14, 2021

## College Board recognizes 192 students as AP Scholars

The College Board honored 192 Denton ISD high school students with distinctions for 2021, according to their annual list of recipients who are named Advanced Placement Scholars.

The national program recognizes individuals who have demonstrated college-level achievement through exceptional scores in AP courses and on AP exams. Students are awarded based on four levels including: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar.

Students receive an award certificate from The College Board and although there is no monetary award, this achievement is acknowledged on any score report that is sent to colleges.

#### **AP Scholars**

Students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams.

Braswell High: Sophie Alexander, Zorah Archie-Winston, Taylor Bell, Eowyn Dautrich, Kimberley Davis, Devin Decker, Nathan Dellinger, Tyler Hartwell, Ethan Isaacs, Sadie Johnson, Lillian Kalmbach, Logan McGregor, Paola Mendoza, David Muniz, Megan Nelson, Caden Page, Taya Svec, Caitlin Vessel, Vicky Vo

Denton High: Hannah Lee, Sergio Martinez-Gauna, Corina Pavelek, Ashryn Pinkston, Sabella Smith, Alexa Hall, Dalya Kinsizer, Aiden Lambrecht, Dylan Maynard, Jamie Ordonez, Soren Sharp, Gia Suo-Anttila

Guyer High: Berkay Caliskan, Grace Campbell, McKenzie Dixon, Luke Foreman, Wesley Geldersma, Matthew Spivey, Lauren True, Sydney Wall, Purvi Weerasinghe, Allie Wilson, Sara Alvarez, Maylani Birckbichler, Allison Bruce, Catherine Burke, James Cash, Allison Cevallos, Parker Dunagan, Zoie Eserman, Dirk Falkenhagen, Gabriel Gandaria-Sanchez, Alexandra Gilmore, Alexandria Gilmore, Manav Hedge, Olivia Hodgson, Sarah Jenkins, Taylor Lafe, Claire Laffoon, Jacob Laramore, Luiz Felipe Magalhaes Solia, Sean McDonald, Vanessa Moyo, Aristophanes Papanikolaou, Ryley Patten, Oskar Raplinger, Andrew Rhoads, Nicholas Salazar, Gabriella Smith, Claire Sopiarz, Agata Surma, Jake Troy, Hannah von Suskil, Olivia Watson, Andrew Webb, Ryan Weklar, Jackson Williams, Kayla Williams, Ethan Woodman, Diego Yanes

Ryan High: Jonah Armintor, Shepard Fosdyke-Jacks, Ian Beck, Leiam Allan Detorio, Samantha Enriquez-Duarte, Kathryn Krueger, Olivia Ortery, Saffat Reza, Willem Bannick, Valeria Barbosa, Riley Briggs, Hannah Bush, Joshua Ennis, Jacob Gallagher, Gabriel Lira, Brea Ruyle, Genevieve Terrell, Garrett Watson, Katlyn Woods

#### **AP Scholars with Honors**

Students who earn an average score 3.25 on all AP exams taken and score of 3 or higher on four or more exams.

Braswell High: Chase Buerger, Sydney Hammond, Paola Mendoza, Kylie Skipper

Denton High: Declan Ayre, Mary Buchanan, Alizeh Mubarak, Marco Illari, Austin Meeker

<u>Guyer High:</u> Nathaniel Blomber, Caroline Christiansen, Acadia Fitzpatrick, Carter Howard, Lauren McGrew, Brendan Rieder, Eden Shamy, Hannah von Suskil

## Ryan High: Luis Robles-Barbosa, Elaine Brank

#### **AP Scholars with Distinction**

Students who earn an average score 3.5 on all AP exams taken and score of 3 or higher on five or more exams.

Braswell High: Braiden Bollack, McKenna Martino

Denton High: Joseph Gonzalez

<u>Guyer High:</u> Akintomiwa Akinniyi, Madison Baer, Christopher Balarezo, Sebastian Bourbon, Caroline Bowen, Adeline Cason, Piper Cummings, Dylan Davies, Joseph Hwang, Ethan Jones, Ah-young Kim, Abby Luna, Alexander Marshall, Julia Quigley, Isabella Rohlik, Siddhartha Shah, Aaron Taylor, Jackson Williams, Joyce Hu, Christian Luevano, Erica Peterson, Eta-Maru Tako

Ryan High: Georgia Fuchs, Izabella Grimaldo, Hannah Williams, Gabriel Morgan

\*AP Scholars from Guyer and Ryan High schools will be recognized during the Dec. 14 school board meeting. Braswell and Denton High school AP Scholars will be honored in Jan. 11.

### **Community Spotlight**

Each year the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) honors businesses and organizations for their support and exceptional advocacy of local schools. This state-wide honor, as part of "Stand Up for Texas Public Schools," recognizes local businesses and community organizations who partner with districts, making a difference in the lives of local public-school students.

This past year, Michael and Ellen Enad, who are local folk artisans crafted thousands of masks and donated them to our school children. Early in the COVID-19 pandemic, shortages of personal protective equipment (PPE) and other supplies, was problematic especially for young children.

Concerned for the health and wellness of our students, Mr. and Mrs. Enad went to work and ultimately manufactured and delivered more than 20,000 handmade facial coverings for students of Denton ISD.

In addition to directly supporting us, they mentor students at Alexander Elementary through Retired Seniors Volunteer Program (RSVP) working to help student boost academic achievement.

*Mr.* and *Mrs.* Enad will be on hand for us to extend our gratitude on behalf of the district.

# **Board Spotlight**

Fred Moore High School was established in 1992 as high school to serve students who are in need of flexibility. The school offers the same high educational standards and graduate diploma options that are available at Denton ISD's traditional high schools, but in a smaller, more personalized setting.

As we prepare for another FMHS commencement ceremony, we wanted to share the story of our students and how the school is setting our graduates up for success.

Dr. Fred Younkman is the principal of Fred Moore High School.