Albert Lea Area Schools Albert Lea Minnesota SPECIAL SCHOOL BOARD MEETING 5:00 PM, January 6, 2025 Brookside Education Center

Members Present: Kim Nelson, Gary Schindler, Angie Hoffman, Neal Skaar, Mary Jo Dorman,

Dave Klatt, and Davy Villarreal. Administrator Present: None

Community/Staff Attendance: 27 members present.

Swearing in of a new board membe rMary Jo Dorman and two returning board members, Angie Hoffman and Neal Skaar.

Schindler/Skaar to approve the agenda by adding 7.1 Upcoming MSBA Conference. Motion carried 7-0

Villarreal motioned for the nomination of Dave Klatt as School Board Chair, Skaar motioned for the nomination of Gary Schindler as School Board Chair. Schindler appreciated the nomination but respectfully declined the nomination for School Board Chair. Paper ballot was taken. In favor of Dave Klatt as School Board Chair: Villarreal, Nelson, Hoffman, Dorman, Skaar, Schindler, and Klatt. A motion was carried out for Dave Klatt to be the school board chair.

Hoffman motioned for the nomination of Mary Jo Dorman as School Board Vice-Chair. Nelson motioned for the nomination of Gary Schindler as School Board Vice-Chair. Schindler appreciated the nomination but respectfully declined the nomination for School Board Vice-Chair. Paper ballot was taken. In favor of Mary Jo Dorman as School Board Vice-Chair: Villarreal, Nelson, Hoffman, Dorman, Skaar, Schindler, and Klatt. A motion was carried out for Mary Jo Dorman to be the School Board Vice-Chair.

Dorman motioned for the nomination of Angie Hoffman as School Board Clerk, in favor of Angie Hoffman as School Board Clerk: Villarreal, Nelson, Hoffman, Dorman, Skaar, Schindler, and Klatt. Motion carried 7-0

Hoffman motioned for the nomination of Gary Schindler as School Board Treasurer. In favor: Villarreal, Nelson, Hoffman, Dorman, Skaar, Schindler, and Klatt. Motion carried 7-0

Board members assigned to Standing Committee Assignments, Representatives to Board, Agencies, and Committees as discussed. Schindler/Villarreal to approve Standing Committee Assignments, Representatives to Board, Agencies, and Committees as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

Skaar/Hoffman to approve agenda items 6.1- 6.8 as presented.

Name CCF Bank, Home Federal Savings Bank, Associated Bank and Trust, Minnesota Bank, and Trust as depositories for school district funds.

Name Minnesota Trust as Joint Powers Investment Trusts and MidAmerica Investment Trust. Designate Paul Durbahn, Executive Director of Finance, Operations and Safety, to serve as Deputy Board Treasurer, and Darci Rasmussen, Executive Assistant to the Office of the Superintendent/School Board, shall serve as Deputy Board Clerk pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 123B.14.

Authorize Acting Superintendent, and Paul Durbahn, Executive Director of Finance, Operations and Safety, to lease, purchase, and contract for goods and services within the budget as approved by the board, provided that any transaction in an amount exceeding the amount for which bids are required, must be authorized by the Board and fulfill other applicable requirements pursuant to Minnesota Statutes governing municipal contracting.

Designate Sheila Riebe as School District Special Education, Federal Programs, and ESEA authority.

Delegate Paul Durbahn, Executive Director of Finance, Operations and Safety, and Kaley Grisim, Business Services Coordinator/Controller, and others as assigned under the direction of Paul Durbahn, the authority to make electronic transfers with the appropriate documentation, including written confirmation from the financial institution and proper request and approval form for the transfer, to be retained by the Executive Director of Finance, Operations, and Safety.

Designate the Albert Lea Tribune as the District's official newspaper. Motion carried 7-0

Plans to attend the MSBA Leadership Conference were discussed. This year's MSBA Leadership Conference will be held from January 16-17, 2025.

Villarreal/Skaar motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried 7-0.

Meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.	
	Chair
	Clerk