MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

February 19, 2015

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session February 19, 2015 in the Matthews Student Center – Blue Bonnet Room. The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice-President Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the January 15, 2015 regular board meeting were read and approved as presented by Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Joe Barker, Anne Tarski, Ismael Martinez, Dr. Mark Underwood, Margot Mata, Jesus J. Martinez, Jr., Gilbert S. Bermea, Teresa Zamarripa, James R. Armstrong, Jr., Andy Davila, Johnny Guzman, Jack Lampe and Karen Baen. Also in attendance from the Uvalde Leader News was Kim Eagle.

Audience to Patrons: None

Reports:

- A. Enrollment Spring 2015 update as presented by Margot Mata
 - a. Contact hours up 4.3% Semester Credit hours 9.0%
- B. Law Enforcement Academy update as presented by Robert Armstrong
 - a. 100% Pass Rate since 2008
- C. Utility Savings Report as presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales

President's Report had several items, which also included the following:

- A. Legislative report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales
- B. CCATT report presented by Maria Elena Lara and Anne Tarski on the 5 Point Campaign

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the financial statement as of January 31, 2015. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to name the Crystal City Library in honor of Victor Lopez. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Anita Shackelford to name the Crystal City Campus in honor of Dr. Antonio Rivera. Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara on approving the Del Rio Early College High School MOU as presented by Dr. Mark Underwood. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the Physical Facilities Master Plan as presented by Joe Barker. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Victor Lopez to move the SWTJC Board of Trustees March regular meeting to Thursday, March 26th. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to authorize the President to enter into a contract for the purchase of electricity. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

The item for Eagle Pass Technical Campus construction bids was tabled.

A motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve College Policy EEA (Local). Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the board into executive session at 8:10 p.m. to discuss personnel matters:

- A) Vice-President's contracts
- B) Associate Vice-President's contracts
- C) Employees: Terminated / Resigned / Retired / New Hires / Transfers

At 8:30 p.m. the SWTJC Board reconvened in regular session.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to extend the Vice-President's contract for an additional 1 year to expire August 31, 2018 except Joe Barker's contract which he has asked not to be extended. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Dr. Harry O. Watkins and seconded by Victor Lopez to re-title the positions of the Associate Vice-Presidents of Eagle Pass and Del Rio to Vice-President of Eagle Pass and Vice-President of Del Rio. Therefore, extending their contracts for an additional 2 years to expire August 31, 2018. Motion carried unanimously.

With no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 8:32 p.m.

a, Secretary of the Board
i, secretary of the Board