DRAFT

Minutes of the June 21, 2010 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on June 21, 2010 at 6:31 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Cindy Warner.

Members present: Cindy Warner, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; David Apple, Secretary, Susie Kemp; Scott Orr; Bennett Ratliff and Thom Hulme. A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on Friday, June 18, 2010 at 3:25 p.m.

At 6:32 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Warner declared the Board in Open Session at 7:30 p.m.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff Turner, Kay Ryon, Melody Paschall, Sid Grant, Kelly Penny, Tamerah Ringo, Tracey Wallace, Brad Hunt, Tabitha Branum, Debbie Fruithandler, and Curriculum Staff

The invocation was given by David Apple.

AWARDS

Outstanding State Band Soloists – Kayla Boyer, Arnold Hechanova (not present), Mitchell McBrayer, Eric Piontek, Matt Shaw (not present), and Krish Suresh

Outstanding State Choir Soloists – Kristy Liang and Hilary Taylor

Texas Association of School Librarians (TASL) Administrator of the Year – Melody Paschall, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction

Texas National Distinguished Principal – Bryan McLain, Denton Creek Elementary

Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Media Honor Roll – Jane Moore, Citizens' Advocate

OPEN FORUM

The following individuals addressed the Board during the Open Forum portion of the meeting:

Brian Bloss – Travel policy and CHS Speech & Debate Team
Candy Sheehan – Renaming Mockingbird Elementary to honor Bruce MacDonald
Peggy Taylor – Renaming Mockingbird Elementary to honor Bruce MacDonald
Chris Choate – Renaming Mockingbird Elementary to honor Bruce MacDonald

Chris Braun – Coppell Lacrosse Association's team use of Buddy Echols Stadium Dale Hruby – Coppell Lacrosse Association's team use of Buddy Echols Stadium Amy Kryzak – Renaming Mockingbird Elementary to honor Bruce MacDonald Martin Dungan – Renaming Mockingbird Elementary to honor Bruce MacDonald

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS:

BOARD PRESIDENT

Cindy Warner – TASB Summer Leadership Institute, Committee Assignments and Campus Adoptions

BOARD REPORTS

Anthony Hill - NTAASB

REPORT FROM DIRECTOR OF ASSESSMENT

Rhonda Carr gave reports on the following items:
April 2010 TAKS results for Grades 3-10 & Exit
Update on TAKS results for Grades 5 & 8 – Reading & Math
Projected State Accountability for District
Impact of Texas Projection Measure (TPM) on accountability ratings

CONSENT

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the May 24, 2010 and June 7, 2010 meetings
- 2. Approve 2009-2010 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for May 2010
- 4. Approve Investment Report for period ending May 31, 2010
- 5. Approve Resolution Amending Authorized Representatives for the Texas Local Government Investment Pool (TexPool/Texpool *Prime*)
- 6. Consider approving the purchase of two mini vans for Community Pathways Program
- 7. Approve renewal of Lease Agreement between St. Ann Catholic Parish and Coppell ISD for the purpose of New Tech High @ Coppell student parking during the 2010-2011 school year

Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

Anthony Hill made a motion as follows:

"I move that the Board adopt a tax rate of \$1.17 for the amount of taxes needed to fund maintenance and operation expenditures for the next year. I move that the Board adopt a tax rate of \$.2542 for the amount of taxes needed to service the District's debt. I move that the property tax rate be increased by the adoption of a tax rate of \$1.4242, which is effectively a 16.3 percent increase in the tax rate, and that the accompanying Resolution setting the tax rate, which Resolution is already before the Board in written form, be passed, adopted and ordained by the Board of Trustees." Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to adopt a Resolution to set the time, date, and location of a Public Budget Hearing to be held at 6:00 p.m. on July 26, 2010 in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas 75019, and authorizes the publication of this information. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to adopt the Notice and Order calling a Tax Ratification Election on September 11, 2010, as presented. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve revisions to Board Policy EIC (Local): Academic Achievement – Class Ranking as presented with changes to the Reporting Period section to state that "Weighted academic class rank for the top 10% shall be determined and reported to students at the end of the fall semester of the sophomore year, and at the end of every semester thereafter." Also, that staff be directed to review and revise the Honor Graduates section of the local policy. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. Bennett Ratliff then amended his motion to state that the policy will be effective on August 23, 2010. Thom Hulme seconded the amended motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to accept the new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to accept all resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 9:38 p.m.	
	Cindy Warner, Board President
	David Apple, Secretary