ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING July 21, 2014

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, July 21, 2014, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Steve Bartley, Bobby J Rigues, Hoyt Harris and Dr. David Tillman.

AGENDA

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 7:08 P.M.

President Jay Stringer determined a quorum was present at this time.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags.

A moment of silent prayer or reflection was observed.

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, reported on several District events including the Region XI Teacher of the Year ceremony to be held on July 31 and Mrs. Anita Callaway will be representing our District. Dr. Citty also reported that the McAnally construction was 95% completed and will be finished for the start of the school year.

Mrs. Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Mr. Hoyt Harris, presented commendations to the Girls Softball State Champions and the Boys Baseball State Champions.

President Jay Stringer proposed a Board calendar for 2014-15 and told the Board to review and bring back any suggestions in August.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment and there were none.

A motion was made by Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve the June 16 and 30, 2014 Minutes and the Monthly Financial Report on the Consent Agenda as presented by administration.

Motion was:

5 0

AGAINST

President Jay Stringer introduced administrative report items:

- ~ Parent/Teacher Surveys Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, presented the results of the survey for the 2013-14 school year.
- ~Budget Update Earl Husfeld, CFO, reported on the budget development calendar, the 2014-15 general fund budget projections/assumptions, and the debt service funds budget history/projections.
- ~Bearcat Academy Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, presented an overview of the Bearcat Academy program that will be comprised of approximately 30 members who will meet monthly to learn about various divisions and functions of the District.

A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Mr. Steve Bartley, to approve the 2014-15 Student Code of Conduct as presented by administration.

Motion was:

5 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Mr. Bobby Rigues, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve Board Policy AE (LOCAL) as presented by administration.

Motion was:

FOR

5

AGAINST

A motion was madministration.	nade by M	Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Mr. Hoyt Harris, to approve Board Policy BBG (LOCAL) as presented by
Motion was:	5	FOR
	0	AGAINST
A motion was made by Dr. David Tillman, seconded by Mr. Bobby Rigues, to delay action on Board Policies DCB (LOCAL) and CKE (LOCAL) until Update 100 is available next month as presented by administration. Motion was: 5 FOR		
	0	AGAINST
A motion was n administration.	nade by l	Mr. Steve Bartley, seconded by Mr. Hoyt Harris, to approve Board Policy DC (LOCAL) as presented by
Motion was:	4	FOR
	1	AGAINST (Mr. Bobby Rigues)
A motion was madministration.	nade by N	Mr. Hoyt Harris, seconded by Mr. Bobby Rigues, to approve Board Policy FNF (LOCAL) as presented by
Motion was:	5	FOR
	0	AGAINST
A motion was madministration. Motion was:	nade by N	Mr. Bobby Rigues, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve Board Policy EIE (LOCAL) as presented by FOR
	0	AGAINST
At 8:49 P.M., the Board was called into executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Code Sections 551.074, 551.076 and 551.071to discuss personnel, real property and safety and security.		
The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer at 10:14 P.M. with no action taken.		
A motion was made by Mr. Hoyt Harris, seconded by Dr. David Tillman, to approve Ms. Jennifer Hoover as the Assistant Principal at Coder Elementary as presented by administration. Motion was: 5 FOR		
	0	AGAINST
Trustee Comments/Acknowledgements – The Board thanked everyone and said it was a great meeting.		
President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 10:16 P.M.		
SECRETARY		ZPRESIDENT
APPRO		APPROVED, 2014.