

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: February 11, 2014

TITLE: Recognition of Circle K Teacher of the Year Finalists

BACKGROUND:

The Governing Board is pleased to recognize two teachers who are finalists for a prestigious award. The Arizona Athletics/Circle K Outstanding High School Faculty Award program is in its 20th year of selecting and honoring teachers who make a profound difference in students' lives.

Nominees are judged on: Teaching preparation and experience Leadership ability Participation in co-curricular or extracurricular activities involving students Innovation or unique teaching practices Evidence of successful teaching Recognition by colleagues Community Involvement

Finalists receive recognition at a home University of Arizona basketball game, a class ring, and are the guests of honor at a banquet on campus. The winner also receives a cash award for the classroom.

We are proud to have two of the nine finalists. Don Dickinson is an Economics and History teacher at Ironwood Ridge High School. Jennifer Atteberry-Pierpont is an Early Childhood educator and Director of the Canyon del Oro Preschool.

RECOMMENDATION:

This is presented for the Governing Board's information and recognition.

INITIATED BY:

Traina Lelan

Marhal Bejaro Michael Bejarano, Executive Director of Secondary Education 6-12

Date: February 4, 2014

trick nelson

Monica Nelson, Associate Superintendent

Patrick Nelson, Superintendent

02/06/14 12:10 PM