MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JANUARY 12, 2009

The Wylie Independent School District's Board PLEDGE AND of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, INVOCATION January 12, 2009, at 7:00 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Steve Keenum. Board members present were: Terry Merck, Steve Keenum, Ray Templeton, Becky Rentz Darrell Moore, Don Poindexter and Jeff Rogers. School personnel present were: Joey Light, Nadine Davis, Craig Bessent, Tony Spradlin, Shauni Vaughn, Cynde Wadley, Brad McVay, Debbie Lambert, Nick Pruitt, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy. Guests present were:Candy Reagan - Wylie Weekly, Priscilla Luong - KTAB-TV, and Jordan Ray - KTXS-TV. SPECIAL Mr. Light presented each board member a PRESENTATION certificate of appreciation in honor of School Board Recognition Month. The minutes of the December 8, 2008 meeting MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETINGS were read. They were approved as presented. APPROVED CONSENT AGENDA A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Jeff Rogers. The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against. Other items which were discussed but no DISCUSSION ITEMS action taken by the Board included:

action taken by the Board included: principal's reports on campus activities, construction update, school board planning session-February 2009, and 2009-10 school calendar update. SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JANUARY 12, 2009 PAGE TWO

EXECUTIVE SESSION The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:45 P.M. to 8:43 P.M. to discuss the superintendent's evaluation and contract.

PERSONNELA motion was made by Steve Keenum toRECOMMENDATIONextend Joey Light's contract through June 30,
2012. Terry Merck seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL There being no further business to discuss, ADJOURNMENT a motion was made by Steve Keenum and seconded by Don Poindexter to adjourn. Official time was 8:45 P.M.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

Date

President

Secretary