1029

Regular Board Meeting Minutes August 21, 2017

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Joanna Horton at 7:00 pm.

Board members present:	Joanna Horton, Jeremy Hatcher, Melissa Schick, Brian Fraser, Nancy Duggan, Chris Taliaferro
Board members absent:	Joy Williams
Administrators attending:	James Sanders, Chad Collins, Cindy Wiedemann, Gail Crow, Jeff Cleveland, Kandy Shirey, Grant Miller, Christian Reed, Heather Jestis

The board of trustees recognized the Scurry-Rosser Archery team.

Taliaferro made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (6-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the 2017 Certified Tax Roll as presented. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (6-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve All Matters Incident and Related to Setting the 2017 Property Tax Rate, Including the Adoption of an Order Setting Such Tax Rate at a \$1.33 designated as follows: \$1.17 and \$0.16 cents for Debt Service. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (6-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve the 2017-2018 list of Certified Appraisers and the Appraisal Calendar. Schick seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (6-0)

Taliaferro made a motion to approve the 2017-2018 Student Code of Conduct. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (6-0)

Hatcher made a motion to allow the district to continue the Investment Grade Audit with Schneider Electric and proceed to the Design Development Phase. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried 4-2. For: Horton, Hatcher, Duggan, Taliaferro **Opposed**: Schick, Fraser

Hatcher made a motion to approve the DAEP renewal with Mabank ISD for the 2017-2018 school year. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (6-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the 2017-2018 Safety and Health Committee (SHAC) appointments as recommended. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (6-0)

Hatcher made a motion to cancel the regularly scheduled September Board Meeting. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. 6-0)

Cindy Wiedemann, chief financial officer, and James Sanders, superintendent, discussed the information items with the board of trustees.

Cindy Wiedemann discussed the various donations the district has received and Heather Jestis, special education director, reviewed the Child Find information and the TELPAS report with the board.

No executive session.

Adjourn – 8:00 pm

Joanna Horton, Board President

Melissa Schick, Board Secretary