DRAFT

Minutes of the June 21, 2021 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on June 21, 2021, at 6:00 p.m. at the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Manish Sethi, Secretary; David Caviness; Anthony Hill; Tracy Fisher and Dr. Neena Biswas.

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on June 17, 2021, at 3:00 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Diana Sircar; Angela Brown; Kristen Streeter; Dr. Kristin Petrunin, Dr. Deana Dynis; Dr. Anita De La Isla; Mary Kemper; Amanda Simpson and James Hollaway; Dr. Angie Applegate and Adam Bennett

DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

Superintendent Hunt provided the following District Highlights in Coppell ISD:

- Congratulations CISD Retirees
- Coppell High School and New Tech High @Coppell Graduates
- CHS Alumna Chiaka Ogbogu named to USA Olympic volleyball team
- Cowboys Baseball Team State Playoff Run

AWARDS

- Girls Wrestling succeeds at State
- CHS Senior Zach Vazhekatt wins Texas Science and Engineering Fair

Tracy Fisher gave the Invocation and led the Pledge.

OPEN FORUM

The public was provided the opportunity to address the board in Open Forum either remotely or in person. No one spoke in Open Forum.

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - SUPERINTENDENT

Dr. Deana Dynis (Executive Director for Teaching & Learning), Dr. Anita De La Isla (Director of Language & Literacy), Mary Kemper (Director of Mathematics) and Dr.

DRAFT

Kristin Petrunin (Coordinator of CTE Programs) provided an update on Student Experience and Reading Academies.

Kristen Streeter (Assistant Superintendent for Administrative Services) and Kelly Mires (Executive Director for Human Resources) provided a Human Resources update.

CONSENT

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on May 24, 2021; and Board workshop held on June 7, 2021
- 2. Approve monthly June 2021 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for May 2021
- 4. Approve Investment Report for period ending May 31, 2021
- 5. Approve Memorandum of Understanding between Coppell ISD and the Coppell ISD Education Foundation

David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

ACTION

Manish Sethi made a motion to add, revise or delete (LOCAL) policies as recommended by the TASB Policy Services and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 117. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

A motion was made by David Caviness and seconded by Anthony Hill to approve the recommended pay increases as presented. (This is 2% raise of mid/control point for 187-day employees including teachers and nurses who will receive a \$1,400 increase. Librarians on a 197-day contract will receive a pro-rated increase beginning teacher pay for 187 contracts will be \$56,500 for 2021-2022. Additional compensation may be considered upon the availability of ESSER funding.) The motion carried 7-0.

Nichole Bentley nominated Manish Sethi to serve as an official voting delegate to the 2021-2022 TASB Delegate Assembly. Tracy Fisher seconded the nomination. The Board voted 7-0 in favor of the nomination.

Nichole Bentley nominated Neena Biswas to serve as alternate delegate to the 2021-2022 TASB Delegate Assembly. Tracy Fisher seconded the nomination. The Board voted 7-0 in favor of the nomination.

Nichole Bentley motioned to postpone indefinitely nominating a candidate for the Region 10, Position A, seat on the TASB Board. David Caviness seconded the motion. The Board voted 7-0 in favor of the motion.

DRAFT

DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS - BOARD OF TRUSTEES

- Board Workshop Recap Nichole Bentley
- National School Board Association (NSBA) Advocacy Institute, Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Summer Leadership Institute and Legislative Update – Tracy Fisher
- Coppell Chamber Education Committee and North Texas Area Association of School Boards (NTAASB) – Anthony Hill

At 8:23 p.m., President Bentley declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 8:54 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 8:54 n m

Leigh Walker made a motion to adjourn the meeting. David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 0.04 p	5.111.
	Nichole Bentley, Board President
	Manish Sethi, Secretary