## Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, April 22, 2008

(Official Presentation made at Board Reception - 6 p.m. at the Professional Development Center)

## **DENTON ISD**

## Jostens - Teachers of the Year Announced

Members of the Teachers Communications Committee of the Denton Independent School District have named 28 outstanding educators as Jostens Teachers of the Year. Jostens was added to the name of the award, Jostens' Teachers of the Year, because company officials wanted to honor all the schools' Teachers of the Year by donating a gold ring to each honoree, a project valued at more than \$20,000.

In 2004, the company designed the special Teacher of the Year ring for Denton ISD's top educators. The project is now a tradition for the company and district staff.

Another company, San Bay Studios, has created a special T-shirt to give to all the Teachers of the Year.

The elementary teachers of the year include: Borman: Michelle Trietsch, fourth-grade teacher; **Evers:** Angela Cope, fourth-grade teacher; Ginnings: Carrie Layton, fourth-grade teacher; Hawk: Paulette Layfield, physical education teacher; Hodge: Marcella Butler, Reading Recovery teacher; Houston: Anita Reeves, physical education teacher; Lee: Janie Phillips, third-grade teacher; McNair: Cindy Greer, special education teacher; Nelson: Katie Brown, first-grade teacher; Paloma Creek: Mark Moseley, fourth-grade teacher; Pecan Creek: Natalie Mead, fourth-grade teacher; **Providence:** Kim Kirkland, fifth-grade teacher; E.P. Rayzor: Heather White, art teacher; **N. Rayzor:** Debbie Naylor, fifth-grade teacher; Rivera: Angie Feldman, fifth-grade teacher; W.S. Ryan: Elisha Bomar, second-grade teacher; Savannah: Cyndi Morgan, kindergarten teacher; Wilson: Felicita (Jenny) Aloyo, first-grade teacher; Ann Windle School for Young Children: Erika Zellers, Pre-k teacher

The secondary teachers of the year include: Calhoun: Stacy Archer, Resource language arts teacher; Crownover: Danna Taylor, eighth-grade business education teacher; McMath: Mary Helen Schlesinger, eighth-grade teacher; Navo: Rebecca Baker, sixth-grade reading teacher; Strickland: Rene Thompson, special education teacher;Denton High: William Slade, ESL teacher;Guyer High: Doug Woods, Print librarian;Ryan High: Shanna Hardesty, high school math teacher;J.D. Sparks: Jennifer Wyman, social studies teacher.

The Denton ISD Elementary Teacher of the Year and the Secondary Teacher of the Year will be announced at the April  $22^{nd}$  Board of Trustees meeting. These two teachers will represent the school district at the Region XI Teacher of the Year competition, where they will compete with outstanding teachers from more than 60 school districts.