MINUTES OF THE REGULAR SCHOOL BOARD MEETING MARCH 8, 2010

Como-Pickton School Board met in regular session with the following members present: Shawn Carpenter, Gerald Walters, Beth Hankins, Greg Anglin, and Jim Murray. Michael Mund and Tom Hendricks were absent.

Dustin Carr led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mrs. Billodeau commended Dustin Carr and Laura Mitchell for their quick response to a student medical emergency.

Motion by Beth Hankins, seconded by Jim Murray, to approve the minutes of the February board meetings as presented. The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Gerald Walters, seconded by Greg Anglin, to approve the 2010-2011 school calendar as presented. The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Jim Murray, seconded by Gerald Walters, to approve TASB Localized Policy Update 87 as presented. The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Jim Murray, seconded by Greg Anglin, to pay the bills as presented. The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Beth Hankins, seconded by Jim Murray, to nominate Cindy Roller from Sulphur Springs Daily News Telegram, and Bobby McDonald from frontporchnewstexas.com for the TASB media honor roll. The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Shawn Carpenter, seconded by Beth Hankins, to authorize a joint election and agreement with the City of Como for joint election services. The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Shawn Carpenter, seconded by Greg Anglin, to appoint Patsy Walters as election judge, Rhonda Carroll as alternate judge, and Lenise Boseman, Brenda Mowat, and Nancy Rowell as early voting clerks for the May 8 school board election. The motion carried 5-0.

Business and financial reports were reviewed.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORTS

- 1. Mrs. Billodeau informed the board of the need to add a fourth grade teacher and a third grade bilingual teacher for the 2010-2011 school year.
- 2. The professional development day missed on February 12 will not have to be made up.
- 3. April 8 is the Northeast Texas School Board dinner.
- 4. Texas Public School Week Activities Jr. High and High School reception March 11, Elementary parents lunch with students March 12.

5. A report was given on the WADA transaction.

The board entered into closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, at 7:38 p.m.

The open meeting reconvened at 8:33 p.m.

Motion by Beth Hankins, seconded by Jim Murray, to employ the following classroom teachers and other non-administrative professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent for the 2010-2011 school year:

Teachers:

Anderson, Shelly Askins, Sheila Bain, Karmon Barron, Michelle Bates, Mark Biggerstaff, Julie Blanchard, Angela Bland, Conley (part-time) Bowen, Michael Butts, Tim Carr, Dustin Chance, Kay Clemens, Katy Cox, Loretta (part-time) Daugherty, Dustee Davidson, Aimee Glasscock, Tony Green, Angela Green, Virginia Grimes, Angela Hatley, Jeny Hayes, Karey Hollingsworth, Debra Hoekstra, Jeltje Horne, Mallory Humphrey, Jamie Humphrey, Kathryn Keith, Jana Lane, Kara Lohn, Marie Low, Jodi Lynn, Amy Mays, Bobby Martin, Jacquelyn (half-time) Marts, Karen McCain, Brandi Mejia, Lidia Melton, Kortney Miller, Lisa Monk, Saundea Moody, Cecile Moody, Roy Morris, Terry Mowat, Frances Neal, Amy Nolen, Kari O'Brien, Sharon O'Bryan, Dusty Pegues, Jessica Phillips, Amy Pike, Terri Rankin, Linda Powell, Shannon Reed, Darla Reese, Patricia (part-time) Roller, Greg Sickles, Tracy Sims, Joel Silva, Sandra Singleton, Christi Snyder, Robert Tanton, Amy Wallis, Aletha Weir, Julie Williams, Cydney Willis, Holly Wofford, Jeremy Yarbrough, Stacie Yates, James

Librarians:

Powers, Marilyn Roberts, Kimberly

ESL, Curriculum, Testing:

Grubbs, Barbara

Counselors:

Bult, Laurie Evans, Patsy (half-time)

Diagnostician:

Sellers, Trish

Speech Therapist:

Sherrie Tate

The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Beth Hankins, seconded by Greg Anglin, to employ the following non-professional, paraprofessional, and auxiliary personnel as recommended by the Superintendent for the 2010-2011 school year:

Nurse:

Laura Mitchell

Business Manager:

Lenise Boseman (half-time)

Tax Collector/PEIMS/Accounts Payable:

Brenda Mowat

Clerical:

Baxter, Julie Carpenter, Danetta Jacks, Karla McCord, Gina Monk, Phyllis Porter, Marcie

Rowell, Nancy

Technology:

Darby, Carolyn Garrett, Meg McLemore, Melinda

Cafeteria:

Mobley, Carolyn (Manager) Hernandez, Imelda Hightower, Rhonda Hill, Tammy Miller, Nola Miramontes, Marie

Niblett, Margaret Tompkins, Virginia

Maintenance/Custodians:

Bradford, Newman (Supervisor) Aguayo, Rebeca Biggerstaff, Jim Fisher, Justin Gross, Mary Katherine Horton, Mary Matthews, Mark Niblett, Lonnie (part-time) O'Shield, Retha Preciado, Cristina Stegall, Brian Tully, Danny

Underwood, Jesse

Bus Driver:

Martinez, Bonnie

Instructional Aides:

Brewer, Shona Bergeron, Gloria Cockrum, Chelsea Gallo, Cindy Hodges, Glynda Hood, Lisa Hutson, Toni Jackson, Marsha Johnson, Terri Knickerbocker, Sherrie Lawrence, Jann Maksoud, William Martin, Lillian Pulido, Cintia Ramsey, Tiffany Rowell, Paige Smith, Michelle Smith, Susan Swanson, Terri Tarrant, Ashley Williams, Donna

The motion carried 5-0.

Motion by Jim Murray, seconded by Greg Anglin, to adjourn at 8:35 p.m. The motion carried 5-0.