BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING FEBRUARY 11, 2013

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, February 11, 2013, at 6:30 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Don Poindexter.

Board members present were: Darrell Moore, Steve Keenum, Terry Merck, Don Poindexter and Mark McClellan. Stephen Lowry and Jeff Rogers were absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Tony Spradlin, Craig Bessent, Brad McVay, Tommy Vaughn, Shauni Vaughn, Phil Boone, Nick Pruitt, Mike Kerley, Kim McMillan, Robin McPherson, Lisa Salmon, Terry Hagler, Rob Goodenough, Mitch Davis, Debbie Lambert, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present were: See sign-in sheet.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the January 14, 2013 meeting were read. They were approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

CALL SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION & APPROVE CONTRACT WITH TAYLOR COUNTY CITY OF ABILENE

Steve Keenum made a motion to call the school board election on May 11, 2013 and approve the contract with Taylor County Elections Office and City of Abilene to **ELECTIONS OFFICE &** conduct joint election. Three places will up for election: Place #1 be Poindexter, Place #2- Terry Merck, and Place #3 - Darrell Moore. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but action taken by the Board included: principal's reports on campus activities and enrollment, Board planning session-February 21, 2013, 2013-14 school calendar update,

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES FEBRUARY 11, 2013 PAGE TWO

March School Board Meeting, Title IV Safe & Drug Free School Compliance report, and construction update.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:05 P.M. to 7:45 P.M. to discuss personnel recommendations and administrator's evaluations.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATION

Steve Keenum made a motion to employ Martha Michalewicz on a teacher contract for the remainder for the 2012-13 school year; subject to assignment. Darrell seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

ADMINISTRATORS CONTRACTS

Mark McClellan made a motion to extend the contracts of Craig Bessent, Carol Smith, Brad McVay, Tony Spradlin, Hugh Sandifer, Terry Hagler, Lisa Salmon, Tommy Vaughn, Paul Jensen, Mitch Davis, Mike Kerley, Rob Goodenough, Kim McMillan, Robin McPherson, Phil Boone, and Shauni Vaughn, until June 30, 2015 as recommended by the superintendent. Don Poindexter seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 4 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, motion was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Steve Keenum to adjourn. Official time was 7:46 P.M.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

D 2 + 0			

Date

President

Secretary