Texas Military Heroes Day Resolution

WHEREAS, freedom is the cornerstone upon which the Texas experience is founded; and

WHEREAS, each year, educators teach the names of famous men whose unyielding desire for freedom and liberty gave them the strength to sacrifice everything on behalf of Texas: the brave settlers in Gonzales who refused to return their cannon to the Mexican army, Travis, Bowie, Crockett, and the courageous defenders of the Alamo; Fannin and his massacred men at Goliad; Houston and the victors at San Jacinto. Their independent spirit and unwavering dedication - to each other and the land they loved so dearly - forged a Texan brand of freedom immortalized in the hearts and minds of all who call this state home; and

WHEREAS, the state should honor all who have sacrificed and served on behalf of the Lone Star State. No matter the battle, no matter the branch, no matter the job – they deserve our gratitude and reverence; and

WHEREAS, to educate students about the sacrifices made by brave Texans who have served in the armed forces of the United States, the governor shall designate a day to honor military heroes of the state in public schools; and

WHEREAS, this day shall include appropriate instruction, as determined by each district, including information about persons who have served in the armed forces of the United States and are from the community or the geographic area in which the district is located, and participation, in person or using technology, in age-appropriate learning projects at battlefields and gravesites associated with a person who has served in the armed forces; and

WHEREAS, the Lamar CISD Board of Trustees will encourage all Texans to recognize and honor those who have secured our freedom throughout the generations and those who are defending it still;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Trustees of the Lamar Consolidated Independent School District declares February 2, 2025, as **Texas Military Heroes Day** and encourages all members of our staff and community to recognize this event.

Adopted this 21st day of January 2025.

Zach Lambert, President	
•	
Jon Welch, Secretary	