Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, Jan. 23, 2007

HAWKEYE READING CONTEST WINNERS

The late Mildred McCauley Hawk was an extremely well-known Denton resident and literacy advocate, whose mission was to help others - especially young people. In fact, her mission statement was "We're here to help others." One of her great joys was helping elementary students with their reading skills.

During the 1999-2000 school year, she established the Hawkeye Reading Contest for third-grade students. It greatly helped the Denton ISD Keys to Literacy program.

Prior to her death in 2004, Mrs. Hawk donated \$50,000 to the Denton Public School Foundation to provide adequate funds to make this important literacy program an annual event.

The third-grade students with the most Accelerated Reader or Reading Counts points during the established dates placed in the contest. Each winning student is given the following monetary award:

3rd

- 1st place award of \$25 and a 1st place trophy
 2nd place award of \$15 and a 2nd place trophy
 3rd place award of \$10 and a 3rd place trophy

The winners of the contest are:

The winners of the contest Borman	t are: 1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Edali Salazar Sydnie Martin Val Trayler
Evers	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Sharon Omondi Allie Forbes Tristan Irvin
Ginnings	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Samuel McClanahan Logan Altes Baylee King
Hawk	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Joshua Erickson Harrison Barrett Julianna Wilson
Hodge	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Matthew Passey Dustin Haire Luis Lopez
Houston	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Emily Hu Kristin Williamson AJ Gerdes
Lee	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Noel Caballero Sydney Collier Javier Tafolla
McNair	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Kyle Thompson Mason Alexander Drake Bigrigg
Pecan Creek	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Jeremiah Bennett Nicholas Lohr Chandler Cockrell

Providence	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Cole Greene Emma Kidd Maddie Miller
E.P. Rayzor	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Joshua Kasitz Cailyn Spicer Saul Ramirez
N. Rayzor	1 st 2 nd 2 nd	Sarah Holdeman Annie Heffley Carter Owen
Rivera	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Hagar Hudspeth Nathyn Crawford Rachel How
Ryan	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Austin Stolle Kirin McMilllin Victoria Dailey
Savannah	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Alex Bedoya Cassidy Voorhees Aubrey Shaw
Wilson	1 st 2 nd 3 rd	Garrison Reeves Susana Espinoza George Elliot

These school winners participated in the district-wide contest. The Hawkeye Reader winners for the Denton Independent School District will be announced at the meeting. The district winners will receive:

First place: \$125 Second place: \$75 Third place: \$50

Tanya McGlothlin, coordinator of elementary language arts for third through fifth grade, Happy Carrico, executive director of curriculum, instruction and staff development; and other members of the curriculum staff will make the presentations.