School Board Minutes INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT 191 October 8, 2020

The meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by Chair Alt at 6:30 p.m. The meeting took place in person at Diamondhead Education Center, 200 West Burnsville Parkway, Burnsville, MN and via electronic means pursuant to Minnesota Statute 13.D.021.

Call to Order

Members present: Chester, Hume, Miller, Schatz, Currier, Holweger, and Chair Alt. Others in attendance were Superintendent Battle, Student Representative Addisu, administrators, staff and members of the public.

Attendance

Alt welcomed the audience and asked Holweger to lead the Pledge of Allegiance.

Pledge of Allegiance

Moved by Schatz, seconded by Hume, to approve the agenda. A roll call vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously (7,0 with Alt, Chester, Currier, Holweger, Hume, Miller and Schatz voting in favor and none voting against).

Agenda

Received an update from Dr. Theresa Battle, superintendent, Imina Oftedahl, director of curriculum, instruction and assessment, and Stephanie White, director of student support services about District 191's efforts to implement COVID-19 related educational and public health guidance issued by the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) and the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH), respectively.

Reports

Received a report about COVID Funding Update from Lisa Rider, executive director of business services.

Received a verbal report from Student Representative Addisu.

Received a verbal report from Dr. Theresa Battle, superintendent.

Holweger announced her resignation from the Board of Education effective at the close of the meeting. Hume, Schatz, Chester, Currier, Miller, Dr. Battle and Chair Alt shared comments.

Moved by Chester, seconded by Currier, to approve the consent agenda: -Approve minutes of the regular board meeting on September 24, 2020. -Approve personnel recommendations for Andrew Tofte, Holly Beerling, Kalie Curshing, Katie Grunderstrom, Kellie Soronen, Linda Hey, Michelle Baumann, Mikayla Davis, Nathan Anderson, Steven Omodt, Tara Hagen, Abby Ertl, Kyle Hinrichsen, Angela Gislason, Fernetta Cotton, Hafsa Hassan, Laura Burley, Zeynah Abdulrazak, Hafsa Hassan, Megan Bergstrom, Elizabeth Vervais, Bridget Serig, Isabella Williams, and Makana Wiescamp.

Consent Agenda Minutes Personnel -Adopt a resolution to approve and accept donations as presented. -Approve the school bus stops at which school bus drivers shall not activate the eight-way flashing red signals and authorize the Director of Transportation to modify the list as necessary as school bus routes are modified.

Donations Bus Stops

-Approve, on a second reading basis, changes to Policy 532: *Use of Peace Officers and Crisis Teams to Remove Students with IEPs From School Grounds*; New Policies 511: *Student Fundraising* and 905: *Advertising*; and non-substantive changes to Policy 706: *Acceptance of Gifts*. A roll call vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously (7,0 with Chester, Currier, Holweger, Hume, Miller, Schatz, and Alt voting in favor and none voting against).

Policies

Moved by Schatz, seconded by Miller, to adopt the formal resolution awarding the sale of General Obligation Alternative Facilities Refunding Bonds, Series 2020A, fixing their form and specifications, directing their execution, delivery, and registration, and providing for their payment, and providing for the redemption of bonds refunded.

A roll call vote was taken and the motion carried unanimously (7,0 with Currier, Holweger, Hume, Miller, Schatz, Alt and Chester voting in favor and none voting against).

The meeting adjourned to a workshop about Board Planning at 8:04 p.m. The workshop adjourned at 8:50 p.m.

Adjourn to a workshop

DeeDee Currier, clerk

October 22, 2020

Date Approved