April Recognitions -- 5:00 PM Meeting

April Employees of the Month

SCHOOL	Employee	
Carver	Becky Finn	
ECEC	Anna Taylor	
Joyner	Cathryn Richey	
	Sherry Gravatt	
	Marilyn Morrison	
Lawhon	Sandi Erb	
Lawndale	Kathy Palmer	
	Tamla Ezell	
	Crystal Grimes	
Milam	Chasity Tate	
	Amy Wade	
Parkway	Veronica Lopez	
	Melissa Coleman	
Pierce	Sheila Kelly	
Rankin	Marrion Winders	
Thomas	Leigh Ann Henderson	
	Annette Fells	
TMS	Teri Watson	
	Marianna Coffey	
	Samuel Ford	
	Roy Barnett	
THS	Tim Wiggington	

District III 2015 DECA Advisor of the Year and the 2015 Career Technical

Education New Teacher of the Year for the State of Mississippi

THS teacher Brookes Prince

THS DECA State Winners

CJ Williams and Neely Brown both received scholarships.

1st Place winners:

Neely Brown - Automotive Services Marketing Anna John Hand and Natalie Sowers - Buying and Merchandising Team Paige Cox and Wesley Rogers - Marketing Communications Bess Buskirk - Professional Selling

2nd Place Winners:

CJ Williams - Apparel & Accessories Marketing
Ellen McGregor - Marketing Management
Elizabeth Wyatt - Quick Serve Restaurant Management
Camille Bauer - Restaurant & Food Service Mgt
Peyton Johnson & Megan Ware - Hospitality Services Team

3rd Place Winners:

Tamara Vance - Principles of Business Administration Jacob Manley - Sports & Entertainment Marketing

5th Place Winners:

Meredith Friloux - Principles of Business Administration

6th Place Winners:

Jena Bryd & Sammie Harrison - Sports & Entertainment Marketing Team

Lindy Calhan Scholar Athlete Award

Christina Daniels

THS State Championship Bowling Team

Cody Chambers

Clayton Horton

Jake Houston

Jay Henderson

Josh Henderson

Eli McCaleb

Drew Turberville

Josh Turberville

Coaches Guy McCoy and David Clayton

THS Synergy SYNERGY 2014-2015

Director – Danielle Frerer

Hallie Andrews

Emma Bethay

Michaela Bryan

Avery Burks

Haley Cook

Kaylin Costello

Susannah Eidt

Taylor Fikes

Mary Graham

Katie Harness

Chandler Head

Katherine Holliman

Molly Homan

Shania Jones

Morgan King

Avery Claire Littleton

Anna Miller

Jillian Mitchell

Malorie Payne

Avery Ray

Reagan Ray

Brandi Reynolds

Larkin Robbins

Jaden Ruff

Madi Tasma

Steviana Thomas

Caroline Thompson

Karmen Tubbs

Tyla Tubbs

Sierra Wilbanks

Chandler Beth Winter

Hannah Wright

STRUCTURE CREW

Reed Goodson- Sax

Brianna Newby

Noah Hunt-Bass

Georgia McGee

Aaron Jenkins- Drums/Percussion

Levi Ray- Guitar

Gum Tree Writing Winners

	Logan Gray	Parkway
3 rd	Caroline Buse	Parkway
2 nd	Addison Franks	Parkway
		Parkway
		Lawhon
3rd	Andrew Keen	Parkway
1 st	Olivia Kate Mims	Rankin
2 nd	Caden Hodges	Rankin
2 nd	Johnny Evans	Rankin
⊿ St	Sadia Baid	Milam
		Milam
		TMS
		TMS
3	Alyssa bionawn	I IVIS
1 st	Taylor Hughes	TMS
3 rd	Zykeria Fair	TMS
1 St	Emma Gousset	THS
2 nd	Paul Saval	THS
2 nd	Katherine Holliman	THS
2 nd	Lee Holman	THS
2 nd	Corey Kalish	THS
	2 nd 1 st 2 nd 1 st 3 rd 1 st 3 rd 1 st 2 nd	3rd 2ndCaroline Buse Addison Franks1st 2ndBeckley Topp Rebecca Johnston3rdAndrew Keen1st 2ndOlivia Kate Mims Caden Hodges2nd 2ndJohnny Evans1st 2nd 2nd 3nd 4nd

Narrative			
K	1 st	Jake Moore	Joyner
	2 nd	Isaiah Barbour	Thomas
	3 rd	Mitchell Rhea	Carver
1 st Grade	1 st	Addison Franks	Parkway

	2 nd	Marlie Judd	Joyner
2 nd Grade	1 st	Cami Britton	Parkway
	2 nd	Shelby Burke	Parkway
5 th Grade	1 st	Crosby Clayton	Lawhon
	3 rd	Kelly Coggin	Rankin
6 th Grade	1 st	Jordyn Smith	Milam
7 th Grade	1 st	Erin Matthews	TMS
	2 nd	Trevor Hart	TMS
8 th Grade	1 st	Leland Counce	TMS
9 th Grade	1 st	Karan Devould	THS
10 th Grade	2 nd	Abbey Edmonson	THS
	3 rd	Cooper Moore	THS
11 th Grade	1 st	Meagan Boozer	THS
	3 rd	Anna Claire Lothrop	THS
12 th Grade	3rd	Karmen Tubbs	THS

Leadership Enterprise for a Diverse America Scholar

Caitlin Gardner – THS 11th grade student

All-State Honor Choir

Milam: Ashton Collins, Elana Dearing, Paleif Raspberry

Pierce St.: Mary Katherine Arthur

Lawndale: Kensley McFarling

Music Specialists: Susan Hogue - Pierce St.

Michele Kushla – Milam Celia House - Lawndale

2015 MSPA Awards

Advisors: Yearbook- Shari Chumbly; Newspaper- Ginny Miller; and Broadcast Journalism - Braden Bishop

The Tupelo High School Journalism Department won 62 awards at the Mississippi Scholastic Press Association's state convention. Ginny Miller was named Newspaper Advisor of the Year and Braden Bishop was named Broadcaster of the Year. THS senior Benton Barber was named Broadcast Editor of the Year.

Album Individual Awards: (graduating class in parenthesis)

Macon Murff: 1st Place Student Life Photography

Sarah Lambert Hollingsworth: 3rd Place Academic Photography

Macon Murff: 2nd Place Photo Illustration Macon Murff: 1st place Student Life Reporting Shelby Price: 3rd Place Student Life Reporting Yasmine Young: 2nd Place Sports Reporting

Alexis Knowles: 3rd Place Graphic/Art

Sara Austin Owen: 3rd Place Graphic Package

Laine Mansour & Macon Murff: 3rd Place Spread Design

Kalyn Lake: 1st and 2nd Place Senior Ad Design

Hi-Times Individual Awards:

Morgan Southworth: 3rd Place News Writing Achintya Prasad: 1st Place Opinion Writing Shawanda Jones: 3rd Place Sports Writing Jeremy Hinds: 2nd Place Sports Photos Emily Wright: 3rd Place News/Feature Photos Delaney Norton: 3rd Place Advertising Design Ginny Miller: Newspaper Adviser of the Year

Hi-Times Carry In Awards:

Morgan Southworth: 2nd Place Advertising Black and White

Hi-Times Staff: 2nd Place Best In Show

Hi-Times Staff: 2nd Place Newspaper Front Page Design Delaney Norton: 2nd Place Newspaper Inside Page Design

Jace Mauldin (Album Staff Member): 1st Place Newspaper Web Banner Design

WTHS Individual Awards:

Benton Barber: Broadcast Editor of the Year Zach Ellis & Bryce Hunt: 2nd Place News Package

William Ikerd & Kelsey Brownlee: 1st Place Sports Package Lauren Losordo & Carson Roberts: 1st Place Feature Package

Benton Barber: 1st Place Creative Package

Noel Morgan, Benton Barber & Keaton Halbert: 1st Place Documentary

T. Braden Bishop: Broadcast Adviser of the Year

WTHS Carry In Awards:

Abbey Edmonson & Mary Clair Kelly: 1st Place Broadcast Anchor Reel Drew Hurst & Max Lawson: 2nd Place Broadcast Anchor Reel Jack Rogers & Woody Goss: 3rd Place Broadcast Anchor Reel Benton Barber: 1st and 3rd place Broadcast Creative Package Jacob Manley & CJ Williams: 2nd Place Broadcast Feature Package Katie Darnell & Katie Taylor: 1st Place Broadcast News Package Danielle Sharp & Quintera Berry: 2nd Place Broadcast News Package Woody Goss & Carson Roberts: 1st Place Broadcast Sports Package CJ Williams & Jacob Manley 3rd Place Broadcast Sports Package

TSA Competition Winners

1st Place Tournament Champions – TSA VEX Robotics

Sajan Zaver Cortevious Shields Dilan Patel

1st Place TSA Computer Aided Design Architecture

Ty Garner

Vocational Early Childhood Education State Winners (Natasha Richey)

Junior Illustrated Talk -1st place Elizabeth Hale, Nina Young, & Tayveon Dancer Senior Illustrated Talk-1st place Shania Hughes, Nyketra Beeks, & Kennedy Armstrong Senior Focus on Children- 1st place Precious Pickens, Alexus Beene & Sakidra Hamilton

Senior Career Investigation-1st place Makenzie Gates Senior Life Event Planning- 3rd place Claudia Segura, Rakiah Grays & Jeaneane Ismail

Barnes and Nobel's "My Favorite Teacher" Award

TMS teacher Teresa Bernauer and TMS student Sara Mahmound

Business Partners

Donna Loden – Farm to School

Brent Waldrop - BancorpSouth