REGULAR BOARD MEETING

APRIL 24, 2017

The Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, April 24, 2017 at the Celina Independent School District Administration Offices at 205 S Colorado, Celina, TX 75009 in Room 4 and the Board Room.

At 6:15 PM Kelly Juergens called the dinner session to order. Agenda items were discussed. Mr. DeMasters talked with the board about establishing a budget committee. Caroline Austin discussed the TASB Policy Review she is conducting with Mr. Mathews for the district. Bids for the high school construction was discussed. Mr. DeMasters suggested dates for the Team of 8 Training.

At 6:58 PM Kelly Juergens closed the dinner session.

At 7:01 PM Board President Kelly Juergens called the regular meeting of the Celina Independent School District's Board of Trustees to order in the Board Room of the CISD Administration Offices. Tracey Balsamo lead the pledge and Brooks Barr gave the invocation.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Choc Christopher, Jeff Gravley, Chuck Hansen, Kelly Juergens, Todd Snyder, Tracey Balsamo and Brooks Barr.

MEMBERS ABSENT: None.

SCHOOL OFFICIALS & VISITORS PRESENT: Rick DeMasters, Starlynn Wells, Lori Sitzes, Bill Hemby, John Mathews, Nancy Alvarez, Starla Martin, Sara Arrington, Stacy Ceci, Kaylyn Reedy, Kim Kincaid, Russell McDaniel, Misti Warrick, Dave Wilson, Lori Gibbs, students and family members for the Superintendent Award Winners, and Lana Brooks.

OPEN FORUM: Suzanne D'Amico addressed the board concerning the fact the Art Club students were not going to be able to wear their cords for graduation since they were not registered because of an oversight on the sponsors part.

CONSENT/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS.

Todd Snyder moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve the minutes of the March 20, 2017 Regular Board Meeting along with the Monthly Cash Distributions/Cash Balance/Investment Report and Budget Amendments. Motion Carried 7-0.

INFORMATION/CONFIRMATION AGENDA ITEMS:

The campus principals introduced the spring Superintendent Award winners:

Elementary: Pre-K – Anashe Vito Arlex Gutierrez

1st Grade – Addilyn Paulson Ethan Snyder

Middle School: 5th Grade – Grayson Buchanan Blakelon Paterson

High School: 10th Grade – Alyson Cave Cooper Buchanan Intermediate: 3rd Grade – Rachel Kissinger Landon Aubuchon

Junior High: 7th Grade – Jenna Carroll Brady Cunningham

9th Grade – Hannah Thompson Gage Gibbs

Mark Rauzi and Jack Ream gave the board an update on the new elementary school.

Brian Grubbs with SAMCO gave the board an update on Bond Analysis.

Mark Rauzi and Jack Ream gave the board an update on O'Dell Elementary construction.

ACTION/BRIEFING AGENDA ITEMS:

Jeff Gravley moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve the GMP for the High School addition. Motion Carried 7-0.

Todd Snyder moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve Policy AF (LOCAL) regarding DOI status. Motion Carried 7-0.

Brooks Barr moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve the Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS Certification for the 2017-2018 school year. Motion Carried 7-0.

Jeff Gravley moved and Todd Snyder seconded the motion to approve the Resolution to Extend Bank Depository Contract for the 2017-2019 Biennial. Motion Carried 7-0.

After some discussion a motion was made by Choc Christopher and seconded by Brooks Barr to approve the technology bid for O'Dell Elementary in the amount of \$225,184.95. Motion Carried 7-0.

At 8:24 PM Kelly Juergens recessed the open session and convened the Board in closed session, pursuant to Texas Government code, Chapter 551, including, but not limited to Section 551.074 – Personnel.

A. Personnel

- **1. Professional Contracts**
- 2. Professional Personnel

At 10:10 PM Kelly Juergens recessed the closed session and reconvened in open session to vote on matters considered in closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, to take action necessary regarding personnel.

ACTION TAKEN ON ITEMS IN CLOSED SESSION:

Todd Snyder moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve Benjamin Aune as the new band director and Vanessa Hurturo-Jaramillo as the new bi-lingual teacher at the elementary level as recommended by the Superintendent. Motion Carried 7-0.

Todd Snyder moved and Brooks Barr seconded the motion to approve the contract renewal as recommended by the Superintendent for Elementary professional staff. Motion Carried 7-0.

Brooks Barr moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve the contract renewal as recommended by the Superintendent for Intermediate professional staff. Motion Carried 6-0-1 with Chuck Hansen abstaining.

Jeff Gravley moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to approve the contract renewal as recommended by the Superintendent for Middle School professional staff. Motion Carried 7-0.

Jeff Gravley moved and Chuck Hansen seconded the motion to approve the contract renewal as recommended by the Superintendent for Junior High professional staff. Motion Carried 6-0-1 with Brooks Barr abstaining.

Todd Snyder moved and Jeff Gravley seconded the motion to approve the contract renewal as recommended by the Superintendent for High School professional staff. Motion Carried 6-0-1 with Choc Christopher abstaining.

ADJOURNMENT:

Chuck Hansen moved and Tracey Balsamo seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:13 PM.

Kelly Juergens, President

Todd Snyder, Secretary