

Board of Education 7 Regular Meeting Thursday, April 17, 2025 at 7:00 p.m. - Boardroom

MINUTES

OLD BOARD

I. ROLL CALL/QUORUM/PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

President Petrella called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and he directed the board clerk to call the roll. Upon roll call the following members answered present: Woods, Cox, Miljkovic, Petrella, Papadopoulos, and Botello.

Absent members: Fletcher-Gomez.

Also present were: Dr. John Corbett, Superintendent; Dr. Joe Bailey, Business Manager; Ms. Cristina Montano, Board Clerk; Dr. Joe Krause, Principal; Dr. Theresa Ulrich, Principal; Mr. Alan Buttimer, Principal; Mrs. Melissa Favata, Principal, Ms. Christine Lucero-Bahr, Ms. Jessica Snyder, Mr. Gus Gonzalez, Supervisor of Buildings & Grounds, Dr. Shannon Dudek, Mr. Christopher Blomquist, and community members.

II. NOTICES AND COMMUNICATIONS

- Freedom of Information (FOIA) Request The Board received two FOIA requests this month from: 1) David Arvayo
 Painters District Council No. 30 Purchase invoices for any recent paint purchases made by the school district to
 maintain or improve school district buildings or facilities. A list of school district staff, if any, who worked on related
 projects conforming to the criteria of this FOIA request. and 2) From ACB requesting actual electronic data
 maintained by the district's Treasurer for the annual expenses paid to identified vendors, firms, and individuals for the
 numerous fiscal years. The requests were responded to within the required timeline.
- <u>Recognition of Retiring Board Members</u> Mr. Joe Petrella and Mr. Todd Cox were recognized for their many years of service on the Board of Education. Dr. Corbett provided a summary of the accomplishments of each of these board members while on the board. Mr. Petrella and Mr. Cox were each presented with a plaque commemorating their years of service.

III. PUBLIC COMMENT

There were no public comments from the audience.

IV. APPROVAL OF CONSENT AGENDA INCLUDING MINUTES, FINANCIAL REPORTS AND PERSONNEL REPORT

- 1. Approved Regular Meeting Minutes March 20, 2025
- 2. Approved Closed Session Minutes for March 20, 2025
- 3. Approved Treasurer's Report for March 2025
- 4. Approved Budget Status Report for March 2025
- 5. Approved Payroll for March 2025 and bills for April 2025 as summarized herein:

Payroll	3/25	\$ 845,609.84
Bills Payable	4/25	<u>\$ 822,764.40</u>
Totals		\$1,668,374.24

- 6. Approved Personnel Report for the month of April, 2025
 - a. <u>Employment</u> ratified the employment of Jose Beltran Delgado, Custodian @ OB; Elizabeth Sherwood, Dual Interventionist @ OB, Allison Johnson, Speech Pathologist @ WV; and Jeannette Dykes David, Bus Driver @ DO effective 4/17/25.
 - b. <u>Resignation</u> approved the resignation of Anthony Spadaro, Paraprofessional @ OB effective 4/1/25.
 - c. <u>Dismissal</u> approved the dismissal of Patrick Hibler, Computer Technician @ DO effective 4/17/25.
 - d. <u>Change of Position (for informational purposes only)</u> Rachele Schayer, .5 Instructional Coach/.5 Interventionist @ OB will change to 1st Grade Teacher @ OB; Liliana Azabache, 4th Grade Dual Language Teacher will change to 5th Grade Dual Language Teacher @ WV; Melissa Villa, 5th Grade Dual Language Teacher will change to 3rd Grade Dual Language Teacher @ WV effective for the 2025-2026 school year.

Mr. Woods requested that the Bills for April, 2025 be removed from the Consent Agenda and be voted on separately.

It was moved by Mr. Cox and seconded by Mr. Woods that the Board approve the consent agenda (with the exception of the April, 2025 Bills) for the month of April, 2025.

Roll call vote: Yeas – Botello, Papadopoulos, Miljkovic, Woods, Cox, and Petrella. Nays – None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Mr. Woods and seconded by Mrs. Miljkovic that the Board approve the bills for April, 2025.

Roll call vote: Yeas – Petrella, Botello, Cox, Papadopoulos, and Miljkovic. Nays – Woods. Motion carried.

VI. SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

A. <u>Update on Education Foundation</u> – The Wood Dale Foundation for Educational Excellence met on Tuesday, April 8th and took action to dissolve the organization due to lack of participation at their board level, despite multiple efforts to recruit new board members. Dr. Corbett provided a report for the board.

VII. ACTION ITEMS

1. Approval of the Revised NDSEC 25-26 Classroom Space Lease Agreement - It was moved by Mr. Cox and seconded by Mrs. Miljkovic that the Board approve the updated classroom space lease agreement with NDSEC for 2025-26 to reflect the use of two Early Childhood classrooms.

Roll call vote: Yeas – Papadopoulos, Botello, Cox, Petrella, Woods, and Miljkovic. Nays – None. Motion carried.

- 2. Review & Approval of Reported Election Results April 1, 2025 The information from the DuPage County Election Commission website was reviewed and confirmed the following:
 - Ms. Jessica Snyder was elected to a two year term on the Wood Dale Board of Education.
 - Mr. David Woods was re-elected to a four year term on the Wood Dale Board of Education.
 - Mrs. Aida Miljkovic, Mrs. Araceli Botello, and Mrs. Christine Lucero-Bahr were elected to four year terms on the Wood Dale Board of Education.

It was moved by Mrs. Miljkovic and seconded by Mrs. Papadopoulos that the Board approve the election results from the DuPage County Election Commission.

Roll call vote: Yeas – Petrella, Papadopoulos, Miljkovic, Botello, Cox, and Woods. Nays – None. Motion carried.

IX. ADJOURNMENT SINE DIE

It was moved by Mr. Cox and seconded by Mrs. Miljkovic that the last meeting of the old Board be adjourned sine die. After a voice vote President Petrella declared the motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 7:21 p.m.

*There was a short break while Board members Mr. Petrella and Mr. Cox said their goodbyes and thank yous to the Board and exited the meeting.

NEW BOARD

I. ROLL CALL/QUORUM

As the only current board member present Mrs. Papadopoulos served as Board President Pro tem.

President Pro tem Papadopoulos administered the oath of office to newly elected Board members: Mrs. Miljkovic, Mr. Woods, Mrs. Botello, Ms. Snyder, and Ms. Lucero-Bahr.

President Pro tem Papadopoulos called the Board meeting to order at 7:37 p.m. and directed the recording secretary to call the roll. Upon roll call the following members answered present: Snyder, Lucero-Bahr, Botello, Miljkovic, Woods, and Papadopoulos.

Absent members: Fletcher-Gomez.

Also present were: Dr. John Corbett, Superintendent; Dr. Joe Bailey, Business Manager; Ms. Cristina Montano, Board Clerk; Dr. Joe Krause, Principal; Dr. Theresa Ulrich, Principal; Mr. Alan Buttimer, Principal; Mrs. Melissa Favata, Principal, Ms. Christine Lucero-Bahr, Ms. Jessica Snyder, Mr. Gus Gonzalez, Supervisor of Buildings & Grounds, Dr. Shannon Dudek, Mr. Christopher Blomquist, and community members.

II. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

President Pro tem Papadopoulos opened the floor for nominations for President.

Mrs. Botello nominated Mrs. Miljkovic for Board President. Woods also nominated Mrs. Papadopoulos for Board President. A roll call vote was taken by the board clerk to record each member's vote. Votes for Mrs. Miljkovic: Botello, Snyder, and Miljkovic; and votes for Mrs. Papadopoulos: Woods, Lucero-Bahr, and Papadopoulos.

Due to a split vote, the board decided to reconvene the reorganization meeting prior to the required reorganization deadline when all seven Board of Education members would be present. At that time the board will elect officers and address the remaining items on the agenda.

III. ADJOURNMENT

It was moved by Mrs. Miljkovic and seconded by Mrs. Botello to adjourn the meeting.

Roll call vote: Yeas – Woods, Botello, Snyder, Lucero-Bahr, Papadopoulos, and Miljkovic. Nays – None. Motion carried.

Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 7:43 p.m.

Aida Miljkovic, President

Elitsa Papadopoulos, Secretary