Minutes of the April 17, 2023 Regular Board Meeting The Board of Trustees Denver City Independent School District

A Regular Board Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Denver City Independent School District were held Monday, April 17, 2023, beginning at 6:15 PM in the Lecture Hall, Denver City High School, 601 Mustang Ave. Denver City, TX.

Members present: Brad Woosley, Jess Roberts, Danny Escalante, Bo Wells, Cecil Robles, Eloy Gutierrez, and Cody Ellison

School Personnel Present: Patrick Torres, Patricia Castillo, Rick Martinez, Taunya Campbell, LaChrisa Rains, Amanda James, Jennifer Jordan, Daniel Fontenot, Beau Rains, Leslie Escalante, Zach Duncan, Alyssa Armendarez, Tony Livingston, Brad Friesen, Yolanda Luster, Melisa Dorsett, and Jesse Flores

Visitors Present: Students receiving recognition and their guests

Board President Danny Escalante called the meeting to order at 6:15 PM and led those present in the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States Flag and Texas Flag and Brad Woosley led the invocation.

Board President Danny Escalante called for District Recognition. Tony Livingston recognized All Powerlifting Regional and State Qualifiers: Sucely Villa, Jordan Frankfather, Clarissa Orona, Stephanie Ruiz, Sydney Escalante, Mia Casarez, Derrick Valdespino, Ivan Trinidad, Kade Pope, Julian Madrid, Toby Espinoza and Junior Briones; Yolanda Luster recognized District 3-3A Runner-Up in Boy's Singles and Regional Tennis Qualifier: Isaac Gabaldon; Alyssa Armendarez recognized the CX Debate State Qualifiers: 1st place – Collin Mansur and Daniela Hernandez, 2nd place – Sam Levario and Nate Manzano; Melisa Dorsett recognized All Star Cast Best Performer by district and all Star Cast Area Qualifiers: Abby Avila, Kobe Black, Yanibel Carrasco, Emery Davis, Alina Diaz, Samantha Escalante, Karyna Espinoza, Moises Gonzales, Lizette Larrea, Gabe Levario, Clarissa Orona, Maria Prieto, Maelin Parker, Maddy Peters, Taylor Rains, Mireyah Rodriguez, Emily Sanchez, Jesselle Valles and Isaiah Ybarra; Brad Friesen recognized UIL Division 1A to 4A State in Robotics: Elizabeth James, Gabriella Hernandez, Gael Ortega, James Eudy, Juan Villa, Manuel Espinoza, Samuel Garcia, Servando Larrea, Wyatt Kirk Padgett, Xavier Hinojosa, Aaron Jimenez, Edwin Sanchez, Laisha Lozano, Xavior Ortega, Moises Gonzales, Nickolas Yañez, Samuel Levario, Matthew Gonzalez, and Sydney Escalante.

Public Discussion – 1 speaker in public form by Jennifer Jordan – Member/Parent regarding upcoming changes to Title 9.

Motion was made by Bo Wells and seconded by Cecil Robles to approve the minutes of the Regular Meeting of March 27, 2023. The motion carried unanimously

At 6:40 Bo Wells left the meeting.

The following information items were presented for perusal of the Board: Financial Report, Investments, Un-reconciled Cash Position Report, Recapture Report, Enrollment Report, Excalibur Report, Utilities Report and Staff Credit Report.

Board President Danny Escalante reported the annual announcement of board training credit. Motion was made by Brad Woosley and seconded by Bo Wells to accept the annual announcement of board training. The motion carried unanimously.

Superintendent Dr. Patrick Torres, presented the board to continue the partnership with the City of Denver City for Summer Recreation Program. Motion was made by Cody Ellison and seconded by Eloy Gutierrez to approve the use of the District facilities and Summer Feeding Program for Summer Recreation Program. The motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Torres made the recommendation to nominate Clinton Bowman and Kendra Duncan with the Denver City Press, and Bo Wells, who serves as the voice of Denver City Sports, KIKZ 1250AM for the Media Honor Roll. Motion was made by Jess Roberts and seconded by Brad Woosley to all be recognized on the official Media Honor Roll. The motion carried unanimously.

Chief Academic Officer, Taunya Campbell presented the Instructional Materials Allotment and TEKS certification for 2023-2024. Motion was made by Cecil Robles and seconded by Cody Ellison to approve the allotment and certification. The motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Torres presented the Texas Kids First Student Athletic and Activities Insurance Plan for the 2023-2024 school year. Motion was made by Jess Roberts and seconded by Cecil Robles to accept the Texas Kids First insurance plan. The motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Torres presented the 2023-2024 Compensation Package: Pay Schedules. Motion was made by Cecil Robles and seconded by Eloy Gutierrez to approve the Compensation Package and Pay Schedules for the upcoming 2023-2024 school year. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Brad Woosley and seconded by Jess Roberts to renew professional contracts as presented. Motion carried unanimously. Those contracts included: Michelle Aker, Haylee Alarcon, Russel Alexander, Jose Alvarado, Amariz Antillon, Alyssa Armendarez, Jennifer Armendarez, Bobby Barron, Brenda Bingham, Stephen Bridgfoth, Jaymie Brown, Lida Bustos, Colton Campbell, Lisa Clinton, Jennifer Coston, K'Lynn Cruz, Carla Cruz, Leah David, Megan David, Esmeralda Dela Rosa, David Delgado, Randi Demel, Phyllis Dial, Kim Dierschke, Lorena Dominguez, Douglas Duncan, Jacklyn Duncan, Kaitlyn Duncan, Leah Esquivel, John Faith, Carol Fifer, Jessica Flores, Jessie Flores, Daniel Fontenot, Rhonda Fontenot, Marisela Franco, Lori Friesen, Brad Friesen, Leslie Gabaldon, Rebecca Garate-Lewis, Celesta Garcia, Erika Garcia, Keigan Garcia, Cassandra Garrett, Janet Gibson, Darla Gleaves, Jennifer Gonzalez, Paige Gonzalez, B.J. Green, Saul Gutierrez, Macey Hall, Kimberly Hammed, Eric Harrel, Kerri Harvey, Alisha Hemmeline, Mark Herrera, Pamela Hightower, Mary Huse, Brad Irons, Mary Jimenez, Dusty Joiner, Jodie Keith, Stephanie Kennedy, Kaleb King, Ginger Langehennig, Monica Larrea, Brian Lewis, Patti Lindsey, Anthony Livingston, Misti Livingston, Lizeth Lopez, Mike Louis, Yazmin Lozano, Angelica Luna, Yolanda Luster, Darren Matsler, Reyna Matsler, Jonathan Matthews, Jennifer McCray, Bretta McLeroy, Cole McLeroy, John David Milligan, Billy Moore, Julie Munoz, Michael Munoz, Diana Olivas, Teri Ortega, Crystal Ozborn, Peri Padgett, Kala Parker, Kristin Peters, Bessie Pierson, Marcos Ramirez, Amy Regalado, Katelyn Reyna, Kristan Roberts, Sonya Roberts, Stacie Robles, Patricia Rodriguez, Sonya Sanchez, Colby Schneiderian, Stephanie Scott, Deborah Sellers, Cristi Stephens, Marianne Stephens, Jennifer Streun, Glenda Tercero, Debra Trinidad, Teresa Trinidad, Erick Venzor, Rebecca Villareal, Adrienne Williams, Tonnia Williams, Claudette Wingo, Krystal Woosley, and Sonya Young.

Motion was made by Jess Roberts and seconded by Cody Ellison to approve the hiring of Gracie Delgado – Dodson; the resignations of Denise Miller – JH, Jorge Aguilar – JH, Maria Villegas -

Dodson. The motion carried unanimously.

Superintendent Torres reported on the following:

- Regional Competitions in Abilene coming up
- STAAR testing is approaching
- Election update
- Auxiliary Staff in May Letters of Reasonable Assurance

May Board Meeting set for May 15, 2023

At 6:56 PM, motion was made by Brad Woosley and seconded by Danny Escalante to enter into closed session. The motion carried unanimously.

The board reconvened in open session at 8:07 PM.

There being no further business, motion was made by Brad Woosley and seconded by Jess Roberts to adjourn the meeting at 8:08 PM. The motion carried unanimously.

	Danny Escalante, President of the Board
Approved: 05/15/2023	
	Bo Wells, Secretary of the Board