

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: June 20, 2017

TITLE: Recognition of Special Olympians

BACKGROUND:

At the April 8, 2017 Special Olympics competition at Amphitheater High School, 14 district students participated in the track and field events. Our students placed first, second or third 18 times in 50 meter Slalom, 50 and 100 meter Run, Softball Throw, Shot Put and Long Jump. The students are listed below.

Seth Butler, Copper Creek Elementary School
Zayvon Bergman, Donaldson Elementary School
Colton Hoffman, Wilson K-8
Emily Arnoldi, Cross Middle School
Esteban Estrada, Amphitheater Middle School
Darnell Moore, Amphitheater High School
Samantha Sonoqui, Amphitheater High School
Daniel Urrea, Amphitheater High School
Taylor Hillegonds, Canyon del Oro High School
Mabel Looby, Canyon del Oro High School
Jacque O'Neill, Canyon del Oro High School
Sarah Perkovac, Canyon del Oro High School

Maarten Schmidt, Canyon del Oro High School Trent Wildman, Canyon del Oro High School

The students were coached by Jennie Aragon, Kiarah Morgan, Tadd Scheffel, Julie Daniel, Kim Dickinson and Pam Duarte.

RECOMMENDATION:

Styn M. Dol 192

The Administration recommends Governing Board recognition of these athletes and coaches as The Pride of Amphi.

INITIATED BY:

Stephen M. Duley, Ph.D., Executive Director of Student Services

Patrick Nelson, Superintendent

atricle nelson

Date: June 5, 2017