Minutes of Regular Meeting

The Board of Trustees Keller Independent School District

A Regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Keller Independent School District was held May 24, 2004, beginning at 6:30 PM in The Education Center, 350 Keller Parkway, Keller, Texas.

Members Present: Richard Walker, Debbie Welch, Bob Apetz, Jac Irvine, Dr. David Farmer,

Linn Jencopale

Members Absent: Linda Bowden

Acting Superintendent: Dr. Bill Newton

Attorney: Thomas E. Myers **6:30 PM CALL TO ORDER**

EXECUTIVE SESSION was called for the purposes permitted by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section 551.001 through 551.146.

7:30 PM RECONVENED INTO OPEN SESSION

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

AUDIENCE WITH INDIVIDUALS

No one addressed the Board at this time.

1. AWARDS

Awards were presented as per the attached agenda pages.

CANVASS ELECTION RESULTS

Mr. Walker, President of the Board of School Trustees of the Keller Independent School District, met with the Board of Trustees, acting as the canvassing board to canvass the Keller Independent School District Board of School Trustees election of Place 1, Place 2, and Place 3 held on May 15, 2004. Mr. Walker certified that the figures on the tally sheets corresponded with the figures on the returns, hereby certifying that the following is a total of all votes received by each candidate:

Place 1:

Linn Jencopale - 1225

Place 2:

Randy Pugh - 973

Ben K. Smith - 635

Place 3:

Cindy Lotton - 833

Joseph Sandoval - 116

Monique Haskins - 656

Thus declaring Linn Jencopale winner in Place 1, Randy Pugh winner in Place 2, and Cindy Lotton winner in Place 3.

OATH OF OFFICE/SEAT NEW MEMBERS

Attorney, Thomas E. Myers, administered the oath of office to Linn Jencopale, Randy Pugh, and Cindy Lotton.

8:15 PM **EXECUTIVE SESSION** was called for the purposes permitted by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section 551.001 through 551.146.

8:48 PM RECONVENED INTO OPEN SESSION

ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS

Dr. Newton began the election of officers by accepting nominations for President of the Board of School Trustees. Mr. Apetz moved, seconded by Mrs. Jencopale, to approve Mr. Walker as Board President. There were no further nominations. Motion carried 7/0. Mr. Walker accepted nominations for Secretary. Mrs. Jencopale moved, seconded by Mrs. Welch, to approve Mr. Apetz as Board Secretary. There were no further nominations. Motion carried 7/0. Nominations were accepted for Vice President. Mr. Apetz moved, seconded by Mr. Pugh, to approve Dr. Farmer as Board Vice President. There were no further nominations. Motion carried 6/0/1. Mrs. Welch abstained.

2. CONSENT AGENDA

- A. Approval of Minutes
- B. Approval of Personnel Acceptance of Resignations/Retirements/Leaves of Absence/Approval of Appointments/Reassignments
- C. Approval of Budget Amendments

Mrs. Lotton moved, seconded by Mr. Pugh, to approve the consent agenda as presented. Motion carried 7/0.

3. ACTION

- A. Approval of Bids
 - Mr. Apetz moved, seconded by Mrs. Jencopale, to approve the bids as presented. Motion carried 6/0/1. Dr. Farmer abstained.
- B. Approval of Delegate and Alternate for Assembly Mrs. Welch moved, seconded by Dr. Farmer to approve Linn Jencopale as the Delegate for the TASB 2004 Delegate Assembly with Bob Apetz as the Alternate Delegate. Motion carried 7/0.
- C. Approval of Out of State Trips
 Dr. Farmer moved, seconded by Mr. Apetz, to approve the student out of state trips as presented. Motion carried 7/0.
- D. Approval of District Code of Conduct for 2004-2005 Dr. Farmer moved, seconded by Mrs. Lotton, to approve the District Student Code of Conduct for 2004-2005 as presented. Motion carried 7/0.
- E. Approval of Agreement with College Board for the 2004 PSAT/NMSQT Early Participation Program
 Dr. Farmer moved, seconded by Mrs. Jencopale, to approve the Agreement with College Board for the 2004 PSAT/NMSQT Early Participation Program with the correction to the Agreement to reflect that the Total Fee for the Agreement is \$23,154.00. Motion carried 7/0.

F. Approval of Campus Handbooks

Dr. Farmer moved, seconded by Mr. Apetz, to approve the Campus Handbooks as presented. Motion carried 7/0.

AUDIENCE WITH INDIVIDUALS

Mr. Steven Poole addressed the Board regarding Chartwells Food Management Services.

- G. Approval of Amendment to the 2004-2005 Agreement for Food Management Services from Chartwells, Inc.
 Mr. Apetz moved, seconded by Mrs. Welch, to approve the amendment to the 2004-2005 Agreement for Food Management Services from Chartwells, Inc. as presented. Motion carried 4/3. Dr. Farmer, Mrs. Lotton, and Mr. Pugh opposed.
- H. Approval of Temporary Construction and Flood Plain Easements at Maintenance/Transportation Facility
 Dr. Farmer moved, seconded by Mr. Pugh, to approve the Temporary Construction Easement as presented, to approve the Letter Agreement between the District and the Developer and to approve the Flood Plain Easement subject to completion of the work to be done under the Temporary Construction Easement, approval of that work by the City of Fort Worth, and subject to approval by the Texas Education Agency. Motion carried 7/0.
- I. Consideration of Items Pulled from Consent Agenda (if applicable)

No items were pulled from the consent agenda.

4. REPORT: The following reports were presented:

- A. State of the District
- B. Information Regarding Possible Detachment and Annexation of Certain Properties Between Keller ISD and Northwest ISD
- C. Request to Seek Proposals for Construction Manager at Risk Delivery System on Capital Improvement Projects
- D. Staff Development
- E. Student Trips
- F. Proposed Amendment to 2004-2005 School Calendar
- G. Financial: Invoices and Investments
- H. Outstanding Achievements

5. DISCUSSION

Mr. Apetz announced that a special Board meeting will be held on Tuesday, May 25, with the Superintendent Search Firm. Dr. Farmer announced that a Facilities Committee meeting will be held on Thursday, June 10, at 6:30 PM.

Dr. Farmer moved, seconded by Mrs. Jencopale, for adjournment at 11:25 PM. Motion carried 7/0.		
	+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++	-+++++++
Robert Apetz, Secretary	7	Richard Walker, President

6. ADJOURNMENT