Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

1812 - Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting June 10, 2019

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, June 10, 2019 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present: Chris Teague, President

Lupe Mancha, Vice-President

Gerardo Carbajal Ronny Harris Stephanie Johnson Amanda Scarborough

Members absent: John Sawyer, Secretary

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Aleshia Fleming, Kobe Fleming, Danny Gilliam, Donald Gordon, Patrick Harvell, Jo Hayes, Wendy Jones, Bob McGregor, Becky Montgomery, Raymond Nors, Robin Ralston, Barbara Robinson, Brian Schneider, Dale Snyder, Michelle Steele, Stephanie Tucker and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:08 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by Rev. Danny Gilliam of First Baptist Church, Hillsboro. The pledge was led by Chris Teague.

Student recognition – baseball

President Teague certified the May 4, 2018 trustee election.

Stephanie Johnson signed her statement of officer form.

The Oath of Office was administered to Stephanie Johnson by Judge McGregor, Sr. District Judge, 66th District Court.

15539 – Motion by Stephanie Johnson, seconded by Lupe Mancha to leave the organization of the board as is: President – Chris Teague; Vice-President – Lupe Mancha; Secretary – John Sawyer.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Public Comments – none

Correspondence to the board – none

15540 – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

15541 – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by Lupe Mancha to approve TASB's Update 113 involving local policies:

BBE(LOCAL): BOARD MEMBERS – AUTHORITY

BDD(LOCAL): BOARD INTERNAL ORGANIZATION - ATTORNEY

BJCD(LOCLA): SUPERINTENDENT – EVALUATION

CI(LOCAL): SCHOOL PROPERTIES DISPOSAL

CO(LOCAL): FOOD AND NUTRITION MANAGEMENT

COA(LOCAL): FOOD AND NUTRITION MANAGEMENT - PROCURMENT

COB(LOCAL): FOOD AND NUTRITION MANAGEMENT – FREE AND REDUCED

PRICE MEALS

CRB(LOCAL): INSURANCE AND ANNUITIES MANAGEMENT – LIABILITY

INSURANCE

EHB(LOCAL): SPECIAL EDUCATION - VIDEO/AUDIO MONITORING

FNF(LOCAL): STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES – INVESTIGATIONS

AND SEARCHES

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Dale Snyder shared with the board the quotes that have been received for new furniture for the high school cafeteria. This will be purchased using money in the cafeteria funds.

15542 – Motion by Stephanie Johnson, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the Resolution by the School Board of the Hillsboro ISD Reviewing the Investment Policy and Investment Strategies.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet. In addition to board packet reports:

Sheila Bowman shared NWEA Map results in reading and math, grades k-8. Angela Boyd reported that STAAR results were in for $3^{rd}-8^{th}$ grade. Becky Montgomery shared the Bilingual/ESL annual review.

Superintendent's Report

- Facilities
 - o HHS Culinary Classroom remodel is going well
 - o HHS roofing over gyms will be replaced early July
 - o HVAC some units will be replaced this summer
- Budget Workshop Wednesday, June 19th @ 6:00 p.m.

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #17 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #18 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:47 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 7:43p.m.

15543 – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the superintendent's recommendations on hiring Brittni Cox, Emily Craig, Lauren Escalante, Monica Gaweldo, Kellie Hoehn, Wendy Jones, Karla McDonald, Abel Sanchez, Michele Staud, and Dominique Young.

Vote:	Aye unanimous	6/0		
The m	eeting was adjourned	at 7:43p.m.		
Preside	ent		Secretary	_