Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008

Schools receive top ratings from TEA

Three elementary schools in Denton ISD received the highest rating of Exemplary for the 2007-08 school year.

To gain "Exemplary" status, a school must have received a 90 percent passage rate in all accountability areas. Plus, the SDAA II, which is a state-developed assessment for special education students, must have a 90 percent passing rate.

The schools named "Exemplary" are:

Hawk Elementary School – Susannah O'Bara, principal, and Sandra Brown, assistant principal.

Savannah Elementary School – Rod Southard, principal in 2007-08 school year and Chris Rangel, assistant principal. Michael McWilliams is the current principal.

Wilson Elementary School – Audrey Staniszewski, principal, and Lorena Salas, assistant principal.

There were 11 elementary schools that were named "Recognized." To achieve "Recognized" standing, a school must receive 75 percent passing rates on all TAKS areas or 70 percent passing rate with required improvements, 70 percent SDAA II passage rate, and a .7 percent or less dropout rate in seventh and eighth grades.

The 11 "Recognized" schools include:

E.P. Rayzor Elementary School – Happy Carrico, principal, and Eric Harting, assistant principal in 2007-08 school year. Happy Carrico is the current principal and Cecilia Holt is the assistant principal.

Ginnings Elementary School – Debi Lokey, principal in 2007-08 school year and Michael Brinkley, assistant principal in 2007-08. Missy Chavez is the current principal, and Darby Ahlfinger is the assistant principal.

Houston Elementary School – Teresa Andress, current principal, and Les Mandeville, assistant principal in 2007-08. Gennifer Smith is the current assistant principal.

Lee Elementary School – Laura Rodriguez, principal, and Cecilia Holt, assistant principal in 2007-08. Talle Gomez is the current assistant principal.

McNair Elementary School – Sean Flynn, principal, and Rachel Brown, assistant principal.

Nelson Elementary School – Kaylene Tierce, principal, and Todd Herauf, assistant principal.

Newton Rayzor Elementary School – Carmen Lipscomb, principal in 2007-08 and Laura Ortez, assistant principal. Carlos Ramirez is the current principal.

Paloma Creek Elementary School – Romeo Munguia, principal, and Christopher Smith, assistant principal.

Pecan Creek Elementary School – Aleta Atkinson, principal, and Emily McLarty, assistant principal.

Providence Elementary School – Susan Bolte, principal, and Trey Spalding, assistant principal in 2007-08. Tricia Bolz is the current assistant principal.

Ryan Elementary School – Dalton Gregory, principal in 2007-08 and Zan Austin, assistant principal. Gary Miller is the current principal.