## **DRAFT**

## Minutes of the April 8, 2019 - Special School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a special session on April 8, 2019, at 6:01 p.m. at the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. President Tracy Fisher called the meeting to order.

Members present: Tracy Fisher, President; David Caviness, Vice-President (arrived 6:09 p.m.); Leigh Walker, Secretary; Manish Sethi; Anthony Hill; Thom Hulme and Nichole Bentley

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on April 5, 2019 at 11:15 a.m.

At 6:01 p.m., President Fisher declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Texas Government Code, Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

President Fisher declared the Board in Open Session at 6:35 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Administrative Assistant; Kristen Streeter, Dr. Angie Applegate; Sid Grant; Diana Sircar; Stephen McGilvray; Tammy Taylor; Nancy Garvey; Todd Sissom; Debbie Youngs and Dr. Greg Axelson

A motion was made by Anthony Hill to approve new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0. (Since he was not present for the discussion of personnel during Closed Session, David Caviness did not vote.)

A review of the Strategic Design process was provided by Tammy Taylor, Director of Community Engagement, and Blake Godkin of Tekzenit. The next step is advocacy of the Core Values using various tools.

Information on the long range technology plan and a proposal for technology resources (including estimated costs and the impact to learners, educators and the District) was presented by Dr. Angie Applegate (Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction), Stephen McGilvray (Executive Director of Technology), Nancy Garvey (Director of Digital Learning) and Todd Sissom (Director of Technical Services).

Dr. Angie Applegate (Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction), Deana Dynis (Executive Director of Teaching and Learning) and Debbie Youngs (Director of Research, Accountability and Assessment) discussed the proposed structure of the GPA class ranking system and Dual Language Immersion credit ranking considerations. They also gave information regarding a community-based accountability system.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Leigh Walker a The motion carried 7-0.	nd seconded by David Caviness.
The meeting was adjourned at 10:27 p.m.	
Tracy Fisher, Board Press	dent
Leigh Walker, Secretary	