MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING APRIL 12, 2010

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, April 12, 2010, at 7:00 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Don Poindexter.

Board members present were: Ray Templeton, Becky Rentz, Jeff Rogers, Don Poindexter, Terry Merck, Darrell Moore and Steve Keenum.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Brad McVay, Paul Jensen, Mike Kerley, Mitch Davis, Nadine Davis, Debbie Lambert, Cynde Wadley, Terry Hagler, Craig Bessent, Nick Pruitt, Shauni Vaughn, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present: Please see sign-in sheet.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The board recognized the 2010 State Champion Team Tennis team and Coaches Kathryn Gilreath and Rose Bristow.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the March 8, 2010 meeting were read. They were approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Jeff Rogers.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

APPROVE STUDENT TRANSFERS FOR 2010-2011

Steve Keenum made a motion to approve the 2010-11 student transfer list as presented. Terry Merck seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SUMMER READING/ MATH PROGRAM

A motion was made by Terry Merck to approve a summer reading/math program for grades PK -5. The motion was seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES PAGE TWO **APRIL 12, 2010**

CONSIDER CANCELLATION OF 2010 SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION

A motion was made by Don Poindexter to declare Ray Templeton, Terry Merck, and Darrell Moore elected and cancel the May 8, 2010 school board election. Becky Rentz seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL ABILENE REGIONAL

Becky Rentz made a motion to approve the shared services agreement with Abilene DAY SCHOOL PROGRAM Regional Day School Program for the Deaf FOR THE DEAF SHARED shared services agreement. Jeff Rogers SERVICES AGREEMENT seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF RESOLUTION FOR STATE OF TEXAS CO-OP PROGRAM

A motion was made by Jeff Rogers to approve the resolution for the State of Texas Co-op Program. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but no action taken by the Board included: principal's reports on campus activities, TASB/Region 14 ESC spring workshop, Spotlight on Teachers Recognition, 2010 season football tickets, Student Advisory Council report, and Wylie Bulldogs Education Foundation.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 8:07 P.M. to 9:16 P.M. to discuss teacher evaluations & contracts and employment of personnel for 2010-11 school year.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A motion was made by Don Poindexter to renew teacher contracts of Wylie Early Childhood Center, Wylie Elementary, Wylie Intermediate, Wylie Junior High, and Wylie High School on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2010-2011 school year; subject to assignment. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES PAGE THREE APRIL 12, 2010

Don Poindexter made a motion to renew counselor contracts of Robin McPherson, Lorilei Butler, Luann Whitaker, Lisa Salmon, and Amy McGee on a one-year contract for 10½ months for the 2010-2011 school year; subject to assignment. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

Don Poindexter made a motion to renew counselor contracts of Reinette Hensley, Darla Swanner, and Brenda Sandifer on a one-year contract for 11 months for the 2010-2011 school year; subject to assignment. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

A motion was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Darrell Moore to employ Katy Hibbs, Tina McVay, and Kay Whitfield on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2010-2011 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

A motion was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Darrell Moore to employ Mary Edmondson, Leslie Toombs and Leah Willman on a one-year contract for $10\frac{1}{2}$ months for the 2010-2011 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Don Poindexter and seconded by Steve Keenum to adjourn. Official time was 9:18 P.M.

The motion carried: 6 for, 0 against.

Date	
	President
	 Secretary