## **Minutes of Regular Meeting**

## The Board of Trustees Dalhart ISD

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Dalhart ISD was held Tuesday, May 19, 2011, beginning at 7:00 PM in the Dalhart ISD Central Office 701 East 10th Street.

Present: Jeff Lloyd – President, Rick Dunham – Vice-President, Gary Schniederjan – Secretary, Doug Claborn – Board Member, Misty Mellema – Board Member, Russell Routon – Board Member, Randy Sherrill – Board Member, Janet Banks – Board Member (sworn in at 7:18 p.m.), Peter Baumert (sworn in at 7:18 p.m.), David Foote – Superintendent, Mark McCormick – Intermediate School Principal, Carolyn Field – XIT Principal, John Machel – J H Principal, Denice Hutchinson – Asst. H S Principal, David Steele, H S Principal, Karen Taft – Elem. Principal, Scott Hand – Dir. of Technology, Diane Cody – Dir. of Special Education, Jim Paslay – Asst. Band Dir., Carroline Methvin – Dir. of Curr./Inst., and Delbert Dodds – Business Manager

Absent: None

Visitors: Zelda Beth Lang – KXIT Radio, Denise Baumert, Mrs. Rebecca Quint, Leah Dixon, Jennifer Quint, Jennifer Bundy, Haleigh Coston, and Lea Baumert.

- 12286. Call to Order President Lloyd called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and stated that a quorum was present: the meeting had been duly called: and the notice had been posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act Texas Government Code Chapter 551.
- 12287. Prayer Mr. Foote offered the prayer.
- 12288. Student/Teacher Presentations Mr. Paslay introduced five high school students who played the clarinet and flute for the board and audience, and also told the board that these are five of the twenty-one headed to Austin for the state contest.
- 12289. Canvass and certify the results of the May 14, 2011 school trustee election

  It was moved by Russell Routon and seconded by Misty Mellema to approve the canvassing and certify the results of the May 14, 2011 school trustee election results: Tim Jones 129, Mike Thelander 72, Russell Routon 137, Randy Sherrill 278, Reynaldo Encinias 61, John Cover, Jr. 157, Mark McKay 57, Peter Baumert 204, Janet Banks 237, Boyd Barrow 116, and Seth Simmons 21. The trustees elected are Janet Banks, Peter Baumert and Randy Sherrill.
  Yeas: Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Mellema, Routon, Schniederjan and

Sherrill Nays: None

- 12290. Administer the Oath of Office to trustees Mr. Dodds swore in the new trustees at 7:18 p.m., they are Janet Banks, Peter Baumert, and Randy Sherrill.
- 12291. Reorganize the Board of Trustees: Elect President, Elect Vice-President, and Elect Secretary It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Doug Claborn to keep the current slate of officers: Jeff Lloyd President, Rick Dunham Vice-President, and Secretary Gary Schniederjan. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12292. Audience with:

Patrons - None

Students - None

Staff – Mr. Hand gave a brief update of what is going on in technology currently and what is scheduled for the summer.

Mr. Foote gave the board an update on the current legislative session and what is going on with school finance at the state level and how it might impact the district depending on what the state does in regards to public education.

12293. Update on new construction with QSCB 2010 - Mr. Foote gave a brief update on the QSCB 2010 and where we were at this time and the progress of the Athletic Complex.

Mr. Lloyd gave an update to the board on the status of the memorial part of the stadium that were planned and the changes that we have made at this time.

- 12294. Update on Roof Removal and Replacement for DISD Mr. Foote stated everything was going very well and everything was looking good and making steady progress on the roofs.
- 12295. Consider Standard Audit Engagement letter for Dalhart ISD for the annual audit for year ended August 31, 2011, with Keeney, Hembree and Company, L.L.P. – It was moved by Randy Sherrill and seconded by Rick Dunham to approve the Audit Engagement letter for Dalhart ISD for the annual audit for year ended August 31, 2011, Keeney, Hembree and Company, L.L.P. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None
- 12296. Update on Superintendent Goals Mr. Foote will get back with the board with some possible dates to meet to do school board training and set Superintendent Goals.
- 12297. Information/discussion items Mr. Lloyd went over the end of school cook

out slated for May 26, 2011 at 6:00 p.m. in the DHS commons and the Graduation on May 27, 2011 at 8:00 p.m. at Memorial Stadium.

12298. Consider Consent Agenda:

Minutes of Previous Meetings

**Financial Reports** 

Budget Amendments

Disbursements

It was moved by Gary Schniderjan and seconded by Doug Claborn to approve the consent agenda: minutes of special board meeting held on April 12, 2011, minutes of regular board meeting held on April 19, 2011, financial reports, budget amendments, and disbursements for April 2011. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan, and Sherrill Nays: None Abstained: Randy Sherrill from Bartlett Lumber Co. bills Doug Claborn from Claborn Heating and Air bills

- 12299. First Reading of TASB Policy Update 90
- 12300. Consider and discuss TASB Policy Update EHBB (Local) Special Programs

   It was moved by Peter Baumert and seconded by Randy Sherrill to adopt TASB Policy Update EHBB (Local) Special Programs.
   Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

12301. Personnel:

Resignations: These employees have resigned from the district at this time: Julie Plank, Sarah Witten, Triston Thorn, Jared Brock, Sherry Hanshew, David Dobson, Aaron Witten and Susanna Wheeler. The following employees are retiring Cindy Tharp and Susan Hopkins.

Employment: Justin Garza – High School – Teacher/Coach

Reassignment: Teresa Quillin – from Jr. High to XIT Campus

Extended Leave: It was moved by Janet Banks and seconded by Randy Sherrill to approve 19 days extended leave to Julia Ewing. Yeas: Banks, Baumert, Claborn, Dunham, Lloyd, Schniederjan and Sherrill Nays: None

12302. President Lloyd adjourned the meeting at 8:57 p.m.