Minutes of Regular Meeting December 12, 2023 The Board of Education Unity School District

A Regular Meeting of the Board of Education of Unity School District was held Tuesday, December 12, 2023 beginning at 6:00 PM in the Unity School District Board Room.

1. **6:00 PM** Call to Order/Notice of Meeting/Roll Call

Members Present: Debbie Ince-Peterson, Ryan Peterson, Pat Kastens, Victoria Studtmann, Andrea Jerrick, Mike Haroldson

Admin. Team Present: Supt. Zachary Fugate

Members Absent: Jeromy Cox

2. Approval of the Agenda

Motion by Ryan Peterson to approve the agenda.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

- 3. Residents' Requests to Speak/Address the Board (Max. of 3 min. Items must be germane to the agenda. Any written comment must be submitted by email to zfugate@unity.k12.wi.us by NOON on Tuesday, December 12, 2023. Such comments will be provided to the Board of Education for consideration and review.) (Board Policy 187 Public Participation at Board Meetings)
- 4. Board of Education Member Update

No comments were received.

- 5. WASDA Bert Grover Child Advocacy Awards Recipients
 - Mike and Pam Garvey
 - Dan Ruck
 - Alcivia Milltown Agronomy and Feed

6. Information

- a. Submitted Reports
 - 1) Administrative Reports
 - a. Elementary Principal Report Dr. William DeWitt
 - b. Middle School Principal Report Mr. Shaun Fisher
 - c. High School Principal Report Mr. Nicolas Been
 - 1. Career and Technical Education Presentation
 - d. Special Education Director Report Ms. Elizabeth Jorgensen
 - e. Financial Report Ms. Kara Holden
- b. District Administrator's Report Mr. Zachary Fugate

7. Consent Agenda

- a. Approval of Board of Education Minutes, November 13, 2023 Policy and Programming Committee Meeting
- b. Approval of Board of Education Meeting Minutes, November 14, 2023 Regular Board Meeting

Motion to approve items 7.a – 7.b by Ryan Peterson.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

c. Approval of Elementary/Middle School/High School Activity Accounts

Motion to approve the November 2023 Activity Accounts by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Ryan Peterson.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

d. Approval of Vouchers

Motion to approve the November 2023 Vouchers by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote. (Ryan Peterson Abstained.)

e. Acceptance of Bank Balances

Motion to accept the November 2023 Bank Balances by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

8. Action Agenda

a. Consideration and Approval of the 2024 Prom Venue - Mr. Nicolas Been

Motion to approve the 2024 Prom Venue as Celebrations at the Gables in Turtle Lake, WI by Ryan Peterson. Second by Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote.

b. Resolution for the School District Authorizing a Taxable Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note (Authorization for Line of Credit Renewal)

Motion by Ryan Peterson to approve the Resolution for the School District Authorizing a Taxable Tax and Revenue Anticipation Note (Authorization for Line of Credit Renewal).

Second by Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carries by Roll Call: Debbie Ince-Peterson(yes), Ryan Peterson(yes), Pat Kasten(yes), Victoria Studtmann(yes), Andrea Jerrick(yes), Mike Haroldson(yes)

c. Resolution Authorizing the Appointment of Successor Trustee and Custodian for the Wisconsin OPEB Trust
Motion by Ryan Peterson to approve the Resolution Authorizing the Appointment of Successor Trustee and
Custodian for the Wisconsin OPEB Trust.

Second by Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carries by Roll Call: Debbie Ince-Peterson(yes), Ryan Peterson(yes), Pat Kasten(yes), Victoria Studtmann(yes), Andrea Jerrick(yes), Mike Haroldson(yes)

d. Resolution Authorizing the Consent to Assignment of Investment Advisory Agreement

Motion by Ryan Peterson to approve the Resolution Authorizing the Consent to Assignment of Investment Advisory Agreement.

Second by Andrea Jerrick.

Motion carries by Roll Call: Debbie Ince-Peterson(yes), Ryan Peterson(yes), Pat Kasten(yes), Victoria Studtmann(yes), Andrea Jerrick(yes), Mike Haroldson(yes)

9. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn by Victoria Studtmann.

Second by Pat Kastens.

Motion carries by unanimous voice vote by 7:29 p.m.