## Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, April 14, 2009

(Official Presentation made at Board Reception - 6 p.m. at the Professional Development Center)

## **<u>DENTON ISD</u>** Teachers of the Year being honored by board

Members of the Teachers Communications Committee of the Denton Independent School District have named 31 outstanding educators as Jostens Teachers of the Year.

At a special presentation prior to the board meeting, the district's top two educators, Elementary Teacher of the Year and Secondary Teacher of the Year, will be named. These two will represent DISD at the Regional XI level, which includes more than 60 school districts.

Jostens was added to the name of the award, Jostens' Teachers of the Year, because company officials wanted to honor all the schools' Teachers of the Year by donating a gold ring to each honoree, a project valued at more than \$20,000.

In 2004, the company designed the special Teacher of the Year ring for Denton ISD's top educators. The project is now a tradition for the company and district staff, school administrators said.

Another company, San Bay Studios, has created a special T-shirt to give to all the Teachers of the Year.

## The elementary teachers of the year include:

**Blanton:** Jaime Parker, librarian: **Borman**: Socorro Zamudio, kindergarten teacher; Evers: Dee Ann Annett, Reading Recovery teacher; **Ginnings:** Cynthia Ferris, first-grade teacher; Hawk: Katie Vaughan, kindergarten teacher; Hodge: Mardee Rayner, fourth-grade teacher; Houston: Fauncine Stubblefield, second-grade teacher; Lee: Alice Vazquez, second-grade teacher; McNair: Julia Hamm, fifth-grade teacher; Nelson: Zetta Smith, kindergarten teacher; Paloma Creek: Marcia Chamblee, Reading Recovery teacher; Pecan Creek: Billie Lowrie, ESL teacher; **Providence:** Terry Rahn, special education teacher; **E.P. Rayzor**: Ivey Carey, librarian; **N. Rayzor:** Linda Marquez-Gavilanes, pre-kindergarten teacher; **Rivera:** Mauricio Corredor, pre-kindergarten teacher; W.S. Ryan: Noemi Geihsler-Vinola, second-grade teacher; Savannah: Yvonne Gentry, second-grade teacher; Stephens: Laurie Forsyth, fifth-grade teacher; Wilson: MattPreston, fourth-grade teacher;

**Ann Windle School for Young Children:** Sylvia Munge, Preschool Program for Children with Disabilities teacher.

## The secondary teachers of the year include:

Calhoun: Connie Shaw, seventh-grade teacher; Crownover: Christina Baker, EXPO teacher; Harpool: Monica Colson, eighth-grade teacher; McMath: Ruth Westbrook, seventh-grade teacher; Navo: Chris Schick, eighth-grade history teacher; Strickland: Tiffany Fitzsimmons, art teacher; Denton High: Cristina Galindo, ESL teacher; Guyer High: Paula Robinson, chemistry teacher; Ryan High: Julie Tolle, English teacher; Davis: Patricia Gerdes, Science teacher.